We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful and relaxing place”
Review of Natah Bale Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Natah Bale Villa
Ranked #34 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful and relaxing place”
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We are very happy with our stay at Natah Bale Villas. The bedroom is huge with a big attached study room and attached outdoor bathroom. The kitchen, dining and living areas are outdoor and surrounded by beautiful small ponds with fishes inside. We enjoyed our breakfast at the dining area. We had a lunch there as well and tried the local dishes which were nicely cooked. The kitchen staff kindly brought the meals at our place upon request. The swimming pool is big enough for people with small children. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The villas are near restaurants and souvenir shopping areas.

The only negative thing is that we can hear music from across the road. But it doesn’t really disburbed us so much.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsac0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

While about 300m from the main restaurant strip Natah Bale is a fantastic place to stay if you want to relax in Bali.

We had two Villas, although we probably could have got away with one by sleeping our teenage daughter in the study instead of giving her a villa to herself. Even with the extra villa it was still good value. With her in the same villa we would have saved $60 a night and it would have been awesome value.

The Villas are spacious with an outside bathroom, TV is a standard TV (not a massive LCD/Plasma) with about 50 channels. Beds are quite firm. The rooms have Aircon and a fan (really nice at night). You also get your own outside Bale which in our case had two massive daybeds and two, three seater lounges and a low table. You also get your own outside kitchen with cooktop, fullsize fridge, sink and cutlery. And a eight seater dining suite where you can eat your own cooking or have the restaurant meals delivered. In total we probably had an area of about 20 x 20 m just to ourselves. It was great.

The pool is small by hotel standards, about 12m long but, the whole resort only has six villas, so you very, very rarely have to share.

The restaurant food was good and very reasonably priced so I don't think I'd ever bother actually cooking in my own kitchen. It is very nice to have the food delivered to your table. It's like having the restaurant to yourself.

Only possible down side is the nightclub/bar across the street. The music goes until midnight and the singer on the first night was not so good. But the other nights it was actually pleasant to have some music while we were relaxing in our outside lounge. It definitely isn't a showstopper in any way and can be a plus when the music is good.

The beach is 150 meters away down the alley across the road. But I couldn't figure why you'd bother unless you were going to the small eateries.

Overall this was the most relaxing place we have stayed in Bali (10+ trip) and I agree that the photos don't do it justice.

If you are a couple who want to relax then this is the place for you. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Possum Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We had a lovely stay at Natah Bale Villas. The villas were really wonderful. We felt like we had the place to ourselves at times. The pool was brilliant for our kids and we had the most relaxing time just hanging out. The staff (especially Andi) were all lovely and so very friendly. The outdoor bathrooms were lovely and the food was pretty good too. We loved Natah Bale Villas and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sanur.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inlovewithbali_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Found this property quite by chance as I was searching for a pool villa that 2 people could actually afford! This is the best compromise we found as there are 6 villas on the compound surrounding a pool. We used the pool a lot and only once had to share it with other guests.

We had a blissful and quiet 4 night stay at the Natah Bale which has a beautifully cared for garden and lovely staff. The menu is extensive and extremely good value. The villa itself was very spacious with a lovely outdoor bathroom and sunken bath tub. Lovely pond detail with fish and fountains separated the room from the outdoor 'lounge' complete with wicker chairs and traditional bale. The kitchen is very cimple, not enough equipment to really buy and cook your own food but a nice outdoor eating area.

My criticisms would be:
- Air con very old and a bit noisy
- Music from across the road is very loud but stops dead on midnight
- Ants everywhere in the bathroom, the downside of an open bathroom!

The location is good, Sanur is a nice little place, a sort of less pretentious version of Seminyak and around 25 mins drive from the airport. The hotel also offers transport around Sanur free of charge.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting - garden is lovely, peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Little bit noisy at night, up to midnight
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for villa 3 - it's the closest to the pool!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

We found this property by chance on the web and after looking at the photos attached to the previous review(these are much better than those on the booking agency sites) and taking heed of the words of the reviews we went ahead and booked. We had imagined that the property having only four villas, that they would be grouped around the pool on a small plot of land. But we were completely taken aback when our cab drove into the small entrance off the Cemara Road and this great expanse of open lawned area surrounded by lush gardens appeared before us. We really enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the property during the day. We agree the bands playing at the pub acroos the road can be off putting for some but we just treated it as background music as we relaxed and read in the comfort of our own delightful living area. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves, in fact we felt we were on our own private beach property. The bedrooms are huge with king size beds ( very firm mattresses ) & plenty of wardrobe space. The bedroom Bale even has a "study" which I suppose could be used as a second bedroom? A great indoor outdoor bathroom with lots of real hot water. We really appreciated the evening bed turn down and the fresh towels ( good quality) to replace the ones used after the pre dinner shower. The kitchen is a bit sparse when it comes to equipment and a toaster would be a definite improvement. A terrific size fridge and freezer held all the milk and fresh fruits etc that we purchased at Hardy's Supermarket ( a taxi ride away ) The lack of any stores within walking distance selling fresh milk and bread etc was disappointing but not the end of the earth. We enjoyed our twelve day stay at Natah Bale so much we decided to extend our holiday by seven days, unfortunately the property did not have vacancies to accomodate our request. This will I'm sure be the problem when word gets out about this great little venue. We highly recommend this property for mature couples who want a holiday resort that allows them to completely relax without all the hullabaloo. A fabulous property for those that like privacy, comfort and the ability to fend to themselves if they desire. The restaurant on site serves acceptable food and I can't agree that the service is any slower than any where else in Sanur and there are plenty of choices.

Helpful?
6 Thank Baz707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2006

Scheduling a Christmas trip in Bali is difficult at the last minute. But based on one TripAdvisor Review and pleasant communication with the booking staff we chose this resort over other villa type accomodations. Upon arrival we were greeted with Hawaiian style hospitality and were amazed at the space our Balinese Bale afforded us, two adults and two children.

The rooms were exceptionally clean, finished well, the layout superb and the staff always warm and friendly. I had planned lots of activities for my family, having not been to Bali in 7 years but all agreed just relaxing in our villa 'compound' was more than pleasant enough. The onsite restaurant served excellent food at very reasonable prices, however, the wait was rather long and we often thought to order several hours ahead but never actually did.

The sense of openess, yet privacy is not clearly evident in online photos, but I've included a few candid shots here to show our villa.

The street it is situated on has several convenience stores and some limited shopping, but after a week, many of the local vendors came to know us. At night, on Fridays and Saturdays the booming rendition of Beatles music from across the way at a few pubs did make for a not so quiet evening relaxing in the bale.

A good tip we discovered: Walk across the street and down the alley to the beach. Pay 20,000 Rupiah at Puri Santrian and have all access to their private, beach, water sports, pools and a towel all day! The spa is to die for!

The staff at Puri Santrian as well as Natah Bale always willingly watched the kids for a few hours at a very modest rate.

We'd definately return.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Diplomaticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2005

We stayed at the Natah Bale Villa in January 2005, after booking it over the internet sight unseen with no recommendations.It turned out to be a winner - only 4 'bales' in the garden compound, each with walkways across lily pond, open air kitchen, huge day beds & sitting are. A seperate 'bale' for the a/c bedroom [huge] leading into a large open air marble bathroom. I would describe the finishing as 'Bali modern' - very well done. All this luxury for US$75 a night! The back street that it's situated in isn't the nicest, but it's quietly away from the hustle & bustle..restaurant on site which was good, very obliging staff & nice pool.Short walk to the beach, 10 mins walk to main Sanur area. We would stay here again next time we're in Sanur - we're staying in Ubud in June.

Helpful?
14 Thank minervaFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.0 mi away
Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur
0.9 mi away
Katala Villas
Katala Villas
#16 of 139 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aleesha Villas
Aleesha Villas
#9 of 139 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nike Villas
Nike Villas
#10 of 139 in Sanur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bali Golden Villas
Bali Golden Villas
#40 of 139 in Sanur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Villas
Emerald Villas
#4 of 139 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natah Bale Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natah Bale Villa

Property: Natah Bale Villa
Address: Jl. Cemara no. 32, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Natah Bale Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natah Bale Villa is located in the charming village of Sanur, Natah Bale Villa is designed based on the traditional Balinese architectural concept of natah where the garden or courtyard becomes the focal point of Balinese living and the different pavilions - bale - are laid out in separate structures according to its function. Each villa in the compound features its own private entrance and an open living room, a dining room as well as a fully equipped kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Natah Bale Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natah Bale Villa Hotel Sanur
Natah Bale Villa Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing