We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, wonderful service, great people and a beautiful friendliness”
Review of Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went to Bali for 3 weeks and stayed at Bumi Ayu for 5 nights upon arriving. We loved it so much that we decided to come back and stay for our final week. The staff here are wonderful and incredibly accommodating from management, reception restaurant, house keeping and the gardeners. The rooms are spacious and clean and the private balconies are great to enjoy a coffe a drink or a very quiet dinner. The restaurant is casual and the food is great value. The 3 swimming pools are ideal. A large one a medium one and a small one for our 3 year old. The guests are also lovely and friendly.
Bumi Ayu is close to everything, the shops, restaurants, markets and the beach, yet strategically located to feel like a peaceful Oasis. Needless to say, we loved Bumi Ayu and whenever we return to Bali we will definitely stay here and arrange all our visits to other parts of Bali as trips as it is a maximum of an hour away from anywhere you wish to visit. A huge thank you for making our stay a memorable one despite the strain of a 10 month old and a 3 year old.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Raaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 437 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Recently stayed at the bumi ayu again as we have stayed many times in the past. We again found it to be friendly clean and excellent value for money. There have been some improvements to facilities since we were last there and this all adds to the enjoyment of the stay. The Bumi Ayu is not like a lot of 4 star hotels I have stayed in. it does NOT charge for room service or a 15 per cent service charge or exorbitant prices for Bintans and the like. It also has free Wi Fi unlike other larger hotels that charge you for this service. If you want a peaceful, value for money and friendly holiday I would not go past the Bumi.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
9  Thank Shez54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our family has stayed at Bumi Ayu several times; it's located in a quiet area and the layout of the property makes it feel relatively private. However, if you're after a luxe resort, this is not for you. While the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, it's not modern or immaculately maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We'll stay again and think it's good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I have just come back from an 8 day stay at Bumi Ayu Bungalows. This is not our first stay here but the first we have been dissatisfied with. The hotel itself, the grounds, staff and rooms are well worth the asking price. The breakfast if included in price does become very monotonous same every day. The rooms are very clean with small, but new, flat screen tvs but no dvd to watch one of the cheap movies on a quiet night in. The fridge freezer is a small unit but keeps the Bintangs nice and cold. The pool is always well maintained and pleasant to sit around and make conversation with other guests. The beds are quite new and still firm and comfortable. If you would like your breakfast, lunch or dinner in your room or by the pool you only need to ask. These are the positives and most of the aspects of this hotel are positive the BIG NEGATIVE though is the luck of the draw as to which room you get. We stayed in room 37 which is one of a series of rooms running along a minor access road and living in the laundry complex on the opposite side of the road are several dogs which love to spend the night howling like wolves and then engage in full on vicious fighting with any other dog which may venture past. If you want sleep in these rooms ensure you are deaf or bring plenty of earplugs which don't really work because of the volume of these dogs. I came for a rest and went home extremely tired from a lack of sleep. What can be done about these dogs I don't know but I believe intending patrons should be made aware of what there in for. A substantial discount for one of these rooms on the $60AU we paid may be a good start. A tip for the cheapest BINTANGS in Sanur see Ketut at the little shop on the left at the very top of Bumi Ayu lane just before the main street and don't forget to buy her little boy who i named Maganum his favourite icecream a magnum. Oh the large bintang price 21900rp what a bargain.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms along the road/laneway to the northern side of the hotel complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank balifanron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great property at a very reasonable rate. Staff are very attentive. Included a good breakfast & tea & coffee making in the room. Our room was large & clean. Beautiful gardens. Just need more pool lounges & foam covers as not enough for guests. Will stay again next time. Great little eatery called Lilla Warung along the lane to Bumi Ayu.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The rooms were average, outside bathroom, hot and cold water. The pool area is nice, although they didn't have enough lounge chair for everyone, we had to lay on the ground the first day but when we told them, the next day they brought more in. Breakfast not bad. You're a short walk to the main road and from there the beach. It's kinda off in a strange area but you avoid the noisy street. Safe place though and they will call a taxi for you if you'd rather not walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swinters88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Loved the friendly relaxed atmosphere. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Room was just perfect with easy access to pool. Very clean and fresh. Great pool in garden surroundings. Close to all that Sanur has to offer. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and can't wait til our next stay. Thank you for the great hospitality.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank EdersP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#38 of 79 in Sanur
484 reviews
1.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#29 of 79 in Sanur
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#28 of 79 in Sanur
283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#13 of 79 in Sanur
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Ayu Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Address: Jalan Bumi Ayu no: 8X | P.O. Box. 3511, Sanur, Denpasar 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#19 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $41 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bumi Ayu Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Ayu Bungalows designed in a comfortable Balinese style which is surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens. This beach-front bungalow style hotel offers many great modern hotel features, including a large swimming pool with kiddies pool and Pondok Bar, Coffee Shop, and Kubu Restaurant serves up various yum-for-tongue cuisines for both breakfast, luncheon, and dinner.Bumi Ayu Bungalows rooms are designed in bungalow style. All rooms are fully air-conditioned & completed with private living room, IDD phone, refrigerator, safety deposit box, and satellite TV, while the bathroom is equipped with bathtub and shower with hot and cold running waters within.Facilities available: daily laundry and room services, postal service, money-changer, babysitting, medical facilities, parking area, lobby lounge, tour information, and the on-request transports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bumi Ayu Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Bumi Ayu Hotel
Bumi Ayu Sanur
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing