We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Sanur”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay in Sanur”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent stay.
Beautiful exotic and manicured gardens.
Beautiful, clean and safe swimming pool.
Massage was not available when requested.
Great value meals.
Great service, staff very helpful and smiling.
Fruits on arrival (but had to request it at my second stay).
Free afternoon tea by the pool (wrong time advertised on the brochure).
No surprise at check in or check out.

Room Tip: All rooms seem OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bapaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear our Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments and for choosing Bumi Ayu Bungalows.

We are glad to read that overall you have enjoy your stay with us and that our hotels could meet you requirements. We are very happy to have you as part of Bumi Ayu family.

Once again thank you very much for your comments as our guests point view are the most precious source of information in order to always improve our service for future developments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    174
    52
    17
    8
See reviews for
91
177
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Recently returned from our Bali vacation and REALLY enjoyed our trip. Bumi Ayu was very central in Sanur and while it is not one of the flashest upmarket resorts, it is good value for money. It has been owned by the same family for 20+ years and has a great feel. The pool area is the hub of this resort and this area is well maintained and very clean. The superior rooms are basic and in need of a face lift but they were adequate to our needs and the bed was comfortable so what else do you really need from your room when the only time you really spend in it is to sleep. Staff were very friendly and always greeted you each day with a smile.
Overall, very pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room by the pool. Great to walk out in the morning and jump straight into the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you very much for your comments, and for all the great support.

You can be sure that your comments have been share to all our staff and it has been a great source of motivation for them.

Your comments were a great motivation in order for us to be always positively serving our values guests.

So once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments with and for all the great support.

Looking forward to welcoming back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Recently revisited after 2 years. Stayed in superior bungalow .20 and parents had 19' beautiful rooms. Staff as great as ever. Menu better than last time. Ate in twice but so many neary eateries. A must is I. Lane way Lilly's wearing...awesome.
One criticism is lack of poolside chairs and umbrellas. Some people insist on leaving towels on chairs to reserve them, then proceed to go shopping...just a small gripe. Otherwise great place central to shops, sightseeing, eateries etc. went on Bounty sunset dinner cruise. Great night. Loving Beach worth visit. Amed is peaceful and lovely

Room Tip: Poolside bungalows are lovely with beaut verandahs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaLBalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Tina,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments and for choosing Bumi Ayu Bungalows.

We are glad you have enjoy your stay with us and that our hotels could meet you requirements.
Happy to serve you as always.

Once again thank you very much for your comments as our guests point view are the most precious source of information in order to always improve our service for future developments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in July 2013 with our three children. We have been to Bali many times but this was our first stay at Bumi Ayu. What a pleasant surprise. The rooms were huge and the pool area welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was such an unexpected bonus, plenty of fresh fruit, juices to order and lovely pastries. The food we ordered around the pool every lunch time was exceptional (lumpia/nasi goreng among the best we have ever had). The rooms are serviced daily to the highest standard by lovely staff. The rate we paid for our two week stay was too good to be true and we have booked to stay again in December. We have read some negative reviews about Bumi but really couldn't fault it whatsoever (and we are very picky). Make sure you try Lilla Warung just around the corner for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments and for choosing Bumi Ayu Bungalows.

We are happy you have enjoy your stay with us and that our hotels could meet you expectation.

Once again thank you very much for your comments as our guests point view are the most precious source of information in order to always improve our service for future developments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent 11 nights at Bumi Ayu and had a great time. Location is perfect - far enough away from the crowds but close enough for convenience. Rooms are spacious, however bed was very hard. Breakfasts very good value, and happy hour bintangs by the pool a great way to spend the afternoon. Staff were helpful. Met a lot of seasoned travellers to Bali that told us we were lucky to have stumbled onto this gem on our first trip. We will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristenscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank You for spending your time to share the experienced you have at Bumi Ayu Bungalows during your Holiday at Bali.

It's been a satisfaction to understand that overall you are satisfied and had a good time during your stay with us.

Again Thank You for sharing the experience with us and Hope your next stay with us will be as great as the previous one. We are looking forward to see you back in our humble property.

Regards,
Artha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Noarlunga, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Bumi Ayu Bungalows in Sanur hasn't changed much over the last few years, this being both a great and not so great thing.
The building and pool etc are starting to show there age and get a bit run down but the overall feel of the place makes up for it ten fold.
Brilliant staff from security, gardeners, cleaners, chefs, waitresses and drivers (and all of those I forgot)
Always has a really safe laid back friendly feel to the place, like it really is a home away from home!
Always beautifully green and lush gardens!
*Thankfully they recently purchased more pool lounge chairs, so there's no longer a mad rush in the morning to get them, haha*

Room Tip: There are roughly three qualities of rooms at the Bumi with varying prices, When you arrive it may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaymei1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my second stay at the Bumi Ayu, the first was a few years ago, and I think it is time it had a clean up. I stayed 1 night in a downstairs room, then came back 3 nights later for a few nights, this time in an upstairs room by the pool. The rooms themselves are huge, and I really like the furniture, very big and chunky wood. There is either a screened patio or balcony outside each room with table and chairs. The staff are all friendly and efficient, and the location is excellent, not far from the main drag and beach, but far enough away to be quiet, and just around the corner from the Lil Warung, which is probably the best place to eat lunch or dinner in Sanur. The breakfast at Bumi Ayu is THE best value I've seen in Bali, and is excellent quality. You can fill up in the morning and you won't need much for lunch, if anything! There is always someone around day or night, so even if you want a drink or something simple at the restaurant after they close, they will get it for you. The gardens and pool are well maintained and pleasant, but one complaint would be the bathrooms and plumbing, which need upgrading. The water pressure was very low for a couple of days and the hose to the shower head was leaking at the fitting, which made it worse. I had friends also staying there, and one of their showers was even worse than mine. Management need to check the showers out and replace a few hoses, it would be a simple fix that would make a difference. I would definitely stay here again, I just hope management keep on top of things.

Room Tip: I prefer downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VintageWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#33 of 76 in Sanur
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#32 of 76 in Sanur
318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#10 of 76 in Sanur
571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#25 of 76 in Sanur
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Ayu Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Property: Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Address: Jalan Bumi Ayu no: 8X | P.O. Box. 3511, Sanur, Denpasar 80571 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#19 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bumi Ayu Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Ayu Bungalows designed in a comfortable Balinese style which is surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens. This beach-front bungalow style hotel offers many great modern hotel features, including a large swimming pool with kiddies pool and Pondok Bar, Coffee Shop, and Kubu Restaurant serves up various yum-for-tongue cuisines for both breakfast, luncheon, and dinner.Bumi Ayu Bungalows rooms are designed in bungalow style. All rooms are fully air-conditioned & completed with private living room, IDD phone, refrigerator, safety deposit box, and satellite TV, while the bathroom is equipped with bathtub and shower with hot and cold running waters within.Facilities available: daily laundry and room services, postal service, money-changer, babysitting, medical facilities, parking area, lobby lounge, tour information, and the on-request transports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bumi Ayu Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Bumi Ayu Hotel
Bumi Ayu Sanur
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing