We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great on a budget!”
Review of Puri Dalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Dalem Hotel
Ranked #51 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great on a budget!”
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I am not so picky when I am paying $30 ($15 per person if you are sharing) a night. In fact for that price I found that the hotel was excellent! It has beautiful gardens, two pools and it's clean. My bed was comfortable, we had our own bathroom and a small fridge. We are vegetarians and every morning we were able to order a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit juice etc...as much as we wanted(as part of room rate). I have to admit that it was a bit noisy at first, they sweep every morning, but as the days passed I found the sound very soothing. This is the 3rd time I go to Bali and I have to say that this was my favorite trip thus far. Sanur is less touristic and closer to Ubud, you get to taste more of the local flavor. I also found that the staff at the Puri Dalem was really sweet, something that gets lost when there are to many tourists, like in Ubud or Kuta.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    58
    58
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
53
33
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We booked a double but were told we had twin beds and double would be available the next day. The double room we were given was far inferior to the room we had with the twin beds. The double was right near the pool and the restaurant and had outdated furnishings and so we decided to stay in the twin room.

The pool is quite nice and the garden quite pretty. The front rooms opposite reception seem the nicest, although a bit dark. The location of the hotel is not so good. The hotel is on a very busy street and near a very busy intersection. Walk to beach is 10 minutes across the dangerous intersection. It is a bit of an effort to get there and it is too close to get a taxi. The noise of the traffic could be heard at night time.

The breakfast was disappointing. There was a small buffet of Indonesian breakfast over the weekend when the hotel was busy, but the continental breakfast we were give consisted of two wafer thin pieces of toast, not so good coffee and a juice. It was not filling and also not very good. The toast was brought from the kitchen so you could not help yourself to any more.

Overall, the staff were polite, but seemed to be watching the dollars, as indicated by the room furnishing, inadequate breakfast and the overall feel of the place.

  • Liked — The garden
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2008

we stayed at puri dalem in dec. 2008 and had requested a double (one bed) room for two nights. when we got there they gave us 2 twin beds and said we could MAYBE change to a double. they offered to put the twins together, but who wants to sleep in the middle of the crack. the room was very run down. the wall paint was peeling, the overheard light was broken, the toilet seat was broken in half, and the window had a huge crack. however, the bed was comfortable, they had free wifi in the lobby, and the layout of the hotel is very nice with two swimming pools. the location isn't very good. it was a 10 minute walk to the beach, but you had to cross a very busy intersection. the night manager WAS NOT very helpful, but the morning manager was nice. we decided to check-out in the morning for a place with a double and paid one dollar more to be closer to the beach. overall, not recommended.

  • Liked — free wifi
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nomadicwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2008

This lovely hotel was booked for me and i was not sure
what to expect, arrived to a very warm welcome by the
wonderfull staff who couldn't do enough for me, thankyou
to all of them.
Stayed 19 days and the service was top of the range.
This is not really a hotel for young people or small
children but just right for people who want peace
and quite with some romance thrown in. Please go and
enjoy this hotel and great staff.

A BIG HELLO TO ALL OF THEM.

ANDY/Indah

  • Liked — The lovely lady katut who cleaned our room every day.
  • Disliked — The wonderful staff.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andyjsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2008

I stayed in puri dalem on 30 april- 4 may 2008.

from jakarta and it was more the im expected:) quite large areal and great views on swimming pools( they have 2 pools)

newly renovated (jan 2008) so all bathroom looks very much new and clean. olso the pool. the staff are very kind and helpfull just ask and they will help as best as they can:)

I stayed at the back side of rooms. by the swimming pool. quite near to beach only 5 mins walk,, near by internet cafe, beach, lil mart.

and i meet best masseur i ever had... a very kind lady.. great for relaxing after long journey or trips...

all the best for puri dalem:)
M

  • Liked — great place for the value..clean pool and very nice path/garden..like home..
  • Disliked — some facilities in progrest of refurbish/ bed matrass.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank honey88sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Having stayed there 10 years ago, I wanted to see if the place was any better. Before I was in the top floor bungalow, and the bathroom was really bad, but the room was okay. This time, the cost was obviously more, but I stayed in one of the new rooms, not in the cottage bungalow section near the pool. Bathroom was much nicer, but the room was exactly the same, and so I was left disappointed at this. Breakfast was the same (even after 10 years), and so average. Also the staff were less friendly than before.

  • Liked — That it had been renovated
  • Disliked — The cost of a 2* pretending to be a 3 or 4*
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wanderingbedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

We booked this hotel through one of the travel agents at the arrivals area at the Bali airport since we hadn’t made a reservation anywhere in advance. Ended up paying $38 for a “superior double” including breakfast. Due to the issues below and the fact that we found a far better place nearby, we only stayed one night.

The hotel is located at the north end of Sanur about 250 meters from the beach right next to a busy road, so from many public areas you could hear the noise of traffic. The grounds of the hotel include two pools with a few worn sun lounges and a bit of grassy lawn. Passable for a hotel, but far from the lush and welcoming grounds that most places here in Sanur have. Our room was a bit dated and tired. Dreary fabrics that looked like they were selected in the 1970’s, no décor, and worn but functional furniture made the room pretty depressing. We are sure that the bathroom mirror and shelf had not been cleaned in a few months. Certainly not charming, romantic, or Balinese in any way. For some reason our hot water didn’t work, but we didn’t discover this until we were preparing to depart so didn’t ask what the issue was. Breakfast was a forlorn buffet table with a few plates of cut fruit and a chafing dish containing very greasy rice and some dodgy looking fried eggs. Not the most palatable spread.

The upside was that the staff was very friendly, but it is not a place we wanted to base ourselves to enjoy this wonderful island. There are far better places in Sanur to stay that are more peaceful, better maintained, and closer to the beach for the same price!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank globedecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2.6 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#52 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#24 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sukun Bali Cottages
Sukun Bali Cottages
#62 of 76 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#42 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Dalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Dalem Hotel

Property: Puri Dalem Hotel
Address: Jln. Hangtuah, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Puri Dalem Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush tropical gardens, Puri Dalem Hotel boasts 2 outdoor pools and a restaurant on site. Its Balinese-style bungalows are tastefully appointed with thatched roofs, and offer offer calming views of the pool and garden. Free Wi-Fi is accessible in all areas. The hotel is 5 minutes' walk from Sanur Beach and Le Mayeur Museum, while Bali Safari and Marine Park is a 20-minute drive away. It is 30 minutes' drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport and 35 minutes' drive from central Ubud. Air-conditioned unites in Puri Dalem Hotel feature traditional Balinese decor and a private balcony. In-room amenities include a cable TV, minibar and tea/coffee maker. Each private bathroom comes with a shower and a bathtub. A hairdryer is provided upon request. Guests can enjoy traditional Balinese massages in the privacy of their rooms. The hotel provides free shuttle services within Sanur for those who wish to explore the area. Local specialities and international favourites are on offer at the restaurant. Alternatively, many dining options can be found within walking distance of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Puri Dalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Dalem Sanur
Puri Dalem Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing