We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2008

October 2008. Elaine from U.K.
Just returned from Bali yesterday.
Disappointing because this hotel is certainly not 5 star. It needs an uplift. Good location but tired.
Not enough umbrellas and temperatures very high,.Had to get down at 6am every day for three weeks to ensure an umbrella.
The buffet food was nearly always cold and unappetising so had to eat mostly from the menu. Noisy French and German guests seem to be treated more favourably. Rooms had only one drawer which is no good for a three week stay. Some of the bar staff were very rude and gave poor service. I would not choose this hotel for my third trip to Bali.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,841 - 1,847 of 2,708 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2008

I stayed at the Sanur Beach Hotel in August with my husband and two teenage daughters. I can see from other reviews that the hotel could be accused of looking dated but we loved it. We had a sea view room which was very comfortable and clean. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and immaculately clean. The pools were again well maintained (the main pool is huge). The beach was great as there was always a breeze - in fact the breeze was sometimes so strong, it made reading a book difficult! The breakfasts were fantastic and I agree with the review from a previous holidaymaker who said that the omelette lady was a wonder and should be given a medal! We ate in the Italian restaurant which was pretty good and we were serenaded by the singing trio who were good fun! I would definitely recommend the Mezzanine restaurant at the Puri Santrian next door. The food was very good, menu varied and it was not overly expensive. People we spoke to had eaten at Donalds and again said it was good. We drove just over an hour to the Elephant Safari Park which was very expensive but worth it - my girls loved it. Apart from that we relaxed and it was the best place for that. I would definitely recommend it... in fact I wish I was still there!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank HertfordshireHels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Arriving at Hotel Sanur Beach we were very exiting by our stay. Eventually our expectations were some what fulfilled. Here are the headlines:

- Rooms were good but not amazing. Had a garden view hotel but there were sea view.
- Beds were rock hard. Asked for a new madress and the hotel staff placed some softere beds on top of the original. That solved the problem.
- Staff are very friendly and helpfull. Perfect.
- Breakfast is very, very good and we really enjoyed that.
- Ohter food (room service and restaurants) is horrible. Went out for dining every night. Can recommend Puri Santriani (next door hotel), Donalds, Mezzanine, The Village.
- The pool at the hotel is superb. Looks almost as a 50 meter.
- The beach is very good, but not fabulous. There is beach beds for free. There is a lot of sea weed so swimming in the sea is not recommendable.
- If you need transport just take a taxi by meter. Can go 15 minutes for appr. 30.000 INR (3 USD). A taxi can be rentet for a full day for 300.000 INR.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FlightOperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We stayed at the Sanur Beach for 11 days after a trip to Melbourne to see family. I was sceptical about going, given some of the mixed reviews that we had read before hand. However, I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. I cannot fault this hotel, except to say, I agree with some of the others, in that it is showing tell tale signs of age. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and we had a lovely view of the gardens, which are stunning and very well maintained. The staff were friendly, courteous and efficient with a good command of english. The breakfast was brilliant and the egg woman should be commended for her omellete making. The kids have never eaten so much fruit in their lives either. The pools were clean and well maintained. We would definately go back again.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank Eggwomanmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Arrived sanur in the afternoon booked in taken to our room which had 2 single beds.Requested a room with double bed and was changed immediately.Room safe was not working asked to be fixed and was done eventually.
The room had a slight odour and was starting to feel its age although the bathroom was kept clean.
The hotel is quite old but the grounds and pool areas are well looked after.If you like water sports there are plenty of options to choose from.The beach is only good for swimming at high tide and at this time of the year it was very windy.Breakfast was good and there are plenty of eating places around the hotel.
Yes it is a bit more quiet than kuta but than can be a good thing as you are left alone a bit more from the hawkers.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank broggo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Me and my Partner stayed there for a week, having read the reviews before i went, which were mixed, didnt know what to expect.
A lovely hotel, with freindly staff and two beautiful pools, one with a swim up bar. The beach was nice however the sea was shallow depending on the weather but with two gorgeous pools that were next to the beach this didnt matter.
The hotel has a nice pond with a ducks and even seems to have a cute resident tortoise shell cat/kitten, although she has a broken tail, ever so freindly.
We would definatley recommend not only this hotel but the result as there is plenty of restaurants and enough bars to keep you entertained and you are only 20 mins away from Kuta if you fancy a few clubs.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LKAJDFLADSJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Just returned from Bali. We found the hotel to be excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room good, very clean with a fabulous view of pool, palm trees and beach. The food in the hotel was excellent and so was the service. The hotel is situated on the beach and 5 minutes walk from lots of very inexpensive restaurants and shops in Sanur.

We feel that this hotel is ideal for couples of all ages. There is very little to do for children and teenages. Sanur and this hotel is very quiet and typical of traditional Bali. The beach is narrow and good for sunbathing as there is a permanent breeze.

We were looking for a relaxing holiday on a typical Balinese resort and it exceeded all our expectations. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sharlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#28 of 82 in Sanur
2,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Prime Plaza Suites
Prime Plaza Suites
#15 of 82 in Sanur
1,320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
1.5 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prama Sanur Beach Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan P.O. Box 3279, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Sanur Beach Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#20 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $73 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prama Sanur Beach Bali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 star Hotel, with two large pools located right by the beach. Magnificent lush gardens and Hotel grounds with ample choice of restaurants & shops in Resort as well as just a stroll away.Suitable for the entire family from kids to grandpa... Just 20 minutes from the International airport. There is so much activity and things to do in lovely Sanur, the preferred address in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Prama Sanur Beach Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Sanur
Beach Sanur
Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing