We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, chic, achy tho”
Review of La Taverna Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Taverna Suites
Ranked #62 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shabby, chic, achy tho”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the old world charm of this place but didn't enjoy so much the mouldy bathroom that stank, the air conditioning that didn't work and the bali belly that I ended up with after eating at the restaurant.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    137
    71
    49
    31
See reviews for
110
184
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed in Sanur many times and like to try different places and we chose La Taverna this time for the location as it was next to our favourite Bonsai Bar on the beach and near the Piccadilly Restaurant on Jl Danau Tamblingan. Unfortunately both these places were under renovation/reconstruction so the position was irrelevant. We had just spent a week at Parigata Spa Resort further west in Sanur which was wonderful and the La Taverna was a big step down from that. Although the position is great, running between a main road and the beach, it was obviously very old and tired. Rooms were incredibly musty. Lighting was dim. Our first room was small - we had to walk sideways to get around the bed and the door to the bathroom was so low with a shaped timber frame probably designed to hit your head on. Also there was no hot water which we had to bring to their attention to fix. The main swimming pool was not available to be used as it was under renovation supposedly for a couple of days....but was still not ready by the time we left a week later. There was another smaller pool near the family villa which we were allowed to use which was fine. We tried to check out on the second morning as we would have gone over the road to the Tamukami (have stayed there before and much better value) but we couldn't check out without paying for the full week so we upgraded to a bigger room instead at an extra cost of course. As the occupancy seemed very low, we went and looked in about another 7 rooms before upgrading to the best of what we saw. The down side to the bathroom in this one was that the shower was in a deep bath set in the floor which we had to get down into without any handrails (and I recently had a knee replacement which didn't help). Once again no hot water. We got this sorted but found it took about 5 minutes to get hot water and then it couldn't be adjusted. We resorted to timing quick showers for the brief interval of tolerable temperature of the water which was very annoying. Breakfast was included and was good. We also had a lunch here which was excellent although pricey overall and the beers were the most expensive we had in Bali. We wouldn't stay here again though as there are many other better options.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a little different in size and configuration. Check your options when you get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev and Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in La Taverna very much. We slept very well and enjoyed the location at the beach and the nice old fashion look of the hotel. The staff was friendly and the food delicious. There were a few things that didn't work well (dim light in the room, weak shower) and I guess the hotel needs to be refurbished soon. We appreciated the free internet connection.
I was a good place to start and finish our trip because it is located close to the airport.

Room Tip: We prefered the room downstairs. The one on the second floor was not so spacious and the bathroom wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Boring, old room on a boring beach, over-priced. Pool is old. Meal was fair. The only nice part of this hotel was the property and access to the "boardwalk." . Breakfast not included. Bicycles would have been nice. Skip Sanur all together. Seminyak and Uboud have more to offer. Balagnon beach is more beautiful. Perhaps Sanur is suitable for families with young children who need a mild beach.

Room Tip: There were no rooms that would appeal to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisabarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We were very disappointed with La Taverna. After initially being upgraded to the 'honeymoon suite' which is upstairs and HUGE, first impression it had the 'wow' factor but on closer inspection it was poorly constructed, the room only had one very small window with no screen, the bathroom was pokey and stuffy with no natural ventilation and there were 2 very inefficient air conditioners. The next morning we asked to be moved to the original deluxe room we booked which fortunately was still available. It was by far better but the bathroom was in dire need of a refurb, there were no screens on any of the windows so we were forced to use the airconditioning at night when a ceiling fan would have sufficed. Standard fans are not as efficient as ceiling fans either! There was also an extremely dangerous electrical box with exposed wiring just behind a cane blind in the outdoor sitting area, easily reached by small unknowing children. Breakfast was average, ceiling fans in restaurant didn't work and it was hot in the mornings with no moving air. Pool was generally good but again needed a makeover. I'm glad my 7 year old son swims well! Considered very expensive for what it was, by the time the additional child surcharge was added to the room, it cost over A$200 per night, not the standard I would expect for that price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Do not go to this hotel!
They charged us with all kinds of extra costs of
which they did not tell us in front.
Even they had mentioned another price before arrival!
Later, when already the amount was charged on our creditcard, they informed us!
Wauw, what is the management of this hotel thinking???

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jannievanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Look, it wasn't a long journey to get here, a pleasant afternoon flight down from KL, and the immigration/customs was a breeze, it's just that as darkness had descended, coupled with touts at the airport and the horrendous rush hour traffic, we were enduring a feeling of "should have stayed in Penang", but at the same time looking forward to seeing a place new to both of us.

We'd secured an official airport taxi from the booth to the right of arrivals when you leave the building, the driver was a gem, helping with heavy luggage and getting us through the traffic efficiently. It's difficult to assess a place arriving in the dark, but check-in at La Taverna was quick, fuss-free and laid-back, though highly competent. We spent a pleasant evening at a beach bar, and slept well in our cottage-suite.

The next day revealed the full beauty of the lush tropical gardens, beach-side bistro and restuarant, bar, swimming-pool and helpful staff to assist with everything we might need. Breakfasts were very good, in terms of quality, quantity but esecially choice, the informality of the breakfast room and the utterly charming staff only added to our enjoyment of this magical little place.

We stayed here several nights, alternating between La Taverna's much and deservedly lauded restuarant, and the beach bars with a kilometre of so each way from the hotel. There is also a large number of bars/restuarants to the rear of the hotel, along the road that runs adjacent with the beach worth exploring, but it would take the month we intend to spend next time to report on those.

Our suite at La Taverna was complete with outside sitting room, in secluded private gardens, groovy bathroom and an extremely comfortable bedroom. The nature of the gardens meant it inevitable that a selection of critters would visit, but none were malevolent nor caused alarm.

La Taverna is perfect for all visitors, we are a couple, but there were young families and small groups tucked into some of the other suites, and smaller rooms accomodated those enjoying the La Taverna experience on a smaller budget.

This place became our temporary home on Bali, we're lucky enough to travel and are no strangers to the quirky/luxurious, but this place touched us as so few other have before. It was a wrench to leave. We heard from friends who live in Bali that the place is an institution, I'm not surprised.

Room Tip: The largere the room you can afford the more secluded the private are will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraemeySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.4 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#68 of 78 in Sanur
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#27 of 78 in Sanur
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Taverna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Taverna Suites

Property: La Taverna Suites
Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan 29, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Taverna Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Taverna Suites is a small privately owned hotel set within lush tropical gardens that open directly onto the golden sands of the Indian Ocean. La Taverna Suites has over the years played host to artists, writers, musicians and a wide assortment of other colorful personalities. Its European owners have endeavored to maintain the spirit of old Bali, whilst also providing a relaxed, informal environment with emphasis on the personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Taverna Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Taverna Hotel
La Taverna Sanur
La Taverna Suites Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing