We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Awful AWFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Besakih Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rooms are so out of date. We arrived at 1pm to be told that one of our rooms wouldnt be ready until 7pm. Not acceptable. I approached Reception on my own and was met with a VERY rude and sarcastic man telling me that there was nothing he could do and also telling me we were not checkin out until 6pm on our leaving date, I then explained that we had paid for late check out. That put him back in his box. The air cons dont work (we were in 3 rooms) the rooms are full of mozzies. The breakfast is CRAP! The location is perfect, the driver who sits in the hut out the front is wonderful, we used him twice. The Pool chairs get taken by all the oldies very early int he morning. If you are under 40 years old I would not reccommend staying here. I regret not listening to by fellow trip advisors warning me about this hotel. It left a very sour taste in our mouth. I have never come across such awfully rude reception staff in my time in bali. Please listen to this review. I would hate for you to regret your stay here like we did

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank polly95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 495 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Overall a great hotel , fantastic location BUT.....there is a small shop on the beach on the northern end of the hotel (left as you face the beach) ran by an older lady who absolutely terrorises the guests trying to relax around the beach (I saw her even around the pool area). She tries to force (with a degree of success) the hotel guests into getting massages (at way over market price) or buying clothes from her . She gets very upset when the guests say no .
Does the hotel sanction this behaviour ? I spoke to a number of guests upset with her behaviour.
All guests be very wary of her . Recommend to avoid all dealings with her . If you must MAKE SURE to set the price first and bargain hard .

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank MasTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our first stay here at the Besakih in Sanur and we weren't dissapointed. Yes the resort is ageing but for the price we paid it was great value. Located right on the beach with a lovely pool and beautiful gardens this hotel is a great base in Bali. We stayed in a standard room in the rear which was lovely and quiet. The room was old but very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The guests here are generally of the over 50's crowd but this was nice as it was a quieter than some other party hotels. Location is excellent in Sanur, everything is within walking distance to the central location. Just don't expect five star and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HVD077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is our 4th stay here over the last 25 yrs and what makes us return is the location and the fact it has retained its Balinese architucture. We stayed in a standard room in the original section at the rear of the property. The room was clean with plenty of storage. Some of the linen showed signs of aging but was changed regularly. For its age the property is well maintained with lovely gardens. Especially liked area on the beach in front of the restaurant, lots of trees for shade and never had any problems getting a sunlounge. The sunlounges around the pool seemed to full up quickly when we were there. The bulk of the guests would be of more mature age with quite a few who return regularly and are treated like friends by the staff. Lots of restaurants close by on the main road or along the beach make the Besakih a really convenient place to stay. Try and get up early and watch the sunrise, it's worth the effort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomad46wherever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just come back from Bali :( and we stayed 13 nights and it was bliss, everyone was very nice and helpful, I have read other reviews about unhelpful staff and dirty rooms, yes our rooms needed a bit of attention, but everyday other day our sheets were changed and we had fresh towels and the room was cleaned everyday, and everyone we met were lovely, we spent 3 nights in the hard rock hotel in Kuta, and our bathroom looked like it needed attention as well, but unlike the hard rock, at this one you could eat and drink your own things at the pool, the pool was a bit cold in the morning, but your right on the beach so we would use the sea in the morning and rotate between the pool and the sea, in the afternoon, we never had any issues re sunbeds, as per other comments, they have loads of sun loungers. The breakfast was really good, very good service, you could help yourself to more coffee if you wanted more, it was very relaxed and with fantastic views of the beach/sea from your seat, I cannot recommend this hotel enought, it's not a 5 star hotel but in our eyes it's not far off, I would defiantly stay there again, it had everything we needed and with a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Have a room downstairs in the main block, we got to meet so many people passing our rooms, and sayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newport68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just back from 10 days staying here. Stayed in room 241, nice room , a little dated but clean and cool with own balcony. room cleaned each day to a great standard and sheets /towels changed. Arthur, Argos and the cleaners were very friendly. no tea or coffee, but a short walk to cocomart or hardy's for snax, tea , coffee, milk and water all dirt cheap, so no problem at all. Changed over
pool towels at reception as needed. Overall great location, and a great place to stay, will be happy to go back.

Room Tip: only stayed in room 241, was nice , clean and quiet. with private balcony. good hotwater and aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aziwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at the Besakih for 10 nights, its in a great location and it was nice and quite. What will prevent us from returning to this hotel in future - the staff seemed like they didn't want to be there and were less than helpful and one woman at Reception was actually surly. Rooms weren't cleaned well and the sheets and towels were stained, on two occasions we had to request they be changed as they looked like they hadn't even been washed?)! We were give two beach towels for a 10 day stay. Breakfast was basic but fine. In the room theres no water, no tea or coffee. Its a pity because we loved the location will go elsewhere next year not good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.0 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 78 in Sanur
1,540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#32 of 78 in Sanur
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#33 of 78 in Sanur
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Besakih Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Besakih Beach Hotel

Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan No 45 | PO BOX 3306, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $68 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Besakih Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the tropical splendor of the Besakih Beach hotel. Set amongst beautifully manicured gardens 80 attractive Balinese Bungalows offer the ideal setting for you to enjoy the delights of the Bali Coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Besakih Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Besakih Beach Hotel Sanur, Bali
Besakih Beach Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing