We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here with a group of friends for 10 nights, wish we stayed more! Loved the location, staff, pool and the rooms were nice and spacious. We had the best driver called Gusti; make sure you ask for him when you stay here as he's so patient, friendly and outgoing!

We made sure to book him every day and he definitely knows of some really nice and amazing places to take you. You feel completely safe in the area and the locals are lovely. We had breakfast here every morning and loved the banana pancakes and watermelon juice; my friends said they had the best banana split ever! So close to the markets, shops, restaurants and beaches, all in all we couldn’t have asked for more and have already booked our stay here for a friend’s wedding in 2015!

Be sure to visit Ubud Markets, The Coffee Plantation, Rice Paddies of Tegalalang and Ubud, and the Elephant Safari Park when you're here. Kuta had some great shops but it's quite busy and hot so was perfect to have such a nice and relaxing place to get back to at Bumi Ayu. Jimbaran Bay & Uluwatu Blue Point were a couple of other amazing and relaxing places which we visited whilst here. Bali Safari & Marine park was also awesome and had a really nice restaurant looking at the lions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWCB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Mdm,

Thank You for spending your time to share the experienced you have at Bumi Ayu Bungalows during your recent Holiday at Bali. It's been a satisfaction to understand that overall you are satisfied and had a good time during your stay with us.

Again Thank You for sharing the experience with us and Hope your next stay with us will be as great as the previous one. We are looking forward to see you back in our humble property.

Regards,
Artha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 448 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while traveling around Bali. The room was great. Very clean and everything worked perfectly. The pool was also very nice. It's about a ten minute walk to the beach and restaurants and shops and whatnot. The only things bad was the wifi was really weak or didn't work cuz we were in a bungalow far from the source. And the hot tub near the pool was broken and seemed to have been for a long time. The grounds are very nice and well kept. I'd definitely stay here again. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osakachero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,


Thank you for your constructive comments which have been taken seriously by us and please be rest assure that Bumi Ayu Hotel will always work on it in order to provide better services and quality. We will do our best to improve our facilities.

Again Thank You for sharing the experience with us and Hope your next stay with us will be as great as the previous one.

Looking forward to see you back.

Regards,
Artha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks at beautiful Bumi. This is my second stay at Bumi this year. We went with a group of friends and had an amazing time. Once again the staff could not do enough for you. So friendly and helpful. It was lovely to be greeted by name everytime a staff member said hello. The rooms were clean and fresh. I cannot recommend Bumi Ayu enough. See you in June next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bronwyne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Mdm,

We would like to thank You for choosing to stay with Bumi Ayu Bungalows during Your recent visit to Bali and for sharing Your appreciation with us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed and had an excellent stay with us and particularly value the services we have provided .

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at Your service and we all look forward to welcoming You again soon at Bumi Ayu Bungalows.

Looking forward for May/June

Regards,
Artha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I love staying at Bumi. Large rooms with big verandahs. Lovely gardens. Friendly and helpful staff. Great pool. Close to the beach and great restaurants. Terrific value. What more can you want from a three star property? See you next May/June

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincentvincents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Mdm,

We would like to thank You for choosing to stay with Bumi Ayu Bungalows during Your recent visit to Bali and for sharing Your appreciation with us.

Your support toward local business accommodation is very well appreciated.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed and had an excellent stay with us and particularly value the services we have provided .

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at Your service and we all look forward to welcoming You again soon at Bumi Ayu Bungalows.

Looking forward for May/June

Regards,
Artha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a we'll established hotel, I was here for three nights. The first night the AC broke down, staff responded quickly & efficiently and we moved to another room. Whilst the AC worked the room had a shocking odour of mould so the next morning we asked to be moved to another room, which was done without question. There are obviously a lot of return guests here, a lot of ageing Aussies and Europeans who smoke like chimneys and love their Bintang, which is fine but not for me. I can see why people return here, it's a comfortable, affordable hotel within walking distance to Sanur beach, restaurants and shops, a nice pool and beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeMc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Our Valued Guest,

We would like to thank You for choosing to stay with Bumi Ayu Bungalows during Your recent visit to Bali and for sharing Your appreciation with us.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed and had an excellent stay with us and particularly value the services we have provided .

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at Your service and we all look forward to welcoming You again soon at Bumi Ayu Bungalows.

Looking forward to see you back as part of our family. Thank you for your support.


Regards,
Artha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We returned for a second visit after a positive but short first stay. Very happy that we did as the first experience continued. Certainly the hotel has a few rough edges but looking beyond these, the place has a very nice 'feel'. It would be interesting to know what the guest return rate is. My guess is that it is quite high, certainly many of the guests seemed to recognise each other. We stayed in a studio room which has a separate bedroom and a basic kitchen. It is located up a set of stairs which may put some people off but we enjoyed the privacy. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Afternoon tea and snacks were provided and a happy hour at the pool side bar was appreciated. Overall, a relaxing stay and great value for money.

Room Tip: Studio or super deluxe only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for spending your time to share the experienced you have at Bumi Ayu Bungalows during your recent Holiday at Bali. It's been a satisfaction to understand that overall you are satisfied and had a good time during your stay with us.

Your support toward our Hotel is very well appreciated.

Again Thank You for sharing the experience with us and Hope your next stay with us will be as great as the previous one. We are looking forward to see you back in our humble property.

Regards,
Artha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I am well aware that everyone's travelling experience will be different, and that each of us has a different perception of what we expect when we travel.
Bumi Ayu bungalows had been suggested to me by a regular visitor to Bali, so I was very disappointed upon arrival. The room I was allocated was, quite frankly, absolutely AWFUL. It was in the old section, the furniture was very old and unappealing, and it had a bad, strong odour. It was a room connected by a flimsy door to the next room, perhaps more suited to a family. There was a gap of 1 and a 1/2 inches under the door and I could hear every noise, every movement of the guest next door. If she had her TV on, I couldn't sleep. If she had her light on, it lit up my room. I did ask to be moved, but nothing else was available. The décor was, well, ghastly. A horrible old large grey print hanging on the wall was the feature. The wall-hung television was so small that I needed binoculars to see it.
The air-conditioner was loud and rattled all night. The kettle in the room took over 10 minutes to boil, and one tea bag and one coffee sachet was provided.
I fought off hordes of mosquitos all night, no spray was provided.
And if I finally did get to sleep, at 7am each morning I was woken by staff pushing laundry trolleys along a path immediately behind my room. Bang. Crash.
The bathroom was a disgrace. It was outdated and smelt.
Bottled water is not provided. Instead a foul tasting water is filled into a jug, presumably for drinking water. No thanks.
Dozens of mangy cats roam the property, a health hazard in itself.
No guest computer is provided, perhaps they don't realise that not everyone chooses to travel with a laptop.
Breakfast was the bare minimum. Not a buffet style, but a choice from the menu, and hardly enough to satisfy even the smallest appetite. Thank God for the Lilla Warung around the corner.
I thought staff were, at best, indifferent, and at worst, unfriendly and inefficient.
Phone calls are charged at outrageous prices.
There are much better properties in the immediate area at a much better rate.
I couldn't get out of there quickly enough.
Oh, and I am still waiting for my 'fruit on arrival'!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear our Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us, we are so sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with our Services and standards.

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your review with us. You can be sure that all your comments have be taken into consideration by the management.

We are regretful to read that we have failed to reach your expectation.

Regarding your comments about the trolley, some immediate actions have been taken in our operation in order to resolve this issue. As for the amenities, television and in the rooms, it is based upon our room category standardization.

With the old style rooms and furniture we tried to maintain the Bali architectural related to the Balinese culture and traditions.

Welcome fruits can be provides on request to our housekeeping or front office department.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for your negative encounter with us.
There are rooms for improvement, and your thought is a lesson for us to improve.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#39 of 82 in Sanur
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#29 of 82 in Sanur
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#13 of 82 in Sanur
758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#32 of 82 in Sanur
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Ayu Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Address: Jalan Bumi Ayu no: 8X | P.O. Box. 3511, Sanur, Denpasar 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#16 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $40 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bumi Ayu Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Ayu Bungalows designed in a comfortable Balinese style which is surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens. This beach-front bungalow style hotel offers many great modern hotel features, including a large swimming pool with kiddies pool and Pondok Bar, Coffee Shop, and Kubu Restaurant serves up various yum-for-tongue cuisines for both breakfast, luncheon, and dinner.Bumi Ayu Bungalows rooms are designed in bungalow style. All rooms are fully air-conditioned & completed with private living room, IDD phone, refrigerator, safety deposit box, and satellite TV, while the bathroom is equipped with bathtub and shower with hot and cold running waters within.Facilities available: daily laundry and room services, postal service, money-changer, babysitting, medical facilities, parking area, lobby lounge, tour information, and the on-request transports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bumi Ayu Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Bumi Ayu Hotel
Bumi Ayu Sanur
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing