We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for a smaller 'traditional' resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sri Phala Resort & Villa
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I chose Sri Phala for two main reasons: excellent value for money and my preference for a smaller resort with a distinctive Balinese character. It delivered on both fronts. The location and service however, were somewhat indifferent. If you like the beach and want to be close to the centre of Sanur - then this is NOT the place for you. However if you have your own vehicle or are happy to pay for taxis or a driver everyday, then Sri Phala will work out fine, as it is located at the very north of Sanur on a busy 3-lane "bypass", away from the beach.

The staff were very prompt and courteous in responding via email to answer my many questions. So I was surprised upon arrival to be the one to initiate a greeting, even though there were 2 male staff on hand, who barely looked up from behind the counter. However, we were 1.5hrs early checking in, so I put it down to the fact they were busy. My first impression however, turns out to be the general assessment of the Reception staff. The Restaurant staff appeared to be more friendly, commendations to Nyoman, with whom we had interesting chats, and provided a friendly face during our breakfasts. The breakfasts provided are quite decent, just not exceptional. There are 5 menus from which to choose: Continental, American, Indonesian, Japanese and Cereal/Pancake. (From all menus, the Bubur Ayam from the Indonesian was my favourite.)

We stayed in a downstairs Bungalow room for 5 nights. The first room we were shown to had a very musty smell and two beds pushed together to form a double bed - not what we asked for. The second room was fine (proper queen bed) and was somewhat less musty-smelling. The smell faded towards the end of our stay - not sure if it's because we had the A/C switched on all day, or we just got used to it. The Bungalow rooms are in an older-style building, with rattan-straw ceilings. This may have been the source of the damp smell. Or perhaps it was the A/C units which work fine, but are a tad noisy and may need to be updated.

The room had a standard bathroom with a narrow bathtub - watch out for the high step! Dimly lit, like most public Indonesian bathrooms (I don't know why!). If you hate cockroaches, cover up the round grate in the bathroom floor and you'll be fine. Try not to flood the bathroom floor though...

Basic bar fridge, but we got 2 x free bottles of water daily. There is also free wi-fi in the restaurant. Internet is available from their business centre, but we found it cheaper to use the many Internet places along the main drag. (Try Ronald's on Jln Danau Tamblingan). The same went for the Spa & Massage services, it was cheaper to use the businesses in the surrounding area than the in-house services.

The pool is a good size, and beautifully surrounded by lush tropical shrubs and stone settings. It can prove popular though, so we mainly used the pool at night to soak in after a long day. Cocktails can be served right by the pool as well.

The best thing about Sri Phala is its generous sized rooms, set in Balinese-style buildings scattered amongst beautiful lush greenery; creating a harmonious, relaxed atmosphere which I came to associate with the peaceful side of Bali. It is a beautiful resort, probably a bit past its prime, but still well-known by locals and bemo drivers.

On an interesting note, I received a scam phone call from someone from another resort, who claimed to be working with "the government" and Tourist Arrivals. They wanted to provide me with "free accommodation" for a resort in Nusa Dua, and were happy to send a car to pick us up so we could check out the resort for ourselves. It sounded harmless enough, but I sensed a catch and never took them up on the offer. When I spoke to the Sri Phala hotel staff of this, they recommended that I ignored it as well. What was surprising was the length that this other resort went to in order to contact me. They knew my full name, where I was staying AND room number, which was kind of scary, but nothing further came of the call.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J7J8J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 417 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

The hotel is adjacent to a main highway and junction featuring a KFC and Dunking Doughnuts.
I unfortunately got one of the rooms above the Reception (rooms beginning with '2' - a 'Superior' Room), the villa rooms appear to be nicer and quieter. The road noise is invasive in the room, this accompanied by the music from a local disco between 0030 and 0330 did not make for restful nights. These rooms overlook the roof tops of local homes and businesses, they face north so see little sun.

The room was large and clean but the decoration was tired. The bed was firm but comfortable. The laundry/bedding was old and grey. The water was occasionally discoloured and and slightly sulphurous..

The gardens (the best part of the hotel) and restaurant were an oasis away from the traffic noise. The pool is quite small. There is very little room around the pool and virtually nowhere to sit comfortably other than in the restaurant/bar. The catering is basic and they could definitely do better at breakfast.

The staff were friendly, a bit disorganised but generally helpful.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the beach providing you take a short cut through the back of the hotel and down an alley. The walk isn't pleasant having to transit mounds of garbage and street hawkers.

Being at the northern end of Sanur the beach is not clean and it requires another 5 minutes walk southwards before it becomes more pleasant. However it is very handy for the boats to Nusapenida/Lembongan.

In summary. the poor location, poor sound insulation and meagre breakfast let this hotel down. There is definitely better for the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We booked direct with the hotel after calling them in 'their' early hours from the UK. The on duty receptionist was very helpful and the price we were quoted and paid on arrival was far less then that advertised on their website. Sri Phala is a small personal hotel/complex of villas located in a fairly busy area & major road junction....Google Earth it and you'll see. Lots of road activity, although this didn’t disturb us too much at night. Not too far from the nearest bit of beach (5mins walk), but a bit of a walk to a better beach about 30mins walk along I suppose. Plenty of activity and beach stalls along the way. Well organised water sports up that end too. Pudding bowl hat men are the ones to book with, and dont forget to bata a bit even though they have set prices on a flyer.

You get a cab up the road to that part of the beach too Bluebird are local ‘metered’ taxis and is worth sticking to as you know where you are moneywise. A 5 minute taxi ride fare was only around 20,000IDR which is about £1.50!
There are plenty of independent taxis at the airport too if you are arranging transfer yourself but the hotel will do this for you if you ask & there isn’t an awful lot of difference in price. I forget exactly what we paid now but it was something like $25 or the equiv in rupiar
Check in at the hotel was fine...24hr reception. Secure (ish) passport lockers.
Our rooms/villa was on 2 levels. Big, very nice, clean and bug free (except the 'outside' shower which harboured a few nocturnal critters obviously). Small TV with some European channels, mini bar, which you can restock form the local supermarket far cheaper than hotel prices ;-). We looked at a pool villa too, I wouldn’t bother with this unless it was the same price as the pool was like a giant bath really.
Main pool small but we had this to ourselves almost the whole stay when we were actually in the hotel. About 15 sun beds I think which give you an indication of the size.
Hotel food excellent and not too pricey but more expensive than elsewhere outside the hotel.
Get a taxi up to the road outside the Bali Hiatt Hotel, that’s where the main ‘local’ shopping area is.
100’s of shops to Bata in and dozens of restaurants too. We liked Ratatouille. Great surroundings, food, service, entertainment & price. About £80 for a 1 or 2 courses each (4 adults, 4 children) and that included a couple of rounds of drinks too.
Further afield, Dreamland beach is supposed to be the best in the area which was about 30mins taxi ride, fine for surfing, not good for swimming (when we went anyway). Very very small piece of beach. Pretty when you look out to sea, but that’s it.
Waterbomb park in Kuta is really worth a visit which is about 30mins drive from Sri Phala too. Not cheap but so well organised it was worth it (about £20 per person I think). You charge up a pre pay wrist band so you don’t have to walk around with cash if you want a drink/food. You can re-charge the wrist band anytime or top it right up and get a refund of unused cash when you leave. It had a Disney Florida feel about it. There is a large shopping centre across the road too which leads to a good beach for those that don’t fancy the water slides.
Although we didn’t shop in Kuta it looks like a great hustling/bustling town.
We also hired a taxi and driver for the day which was around £25, he took us to a temple, beach, coffee/spice plantation, Volcano. Good value day out to see the local sites. Be firm with the independent taxis drivers though if you do this, and work out where you want to go ahead of dealing with one. Tell them where YOU want to go rather than just a general sight seeing tour else you’re just likely to end up where he gets a bung off his mates ;-)
Anyone wants to know anything, give me a shout and I’ll do my best to answer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT9447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

we stayed in a 2bedroom villa,spacious and nicely furnished. the garden wasnt well maintained though. Breakfast was just ok. This is a small resort with a small pool. the foliage outside is lovely and well maintained.
The room is need of renovation, esp the ceiling! the wooden ceiling in the master bathroom had rodent droppings sticking out of it. My biggest complaint was that we had rats scurrying around in the space between the thatched roof and false ceiling! It gave me a few sleepless nights.I am sure it takes very little to keep the premises free of rats and droppings.
The service was not upto the mark. the toileteries and tea coffee satches were never
replenished without our reminding them.
The pathways are poorly lit, please make sure you have a torch with you.
Would recommend carla spa a 5 minute walk from the resort. they give a good basic massage, had a great pedicure there too.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meloveart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Honestly I am a little bid disapointed about this hotel... The website looks good but the reallity is different... The hotel is not too bad and the garden beautiful but the service is not good at all... The restaurant just ok and the breakfasts very basic... We got a water supply disruption the first evening (Impossible to take any shower) and internet was unable the last day. The bathroom needs to be refreshed even if the room was acceptable. However, the swimming pool is nice. Don't expect to go to the beach (Sanur) because it's really dirty and not a good place to swim at all ! I am sure it's possible to find a better place for the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulienLEVET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The hotel is nice, the garden is like a tropical garden. We rented a villa which had to large beds, wasn't fancy but normal, we had a good night sleep.
In the morning when we wanted to go down to the beach the neighborhood scared us. It is dirty and crowded with locals who spend their time waiting around the roads, looking and hoping to get any type of business. The beach is miserable, dirty and full of bad looking stalls, street dogs, old plastic chairs.... just looks ugly.
You surely do not feel like swimming. ( the hotel pool is tiny)
The whole are is like this, street dogs and 3rd world streets... we are pretty experienced with South East Asian countries but you do not wish to relax in a place like this. The hotel is 5 years ahead if its area. Still we voted with our feet and checked out in the same morning and went to south of Sanur and got a gorgeous place for even less money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImoAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

A welcoming, clean (very important point for me!) and quiet place to unwind. I found a great discount offer for this hotel which made it fantastic value for money including a very satisfying breakfast. Loved our balcony over looking the pool and also the size and space we had in the room. Although the hotel is on a main road this is not noticeable once inside the resort and the beach is only a minute walk away. On the way to the beach u can hire bikes to cycle the length of the sand. Would recomend the 2 little massge parlours on the road towards the beach and also the highly enjoyable monday night buffet at the Santrian Resort at the opposite end of the beach. A great stay thanks sri phala :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Prime Plaza Hotel Sanur - Bali
0.2 mi away
Diwangkara Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#30 of 82 in Sanur
444 reviews
1 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#32 of 82 in Sanur
459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#39 of 82 in Sanur
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Phala Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Phala Resort & Villa

Address: Jln. Ngurah Rai No. 35, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $47 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sri Phala Resort & Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Phala is a tastefully furnished resort hidden away in a quite part of Sanur offering an intimate setting and the personalized service you look for in holiday resort. The ambience is restful and relaxed surrounded by tropical gardens. Every room is spacious and has a private balcony. The area of Sanur has long been a popular destination for guests seeking a stylish, laid-back beachside getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sri Phala Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Phala Resort & Villa Hotel Sanur
Sri Phala Resort And Villa
Sri Phala Hotel
Sri Phala Boutique Hotel
Sri Phala Resort & Villa Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing