We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70's hotel - never refurbished”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“70's hotel - never refurbished”
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed here on our hooneymoon. A hotel with 1000 rooms and people everywhere. Our room was very old, dirty with blood on the bed sheets and long black hair in the bath room. The aircondition was leaking on the floor. We complained and after we were shown 2 other rooms in the same standard which were also very dirty - not cleaned well. At last we were upgraded to a delux room, which was a little cleaner. This Hotel has not been refurbished since the 70's, so everything is very worn and old. It is a pitty, because from the outside it looks very nice. The staff was friendly and the pool was huge. But it is a corpse with makeup.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiefn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    1,011
    367
    116
    51
See reviews for
674
1,123
127
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Having read all the reviews of Sanur Beach Hotel, I was a bit worried about booking this hotel but I needn't have been. We stay there for 6 nights in the middle of June. The reception area has been completely refurbished and looks elegant, cool and modern. We stayed in a delux sea view room no 712 at the front of the hotel facing the huge pool and the sea. The room was very big, nicely furnished and very clean. There were no ants or bugs or mosquitos, no broken showers, leaking ceilings, funny smells or anything else like that. There was a nice marble bathroom with a huge walk in shower. Overall, the hotel was better than I expected - the common areas like the walkways between the room and the grounds are very well maintained, our check-in process was smooth and quick, we did not have to wait for the room to be done despite arriving early. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again. It is true that that there are better hotels in Bali, we stayed in Nusa Dua Resort for 3 days and it was beautiful but if you are going to Sanur, don't discount this Sanur Beach, you won't be disappointed. One thing I would recommend is to book a delux room witha sea view as these rooms are bigger and better. Many people have mentioned Donald's restaurant for a meal - it is really good and quite cheap, avoid Double Dutch - you have to wait for your food for ages and it arrives cold. Also avoid any money changers that do not say NO Commission on their boards or you will definitely be conned. There is a good, honest money exchange just past the Hyatt - they do not touch the money after counting a you get a receipt.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carisbrook21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

As my first experience of long haul travel I don't think we could have chosen a better destination. The only mistake we made was not staying for three weeks after making the journey from the UK.

The rooms we were allocated were OK but we decided to upgrade to a larger room with a view over the quiet gardens at the rear of the hotel. Food was great, the staff are wonderful and the whole experience was very relaxing and enjoyable. I used the free broadband for some office work every morning and found it to be reliable.

The trips out with a guide and driver a great way to explore Bali and we loved the people and island. It is on our list of places to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluedomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed 10 nights 7-17/5/09 in Sanur Beach hotel. Our first stay at this hotel and in fact outside of legian where we normally stay and we were pleasantly surprised. Our first room overlooked the front of the hotel and was above where the buses park. The next morning we asked to be shifted and were promptly given a room on the other side with an ocean view. Workers were also working on the new reception area every day until 9.00pm - we did not hear them on the otherside. Room was small but had everything we needed and was surprisingly cheap for an up market hotel. The hotel is huge - biggest in Bali, so we got fit going to breakfast and the pool a couple of times a day. Breakfast is fanstastic and caters for all. Location was great, a big change from Kuta and Legian in that you could walk down the main street day or night without the fear of getting run over. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and preferred to check out the many nearby Restaurants in the main street. Our favourites were Mossimos (try their seafood Calzone - unbelieveable and relatively inexpensive) we ended up going there on 5 seperate nights, the Mezzanine (part of Puri Santrian hotel) where we had the best seafood.
The laundry at the hotel is fairly pricey, so we took ours down the road and never paid any more than 35,000Rp - would have cost over 250,000Rp at the hotel.
The beef burgers at the hotel are amazing and only 55,000Rp.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and extremely polite.
Wifi is available at the hotel and will cost you nothing. We kept in touch with home and the rest of the world this way.
Shopping in Sanur is not as good as Legian and Kuta - the sellers let you walk away when we offered prices that would have been accepted in legian. I suppose a lot of the people staying in Sanur just don't bater much. The hotel has a shuttle bus that will run you over to Kuta for free at 10.00am and return at 5.00pm but a taxi is only 75 -100,000Rp which can include stopping at verious places along the way while they wait for you. We went back to Kuta a few times to finish off our shopping and to catch up with some friends.
All in all, I would say we are now Sanur converts and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgtgadget54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We (two adults and two young children) stayed here for two weeks in April. Excellent location, especially if you've little children as the beach is calm, and the surroundings are relatively quiet and laid-back. The grounds are very well landscaped and maintained. The official website of the Sanur Beach Hotel bills itself as a five-star hotel, but it clearly falls short. More like a three-star all-inclusive package resort-type hotel.

The staff are very friendly but professionalism isn't up to what you would expect from a five-star resort: i.e. with respect to accomodating changes, understanding meal/drink orders; attentiveness; keeping guests informed of progress on their requests; keeping the pool area clean and clearing drinks.

The accomodation is not five-star. We stayed in deluxe garden view room at US$90 per night with breakfast, (had to change twice: because the toilet kept running in the first; and in the second the ceiling in the bathroom was caving in due to leaking from the floor above), and the decor was tired.

The breakfast is good, but the juices are not freshly made. Great coffee, though. A good variety of restaurants. Fruit flies on the papaya, and ants by the jam/jelly station.

Don't buy alcoholic drinks at the Sanur Beach Hotel (e.g. the Pool bar, restaurants), they're twice what you would pay at the Santrian, which has a much prettier view. Give the dinners at the hotel a miss. The buffet theme dinners are not worth it! There's some decent restaurants up along the beach: Donald's, and the Santrian's Beach and Mezzanie restaurants. Way better value.

The gym is well-equipped but it could use air-conditioning. Pools are nice. Have kiddie pools connected to the larger ones.

No wireless access, except in the lobby (main lobby is undergoing renovations) where it is free, but watch out for the mosquitoes in there! There is cheap internet in the business centre.

Don't change money at the hotel exchange but at the BNI bank at the hotel. And don't change money at money-changers along the street!! You will definitely be scammed (e.g. money will be stolen before your eyes as you are distracted by a request for change). And everyone gives different rates for different denominations of US dollars. Make your life easy and go to a bank machine. It's worth the pain of a withdrawal fee from your bank back home.

Great short trips with kids: The Safari Park, and Waterbom park. Buy your souvenirs in Kuta, and carvings up in Ubud. At the big department stores like Centro or Ramayana, you'll get great deals. On the street do not pay more than 50 per cent of what they are asking!

Bring mosquito repellent. Stick to Blue Bird taxis. For day trips, the hotel can arrange some drivers, and it's actually good value. E.g. A driver in a large sedan for the day to Ubud was IND 350,000 (about $35).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Where do I start?.....Reception staff, either dumb or insolent. Rooms, on the face of it, quite nice (after you fight off the army of ants already in occupation)! Beach, DO NOT set foot on there without strong footwear as it is not sand but crushed coral, rips skin to pieces! Sea, nice when the tide is in, otherwise you must wade almost half a mile through seaweed to get wet above your knees. Room service (with a snarl). Majority of staff will only assist after palm has been well and truly greased ( as an aside when at Denpasar airport, refuse ALL porterage as they charge an exorbitant rate).
This resort unashamedly caters for the German & Dutch pensioner tourist market ( a fact you do not discover until you get there). Restaurants, limited choices ( menu never varies & food LOADED with garlic), if using Tirta restaurant, avoid Michael like he has plague ( I don't mind familiarity but, the only thing he didn't try to sell me was his sister, maybe I should have asked!!). Bar service, advertised as 11pm closing. What this actually means is that the staff intend to disappear exactly at that time so, service after 10.15 is next to impossible as they have locked everything away by then.

If you still want to go then do it on a Room Only basis and go into the village to eat/drink, great restaurants there and whilst the local traders will approach you to buy from their shop or offer tours they respect a polite No Thank You.

To sum up: Are we going back?.......Absolutely NO WAY!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angusmccoatup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Sanur is a charming, laid back, paradise; just the the Sanur Beach Hotel. I loved it here, the food was great, the staff incredibly helpful. Sanur has a wonderful relaxing feel and there are plenty of restaurants and bars up and down the the main strip.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hutch1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prama Sanur Beach Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Property: Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan P.O. Box 3279, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Sanur Beach Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sanur
#11 Family Hotel in Sanur
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#16 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prama Sanur Beach Bali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 star Hotel, with two large pools located right by the beach. Magnificent lush gardens and Hotel grounds with ample choice of restaurants & shops in Resort as well as just a stroll away.Suitable for the entire family from kids to grandpa... Just 20 minutes from the International airport. There is so much activity and things to do in lovely Sanur, the preferred address in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prama Sanur Beach Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Sanur
Beach Sanur
Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing