We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poorly maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puri Dalem Hotel Sanur
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The toilet leaked to the point of half an inch of standing liquids in the bathroom. The bathroom smelled awful. The linens had suspicious stains. The folks that worked the front desk were determined to scam us on boat ticket prices from the moment we arrived. My wife and I stayed one night.

Also, the sidewalk leading to the beach is a death trap. I of good health and have walked around some pretty sketchy places, but this was one for the books. The very poorly lit (if it all) sidewalk ran perilously close to crazy traffic. There were concrete slabs over what looks to be an old open sewer. Many of the slabs were half broken and/or missing leaving a gaping hole of 1 foot to 5 feet down. Some of these holes were very hard to see over the piles of rubble and no lighting. Furthermore, the light at the intersection of the major road leading to Sanur beach was completely whacked out. I watched the indicator of when to walk for three cycles, it was exactly opposite of what it should have been. I know this is no fault of the hotel, but it needs to be mentioned.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highvelcty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 217 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

I quite enjoyed my stay here. The bedroom and bathroom were really nice and clean. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful. It is a nice setting with little bungalows surrounding the two simming pools. The breakfast is quite poor though - not much choice. The location is ok but not great - it's on a busy main road and there are a couple of really busy roads to cross if you want to walk to the beach (it's only a 5-10 min walk to the beach though). I didn't really think much of the beach in Sanur though so I wasn't too bothered that the hotel wasn't on the beach. Overall a nice place to stay if you want a base from which to explore Sanur.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarahlouisedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were so impressed with Puri Dalem Hotel that we extended our stay by 10 nights!
We originally booked for 9 nights and a further 10 nights elsewhere, but after a few days, we decided to stay the entire time at the Puri Dalem. The staff are so friendly and accommodating and really make you feel at home. The grounds are so beautiful and the rooms are clean and spacious. It has two swimming pools that are very clean (cleaner than some we saw in other resorts). A previous reviewer has commented on the bathrooms being dated, they are, but they are cleaned every day and you spend such a small amount of time in the bathroom, that it does not matter at all.
Although the hotel is not situated on the beach, they provide a free shuttle service, several times a day to their "sister hotel" which is on the beach. You can use the facilities at the sister hotel without charge. We found this to be an amazing benefit as we could take our kids to the beach everyday if we wanted to. It is also within walking distance of the main shopping area.
We will absolutely stay at Puri Dalem again and again and again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bakesbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I can recommend Puri Dalem Hotel. It is a lovely place to stay, nice and clean rooms, extraordinary friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, also two swimming pools where you can relax. Next time I visit Bali, I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at the Puri Dalem Hotel for five nights along with two friends. While the grounds are lovely with a well maintained garden, two pools, lovely verandahs and decent sleeping space, the bathrooms were very outdated! Ours in particular had a very bad smell, which we relayed to the reception staff. Despite cleaning over the five days, the smell never disappeared, and in the end we just put up with it. On our first day there was quite heavy rain also, and a small section of the roof in the bedroom leaked. In saying this, the staff were exceptionally prompt when dealing with our concerns, even offering to let us change rooms which we declined.

While breakfast at the hotel was included in our tariff, we chose not to eat it for the most part. As it was a buffet, the pre fried eggs and toast were often cold and hard. Enjoyed the fresh fruit and tea every morning though!

As many have mentioned, the hotel is not located directly on the beach and you do have to cross a very busy intersection. We opted to hire bikes for three of the days, parking them at our room every night, so as to get around the Sanur area everyday. Of course you have to be cautious when riding alongside cars and motorbikes, but we throughly enjoyed being able to ride down and along the beach every day.

Puri Dalem was probably not our favourite place to stay over the course of our month long trip to Bali, however is probably perfect for those on a budget and not expecting five star treatment. Sanur itself is fantastic and worth the visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheds29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice place to be with holiday feelings! Beautiful garden and pools! Very friendly and nice people! It's a good recommendation! Not really close to the sea, but Sanur is a central spot for starting a tours! The Food was allways good!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel was just as we expected. Nice food, nice staff and 2 good pools. The problem is with the location. The road junction outside the hotel; which you must cross to get to the beach, is almost impossible to cross without putting yourself and family in danger. This is of course no fault of the hotel, but has to be seriosly taken into consideration, especially if you have youngsters travelling with you. There are a lot of similar quality residenced at the same price range on the safe side of the road. We certainly would not stay in this location again and will count this as a lesson learned.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBannys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2.6 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#55 of 78 in Sanur
129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#38 of 78 in Sanur
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alit's Beach
Hotel Alit's Beach
#77 of 78 in Sanur
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diwangkara Beach Hotel & Resort
2.1 mi away
Sukun Bali Cottages
Sukun Bali Cottages
#59 of 78 in Sanur
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Dalem Hotel Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Dalem Hotel Sanur

Address: Jln. Hangtuah, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range: $28 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Puri Dalem Hotel Sanur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush tropical gardens, Puri Dalem Hotel boasts 2 outdoor pools and a restaurant on site. Its Balinese-style bungalows are tastefully appointed with thatched roofs, and offer offer calming views of the pool and garden. Free Wi-Fi is accessible in all areas. The hotel is 5 minutes' walk from Sanur Beach and Le Mayeur Museum, while Bali Safari and Marine Park is a 20-minute drive away. It is 30 minutes' drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport and 35 minutes' drive from central Ubud. Air-conditioned unites in Puri Dalem Hotel feature traditional Balinese decor and a private balcony. In-room amenities include a cable TV, minibar and tea/coffee maker. Each private bathroom comes with a shower and a bathtub. A hairdryer is provided upon request. Guests can enjoy traditional Balinese massages in the privacy of their rooms. The hotel provides free shuttle services within Sanur for those who wish to explore the area. Local specialities and international favourites are on offer at the restaurant. Alternatively, many dining options can be found within walking distance of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Dalem Hotel Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Dalem Sanur
Puri Dalem Hotel Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing