We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great peaceful villas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parigata Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parigata Villas Resort
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great peaceful villas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Very nice resort with 8 private villas each with their own swimming pool centrally located yet peaceful and quiet, within walking distance to beach, they also have their own restaurant on the beach with sunbeds and towel service. When we visited we paid 120usd per night with breakfast, it was well worth it for the comfort and service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ball-1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    79
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
145
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

My Husband & I stayed here for 5 nights from the 14th - 19th March 2011. (So at least you have a more up to date review than 2010.. ) :)

The Villa Suites are really nice and the one that is on the profile photo here is exactly the same as the one we stayed in. (same views, bedding etc. )

We loved having the privacy of staying in a Villa Suite and having our own plunge pool was a real bonus.

The staff on site are very friendly too. They will help you with anything you need and will also arrange for the hotel car to take you to their sister hotel for spa treatments which is convenient. We opted for a full body massage treatment and this was very good.

There are other 'spas' near the hotel itself, we went to the one near to where you go to the beach, on the right hand side and it was very good, the price was cheaper again! So make sure you go for a spa treatment whilst in Bali.

There are 6 sunloungers down by the pool, which is a lovely area surrounded by the garden, but you need to get your sunlounger early as there's such a limited supply. We found this a lovely place to relax and read.

I would just point out a couple of things which were on the negative side and useful to know:

1. The Location of Parigata Villa Resort:
We were alittle surprised to realise that it was off a busy enough roadway, I guess we imagined it would be almost beside the beach so somewhat quieter.

2. Our Villa Suite Location within the complex:
We were located in the Villa Suite called 'Sugi' which is the 1st Villa beside the Reception area and obviously the roadway. We could hear the traffic particularly when it was heavy and also as the staff arrived to change shifts we could hear them chatting and laughing, which sometimes included in the early hours of the morning. Obviously if we had a rest in the day time (which we liked to do) we could hear any activity in the reception area plus the traffic. We decided to use ear plugs that we got on the flight over so this helped to reduce the noise level.

3.Breakfast:
We found the breakfast to be very bland and didn’t think the quality was great. In particular the fruit didn’t taste fresh, in fact it was quite bland in taste, which is not what one would expect to find in fresh fruit. The coffee was the worst, tasted cheap and nasty, as both my Husband and myself enjoy a good cup of coffee in the morning this was disappointing. We went out a few days to local restaurants to avoid eating there. Perhaps we're too fussy.. so it's an individual thing to be judged individually.. but it wasn't to our taste.

4. The Beach.
The Beach is about 5 minutes walk away and be prepared it's nothing special and the water is not deep at all, you'd have to walk out some distance to get deeper but then again that might not be safe.

5.The Hotel’s Sun Loungers (sunbeds) allocation on the beach is dismal:
The Parigata Villas have a small allocation of sun loungers/sunbeds on the beach and it is on the section where the boats are docked too, which must mean that the water isn't as clean on this section. So naturally it isn’t the better part of the beach. In addition to that all the sunbeds are very close together so there's not much privacy and it's awful if somebody is smoking beside you. The Hyatt Hotel has a much better allocation on the beach and the sun loungers are well spread out on the more idyllic part of the beach. However you are not allowed to sit on these sunbeds obviously if you’re not staying in the Hyatt and the security guards walk up and down to spot anybody who doesn't have a 'Hyatt Pool Towel' . We found this out on the 1st day, we had no idea there was a distinction so we were asked to remove ourselves from the sunloungers. You'd think you'd just tried to deal drugs on the beach, it's a bit 'over the top'. We also saw them 'evict' a family of 4, they tell you that you're welcome to 'sit on the beach' - oh how nice of you, the hot sand with all these little white crabs coming in and out of holes on the beach!! Needless to say this was disappointing. So unless you're willing to get up early and get a sunlounger on the part that the Parigata owns and it's not even that great. (Of course one could travel to other beaches but perhaps its the same scenario there..)

6. Transport to Airport:
Please note that the 'hotel's car' is more expensive to take to the airport, compared to hiring a taxi from a local company in advance, which the girl in reception will organise. Although they'll say it has to be by the 'meter' but we agreed in advance the same price as coming out, so it's up to you what you feel is better.

I just wanted to share some viewpoints with you all. We still enjoyed staying in the Parigata Villas because of the facilties and privacy offered compared to other resorts and would still recommend them. We feel it's just good to have a 'full picture' of what to expect, instead of half a picture. Then it is s an informed decision.
End of Parigata Villa review.

A couple of tips on Bali in general:
As you arrive in the airport, be prepared to pay 25USD per person for a 'VISA', you have to queue up twice, once to pay for the VISA and the 2nd time to receive the VISA. Also when leaving the country, again you'll have to pay 150,000 rp each.

As soon as you leave the 'visa' area, beware of men in uniform standing around the suitcases. We thought that these were staff employed to help and 3 guys eagerly grabbed our suitcases and even the 'customs officer' saw this. We were very innocent, as soon as we turned the corner one of them said 'give me a tip'.. so we weren't impressed. So don't let anybody touch your suitcases, it's not necessary (note they have a badge on the shirt saying 'porter).

Then when we went outside all these taxi drivers kept shouting at us trying to get our business and trying to rip you off, we walked up to the right hand side and there's a 'legitimate taxi company' there and they have the prices of the jobs printed on the wall in the office, for eg. the trip to Sanur was 95,000 rp.

Everybody is trying to make a quick book off the tourists. Be ready for a bombardment of people constantly asking you to 'come into their shop/restaurant, or to go 'snorkelling/jet skiing' or offering a 'massage' etc.. its constant but you get used to it and we just kept saying 'no thank you'.

In addition to this, we were suprised by the stark contrast of 'rich and poor', its not really what I expected, I thought it would be more 'tropical or lush looking' but the streets etc. aren't like this. It was good to experience it for sure and I know people said that the likes of Ubud are far less touristy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Blaithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed in de Kana villa. This is one of the two biggest villas the have. The staff was very friendly and we had a super holiday here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megaladon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed there from Mar 1 - 5.
Villa is clean and quiet. Private pool is fantastic. Nobody used the public pool when we were there. Breakfast was served quick. Shuttle to the sister hotel is very convenient. Staff were helpful.
But since it is on ground floor, mosquito (not many) is inevitable!
Will go again 2 years later!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloriama1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

We had a lovely stay at the Parigata Villas Resort for our honeymoon, the pool and surrounding gardens are beautiful and relatively empty when we stayed, its a very quiet and peaceful resort. Everything is kept clean to a high standard and the service we received was great, some problems with the language barrier did occur but we only found it funny.

Our room was large and very comfortable, every morning the room and private pool/ Jacuzzi was cleaned.

The resort is five minutes from everything you need, the beach is to your right and a 3-5 minute walk, we only went to two beaches in Bali and I wasn’t too impressed with them, we like staying around the pool so it wasn’t an issue for us but I know there are lots of beautiful beaches around Bali.

It might be sad but the best thing for us was the food! All the restaurants we ate had fantastic food, we couldn’t complain, there are loads of restaurants so do explore. The best for us was at Casa Lunar at the end of the road from the resort but we also had the best seafood at a restaurant called Damos in jimbaran.

We went on two tours (Bali tours & travel) and I do recommend seeing all of Bali, it’s a beautiful island. However reality bites when you have crowds gathering asking you to buy stuff, you have to be firm but it does get frustrating if they don’t leave you alone.

Overall a fantastic holiday and one I will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gloriama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east lothian
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

Just back from 14nights at parigata villas,if going back to bali would definately stay here again,it is central villas excellent and all staff,polite,we had read reviews about breakfast before we went,there is something there for everyone.we hired a car and driver 25pound a day his name is swada,and he is in the same street as villas,opposite supermarket,he was excellent,he can take you to places you cant go on tours eg peak of mountains,buses cant get up there, ,worth every penny,the scenery was amazing.you have everything there 1minute from villas bars shops restaurants,try it its amazing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed for a week during our honeymoon in a parigata villa with jacuzzi.
* Very private accomadations. Jacuzzi was great to have! The pool of this resort was rather big (in comparison with the pool at the other Parigata resort) and during our period of stay (end Sept-Oct '08) almost always empty.
* Breakfast is ok, but not much choice/variation. When having breakfast at 8am30, you might not find a free table. (18 villas but only 9 tables or so, although you could have your breakfast at the other resort also ofc)
* Our first dinner in the restaurant was a bit dissapointing, but all the other meals (roomservice+candle light dinner with sea food) and lunch (@ the Beach club) were very appetising.
* Location: 5 minutes walk from beach club. When you go outside the resort, at your left, 3 minutes walk, there is a little supermarket @ a corner where you can buy drinks, food and some souvenirs. Also enough restaurants & little shops in the neighbourhood. A big 3-level store (Hardy's) is a 15-20 min. walk from the resort (or 5min by taxi which has costed us 5.000 Rps :-) ). We have been to an Italian restaurant (Massimo): food was pleasant, although service lacking through (over?)crowded restaurant. [People are waiting outside for a table]. We ordered wine and got this after sitting with our meal for more than 5 minutes...Also, not very quiet and a lot of children. So for the food you could go there, but not for the cosy or romantic atmosphere.
*Beach @ Sanur was a bit dissapointing. A lot of boats and seaweed. To the right of the resort: a lot of local people and very crowded. To the left of the resort, beaches from hotels.
*Having walked passed the other resorts and hotel, we would recommend this resort for the intimacy and privacy, esp. for people who don't like the crowds in big hotels and prefer peace and quiet. We also preferred the vila resort over the other Parigata resort for same reasons as stated above.

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nyah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#15 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palm Garden
Hotel Palm Garden
#46 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parigata Resort & Spa
Parigata Resort & Spa
#17 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Segara Agung Hotel
Segara Agung Hotel
#40 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parigata Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parigata Villas Resort

Property: Parigata Villas Resort
Address: Jl. Duyung no. 99 - Semawang, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#20 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parigata Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical garden hideaway secluded tranquil villa, Parigata Villas Resort are also located in the heart of Sanur, Semawang famous village and is only less than 5 minutes walking distance to the beach, shop, market and restaurant, fifteen minutes drive from downtown Denpasar and a 10-minutes walk from sanur's downtown area. Ngurah Rai Bali International Airport is a 25 minutes drive away. Parigata Villas Resort offers a peaceful retreat in sanur, the resort has an outdoor pool, restaurant, free internet and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Parigata Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parigata Villas Hotel Sanur
Parigata Hotel Sanur
Parigata Resort Sanur
Parigata Villas Resort Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing