We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give This Hotel A Chance - In Spite Of All The Other Reviews...”
Review of Gazebo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gazebo Beach Hotel
Ranked #53 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Give This Hotel A Chance - In Spite Of All The Other Reviews...”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

I was really hesitant to book this hotel after seeing all the reviews here on Tripadvisor. I decided to go to the hotel the day I was in Sanur to check out the hotel. Upon arriving, I did notice the hotel was a bit older. The lobby and hotel grounds were also quite deserted (not really a bad thing in my eyes). The grounds are massive. There are many rooms and three pools. The property is located almost in the middle of the main street in Sanur directly on the beach.

I asked the man who greeted me for a room with a kitchen. I was taken to one of the suites. The room was HUGE. The bed was HUGE. There was an entire upstairs devoted to lawn furniture. There were two fridges, a dvd player, an outdoor bathroom and a large sink area with dishes (no stove). I asked for a discount and was given a big one.

The sheets, towels and bathroom were clean. The staff are friendly and really, the breakfast is not as bad as everyone made it seem. They had toast, lots of fresh fruit, coffee/tea, (not sure if they had eggs, I didn't check), cheese, tomatoes, ham and croissants.

My recommendation is to come here and ask for a big price discount. The hotel is quiet (in terms of guests) so you can really get a GREAT deal if you negotiate. My best guess as to why guests are no longer coming here is because Gazebo use to be a grand hotel in the perfect location. Now, it is a bit tired but it is still a very clean, nice place to stay. I 100% recommend it if you can get a discount. Don't pay full price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianahuynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    89
    59
    25
    16
See reviews for
69
94
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langwarrin South. Victoria. Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We have been going to Bali for many years. We find best time of year for a holiday there is June, July and August as weather is mild to warm, balmy nights and little rain, if any.
We have stayed at a number of places in Sanur over the years, also in Ubud.
In Bali it is deffinately a case of you get what you pay for.
Gazebo has something special about it. We only came across it last year but have booked a month there for July this year.
Whilst not a five star hotel, it has everything we require for a Bali style holioday.
Reataurant opn the boardwalk next to beach. Swimming p[ool. Established and well maintained gardens. Seperate villas for peivacy and quiet times. Staff that are friemdly, courteous and well mannered that are not in your face, but are there when you require that extra something.
One of the major pluses about Gazebo is the decor and buildings itself. Traditional Balinese architecture and furnishings ensure you know you are in Bali.
Price wise it is probably bthe least expensive place we have ever stayed in in Bali, but it does not let us down with the way we like to holiday or expect from more expensive hotels.
Hanging out to get back. 86 more sleeps.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SANUR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

First trip to Bali and relied on a friend there to locate a hotel. This hotel is incorrectly rated and way overpriced. It needs total renovation or tear down and rebuild to justify the fees per night. The only redeeming feature is it is a beach frontage and the loyal staff. Staying there was so stressful, bed and pillows smelt mouldy, so did the room. The entire hotel is very dated and needing complete refurbish. If you were paying $35.00 USD per night you would be okay with it but not $80.00 and upward.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ckendrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

After yet another stay ( 15) times, the owner of this hotel certainly doesn't seem to worry about what guests think or say about it. Expecting the worst after reading the last couple of years reviews I was pleasantly surprised, the rooms haven't changed that much in three years still basic but clean, the towels need replacing both bathroom and pool but for 65.00 for a poolside bungalow what more could you ask, yes the restaurant has had it's days but if management won't spend money on good food what can the staff do which is a shame because I have had some wonderful meals there. The staff are the only reason I keep going back really, oh plus the gardens and the two complaints I had with the room were fixed instantly, pools are great and clean

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glenispc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We have just returned after our forth stay at Gazebo, and unfortunately the hotel has slipped down yet another notch. On a plus note, a great location with very dedicated and lovely staff, with some rooms being large and comfortable, but 'please', view several rooms before you check in.
Sadly, the hotel is well beyond restoring and refurbishing, despite management constantly attempting to 'band aid' repair all elements of the hotel. In light of other similar neighbouring hotel with similar rates that have raised the bar with their upgrading, ie Besakih and Santrian, Gazebo slides further down the scale. Gazebo appears to be a combination of three sites and possibly three previous hotels, rolled into one, but lacks planning rationale and sensible guest circulation. The site is extremely large and has great potential for demolition and total rebuild, but should be taken out of the hands of the current management and handed over to real professionals, who know what the international tourists expects and wants. The hotel during peak season currently appears to be only 20% occupied at the best, and the restaurant very rarely has patrons, although the beach side bar is a good draw card. So next time,..maybe somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyofiveSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We stayed in Gazebo for the 10th time. It is one of the most family friendly hotels in Bali/Sanur.
But ......
Gazebo needs some more management attention to keep it's position:
-free WIFI for hotel or restaurant guests is absolute requirment (now all guests go to Bonsai restaurant for WIFI)
-the breakfast MUST improve. Stop the smorgasbord system and go back to the breakfast as we know from 3 years back
-improve the rooms
If Gazebo will not improve we will seek other hotels. Hopefully the management will hear this message. Invest some money and you will survive. If you don't ..................
And: ..............the gardens are SUPERB. Istimewa

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

There's no free wi-fi, the rooms are a little dated, but Gazebo Beach Hotel and Cottages provides good value for money accommodation when compared to other hotels along the beach. There's three pools, and the gardens are just amazing, you could spend one entire day just ambling through.

I paid 650,000 rp a night for single accom (about $70 AUD) - my sis paid 1,125,000 RP (around $125 pn) for a 2 bedroom apartment for her family of 5.

For something cheaper, you can get a really nice room just across the road from the beach at Flashblacks, with pool and fabulous restaurant for around 150,000 RP - no aircond, bathroom shared with the room next door - or a one bedroom self-contained bungalow (with aircond) for around 450,000RP. This is much better value for money than any of the beachfront places in my opinion - but book ahead, because they're booked up months in advance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathryn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.0 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.3 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#67 of 78 in Sanur
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#27 of 78 in Sanur
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Diwangkara Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazebo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazebo Beach Hotel

Property: Gazebo Beach Hotel
Address: Danau Tamblingan No. 35 | PO Box 3134, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gazebo Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Gazebo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazebo Beach Resort
Gazebo Beach Sanur
Gazebo Beach Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing