We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The alluring Besakih.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Besakih Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Besakih Beach Hotel
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The alluring Besakih.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from staying at the Besakih. We have stayed here many times and every time we leave I say " next time we will stay somewhere different" The fact is we did stay at the Griya Santrian next door once but, we just get drawn to staying at the Besakih because the staff are so friendly and the location is so good. The rooms are as basic as you can get and that includes the newly refurbished ones. The rooms do get cleaned everyday and you get clean sheets everyday. The breakfast is not a buffet and the choice is very limited.There really are no luxuries here. There is nothing pretentious about the Besakih, they know they are not a four or five star and they don't try to be which is evident in their prices. The meals, drinks etc. are very cheap in fact cheaper than most of the restaurants on the main street.
The Besakih has two wonderful swimming pools. One of the pools is located right on the edge of the beach, this is a great spot to relax and watch the day go by.
You will find that many people staying at the Besakih have stayed there before. I was speaking to one guest who said it was the 38th time he has stayed there. The hotel is generally frequented by mature guests. I really don't think the Besakih is good for the younger or party animal types.
If I do return to Sanur I am sure I will scour the internet looking for places to stay and probably finish up staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delboyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    210
    101
    34
    22
See reviews for
126
195
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

This was the first of several different types of accommodation that we stayed at in Bali. It's right on the beach at Sanur, which is a nice spot - not too frantic like Kuta, but not too snoozy at all. At night you can go walking along the pathway past all the other beachside hotels, and it's very beautiful and relaxing to stroll around there when the heat dies down. There are two pools, both of which were very good, and the grounds are very nice, green, pretty and well kept. Our room was a bit out-dated, the bathroom had some cracks in the tiling, but the room was secure, clean and had air-conditioning and a small fridge, and a little balcony, which was nice to sit on and listen to late night and early morning sounds!! The breakfast was a bit on the small side, and not as elaborate as other breakfasts we came across in Bali for less money, but it's a great location, especially if you want to be by the beach, or close to Kuta, Legian etc....a relatively short bemo or taxi ride away. There's plenty of shopping up on the main road from the hotel, and a large Hardy's supermarket only about 5 minutes walk away, so if you didn't want to have to leave the location at all, you'd be pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Masha555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

Perfect location, rooms a bit outdated but very clean and beds changed everyday with fresh linen.
Our air-conditioner stopped working and within 1/2 hr it was fixed. The staff were so helpful. Breakfast was great and the pool area lovely and clean.
Looking forward to going back again in 2010

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerrieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

I loved everything about staying at here. The rooms were fairly basic, though clean and adequate. The grounds were perfect for my 4 year old to run about in. The pool was adequate. Breakfast was delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was the perfect place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy07Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed from the 22nd of December to the 2nd of January. To be honest we went expecting the worst and were pleasantly surprised. Yes the hotel is dated and could do with a refurbishment but they don't claim to be a 4 star hotel. Initially we were placed in a bungalow with 2 single beds and an extra bed for our 4 year old. Was a little squishy but the reception kindly gave us another bungalow with a queen and the extra bed. We had was with the aircon which they did try and fix promptly. It never really worked properly but it was still bearable. The only other qualm was that the room service menu said it opened at 10am. Feeling a bit off colour one day and not wanting breakfast we waited till 10.15am and were abruptly told we couldn't order because they were too busy! My husband then rang and was hung up on after ordering one item and then after ringing back was also told that we couldn't order as they were busy and we had to wait till 11am to order. We ended up going out, not that we felt like it. The breakfast is fine but after 7 days we chose to try other places. The grounds are lovely and the pool over looks the beach. Betsie the dog is a character as is the pet cat. The hotel is placed in the best location amongst lots of awesome restaurants. And yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stick751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Oh my god! this was the worst place i have ever stayed. I have stayed in backpackers cleaner and newer than this. The resort is falling apart. We arrived at reception after spending a lovely few days in Ubud and was greeted with a snarl by reception staff. When my father pointed out that their reception area looked like it might have termites they replied with 'yeah, big problem here'. Why would you not do something about it. The friendliest member of staff we came across was a dog that greeted us when we got out of the car... There were termites flying all in the room. The room looked like it was 100 years old and as i was a 3rd person in the room i hade a rollaway bed.. it looked like the mattress was rotting. The bathroom made me think i would catch something if i sat on the toilet and the drain in the shower was filled with someone elses hair, so much so that the water didnt drain. The pub across the road was infested with rats, not just a few but a whole colony in the football jerseys pinned to the roof. This whole area is sleazy, dirty and vile. Would never go back to Sanur because of this experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hailz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

The proximity to the beach and of course the views across to Agung were well worth the stay at this lodging. The grounds were really nice as well as the ponds with the piranhas, koi and turtles, something special. I really enjoyed my stay here and would stay again. The negative reviews that you read on this site about this hotel is of course from people that haven't stayed in bad accommodation before, try travelling to Cuba and Mexico and see what bad is. The rooms and beds were quite adequate.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.0 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#27 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Besakih Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Besakih Beach Hotel

Property: Besakih Beach Hotel
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan No 45 | PO BOX 3306, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Besakih Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the tropical splendor of the Besakih Beach hotel. Set amongst beautifully manicured gardens 80 attractive Balinese Bungalows offer the ideal setting for you to enjoy the delights of the Bali Coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Besakih Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Besakih Beach Hotel Sanur, Bali
Besakih Beach Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing