We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This small hotel is quite promising and it depends when you stay there as to just how quiet it can be. In one review "aspiring Aussie pensioners" was mentioned and it is so true - they can be noisy around the pool. or even when walking to their rooms. Our little bungalow was certainly quite sweet but we noticed the water jug had not been filled for a couple of days and we mentioned this to Reception. It was filled straight away - a bit too quick I think. My husband said it's fine you can drink it and I did only to have an embarrasing situation a couple of hours later at a Coffee Shop. So this is one hotel where perhaps you should not have even a sip of their "boiled" water out of their jugs. In 26 years of staying at other hotels in Bali where they provide boiled water (and in some cases bottled water) I've never had such a bad experience. On the plus side the best thing I can say about this rather sweet looking hotel is that it is within walking distance to that wonderful No.1 Restaurant "Kayu Manis" I certainly don't want to discourage anyone from trying out this hotel but personally would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kadekbudhaya, General Manager at Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,
We wish to thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Puri Kelapa. We are very sorry for what happened to you, the first we received in years ever. We have taken the necessary action to ensure that it shall not happened again. We have replaced the jugs in all the rooms with bottled water. However we would have been most grateful had you share your experience with us, the management, first as we are all human and it is in our philosophy not to have ill intention toward others. Again we hope you could accept our most sincere apology and wish you well.
Yours sincerely,
Njoman Suwidjana
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    151
    59
    18
    4
See reviews for
58
129
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

During the past 4 months, I have been three times to this hotel (consisting of several blocks of cottages of 2 floors, with ca. 6 rooms on each floor).
The positive things are : the very kind and welcoming staff (especially in the nearby restaurant), the nice garden-with-pool, a small place to borrow books and magazines, the good and quiet location (though not right next to the beach, it is only ca. 400 meters away, and to the other side of the hotel it is almost right next to one of the main shopping streets in Sanur).
But, on the downside, the rooms are (and look) really old and not well maintained. They smell awful (like wet grass after a few days outside). The light in the rooms is very, very dim (making reading almost a painful exercise) and during peak-hours water in the shower (put above the bath-tub) might be running short. Probably due to the high humidity, the bathrooms look very dirty, although the rooms are well-cleaned every day (incl. new bed linen and towels). The interior walls are really thin, therefore the rooms (or more correct : neighbours) might be very noisy.
Breakfast is a choice of 5 different sets, which starts to get boring after more than 4 days.
Wireless internet is available only in the hotel-lobby (which is outside and therefore mosquito-prone) at ca. 2 Euro per day (but for free at the restaurant; ask for the password).
The hotel seems to be an all-time favorite for mainly Dutch and Australian (aspiring) pensioners.
In short : reading the other reviews and having seen many other hotels in Sanur, I do think you will be able to find more value for your money than this hotel (or : if possible just add a little more money to your budget to find that paradise-place Bali is famous for ....).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelNieuwegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kadekbudhaya, Owner at Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Dear Sir/Mdm,
Thank You for sharing your experience staying with us at Puri Kelapa. I sorry for what happened. However we would have been more grateful if you share your experience with us first so that we could help you avoid such experience and make your holiday more joyful. Yes the wall separating the two rooms you were staying at is rather thin. Others are not as thin. We could have given you other room.
Again we are sorry that it happened to you and wish you well. Nonetheless should you wish to consider coming back to us we want you to know that you are most welcome.
Yours sincerely
Owner/manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I stayed at Puri Kelapa for 4 nights. I had friends staying at Segara Village just down the road and I basically stayed with them at their hotel or we were out and about during the day but I went back to my perfectly functional hotel room every night which had a fairly comfortable double bed, a small balcony, airconditioning, 2 tiny complementary bottles of water (no tea or coffee facilitiy in the room but you could get a cup of fairly nice instant at reception for 10,000rp (with a choice of different instant coffees!). The hotel pool ... well it was on the run down side but still in okay condition. The obvious negative about this hotel were all the cats running around the stairs up to the rooms attracted to where guests have left out their room service trays with food waste. A regular pick up by staff of these trays would resolve this problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balibagusPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed here for three nights. We loved the quietness of this resort and the peaceful pool, although a group of creepy old Australian men were somewhat offputting, particularly when they leered at me and my friends! Luckily they were only there one night, so didnt trouble us too much, although the shallow end of the pool was often commandeered by elderly Australians who seemed to stay there morning, noon and night!! (seriously - once we got back at 1am and they were still there!!)

My husband and I loved it as you have a nice quiet room with a balcony/verandah for relaxing on. It is removed from the bars along the beach, but within walking distance if you do fancy a bit of a night out! There are some lovely restaurants within walking distance as well and we enjoyed having massages and treatments on the beachfront (we only saw the spa in the hotel on the last day, so didnt get to use this).

Breakfast was nice, either a pancake or eggs and bacon, all included in the very reasonable price (someone mentioned paying extra, but we didnt have to). Also there was a swap shop for books which was handy so you could swap your book for someone elses (needs more English books though!!)

The AC units were a bit temperamental, but the rooms were clean, sheets changed daily, nice comfy king size beds.

Would definitely come back!!

NB Not linked to the hotel at all but do not use Ronalds internet cafe in Sanur - I made a phone call here and was completely ripped off with the guy claiming I had made two calls when I hadnt and refusing to support me to connect the phone. When it did connect it cost me 50000 rupiah for 2 minutes!! He even laughed when I explained that I was having difficulty getting money from my bank and needed to make an urgent call. A nasty piece of work altogether.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YamMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2010

The hotel is situated near the beach and near the main street of Sanur.
It has a very nice garden with a modest pool the cool down in.
The people are warm hearted and very kind.
The rooms are modest and clean.
Food is available in the vicinity, from "warungs", local restaurants, adjusted western/indonesian restaurants and even McDonald.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiongbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2010

II have stayed in this hotel for the last few years and seriously for me it's like coming home.The location is good for the beach and shops.......once inside the hotel you are made to feel very welcome, the staff are attentive,nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms or cottages are cleaned every day (bedding and towel change). The restaurant food is very good as is the food and service if you are by the pool. The gardens are beautifully kept and there is an abundance of flowers............Im off there again in April and am counting down the days.........................

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogoldygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, USA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed here from Dec 31 to Jan 5 based on others' good reviews and their reasonable price. Since the price reflects a budget hotel, we didn't expect too much, but this place is worse than anticipated : very old and poorly maintained. It is really a shame as the location is good and the garden settings could have been very nice should they just take some time to prune the plants.

Being old is not a big problem but the maintenance is very poor, tiles in the bathroom are chipped, the shower curtain looks like it has been there for over 10 years, something like this could easily be replaced and they didn't bother. Grout around the sink was thickly puddled, didn't even try to smooth that out. The bath towels are the oldest I have ever seen and some of them have holes and yet they continue to use them. The shelves and bed backboards have never been dusted. This place desperately needs some TLC.

The city shut down electricity in different district randomly for 4 to 5 hours, twice a week. Apparently they announce on the news as which area and when this will happen and yet the hotel does not have any notice. There are only generators for the lobby and restaurant. Without air-con, it was unbearable in the rooms, not to mention to sleep. We would have stayed in the pool but after dark there were bats flying around low to the ground and that was pretty spooky. We understand the situation is unavoidable but they could have given us notice to make other plan for the evening.

What we feel sorry about is most of the problems can easily be fixed if they want to, yet they don't seem to care.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllensWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2.1 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#50 of 78 in Sanur
126 reviews
1.9 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#36 of 78 in Sanur
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#41 of 78 in Sanur
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#34 of 78 in Sanur
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#26 of 78 in Sanur
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages

Property: Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
Address: Jln. Segara, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages is a hidden away home, away from home. Quietly tucked away in the mid of green surrounding, Puri Kelapa is Serene & Peaceful. It is located at the heart of the traditional village of Sanur with approximately 45 minutes’ drive from airport, 15 minutes’ drive from the capital city of Bali & 5 minutes’ walk to Sanur famous sunrise beach & market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages Hotel Sanur
Puri Kelapa Garden Hotel
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing