We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Klumpu Bali Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Klumpu Bali Resort
Ranked #3 of 134 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Hi
The Klumpu, was a very very agreeable little discovery, and from my perspective added a great deal of value to a 8 day stay in Bali, despite the fact it was full on rainy season, and the sun was unfortunately a rarely seen stakeholder in the holiday.

Nestled away just of a side road about 200 metres from a side road, the Klumpu, brings together smart design, reasonable pricing, peace and tranquility, high standards of service, and a flavour of the traditional. The property comprises around 8 stylish villas, clustered around a pool, with a terraced dining area.


The service was fine, and despite the number of clients, the food service was always a pleasant enough experience, with a real care and attention paid to delivery.

Sanur itself is not a place for wild nights out or a "bender weekend" but is a reasonable compromise between touristic comforts and local charm, and logistically a good base for exploration of Bali, the beach is 15 mins walk from the Klumpu, or 5 if you rent some wheels.


Highly recommended and destined to be a sought after bolt hole I imagine

Cheers

Room Tip: They are all of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank personanongrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the effort to write this review on tripadvisor. We are verry happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Klumpu. As we are a a small resort our focus lays on service and hospitality.
I have to say you have described Sanur perfectly and i agree totally of your description of Sanur.

Thank you visiting us and all the best for you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    51
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
135
144
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here with our 2 girls 13 and 11 and could not find fault. Peaceful, beautiful clean pool, tastefully appointed rooms, delicious breakfast and value for money. At the end of a busy day rafting, waterbom parking or just shopping it felt like walking into our own little slice of paradise. We spent more time than we normally do just lazing around the pool. Tucked away behind the hustle and bustle of Sanur it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timjanelongmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello,

First of all, thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to hear you find it a relaxing place to spend your holiday time with your family.

You are welcome back anytime in the next future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed four nights at Klumpu after finding this resort on Booking.com. This is a wonderful secret oasis in Sanur that I would recommend to those who don't like the big resort/hotel experience, but do enjoy understated luxury, friendly personalised service, privacy and peace.

We stayed in a loft villa with our teenage son sleeping upstairs. Small touches that make this resort special: tropical fruit basket on arrival, complimentary massage, small kitchenette, unlimited bottled water and a good selection of recent movies to watch.

The rooms are very modern but with traditional Balinese decorative items and furnishing. The lagoon pool is clean and a central feature. Breakfast is a choice from a set menu but enough variety to keep you interested. The coffee served is very good - probably the best we have had in Asia.

Within 10 minute walking distance of this resort are a variety of restaurants and shops - including Bali Deli ( imported food - if you are hanging out for some cheese or wine ) and Hardy's store. The beach is probably a 15-20 minute walk.

The hotel offers airport pickup on arrival which we did not utilise, but to our surprise on check out they offered to transport us to Ubud ( our next destination ) in lieu of this, for an additional R10,000. The helpfulness of this gesture was much appreciated and we considered this good value.

If there is one thing about this resort that makes it, it is the staff who from the moment of check in to check out ,were friendly, attentive and polite at all times making us feel welcome and relaxed. I would recommend this resort to couples and families.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzfamilyPerthHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the effort to write an extended review about Klumpu Bali Resort. Our coffee blend is custom made and roasted by Kopi Bali. specially for Klumpu. We try to give you the 'home' feeling with our whole team, as seen in your review we accomplished that. Thank you again and all the best in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, my choice was based on the reviews on TA. And I wasn't dissapointed. The Klumpu- resort is an excellent stay for a relaxing holiday. Great helpfull staff. If you are looking for excellent place and value for money place in South East Bali, consider Klumpu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rana197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay as you expected from the reviews on tripadvisor. Thank you for choosing Klumpu Bali Resort and welcome back anytime in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Based on TA reviews we booked Klumpu for seven nights for two families and we were truly delighted.

Klumpu is based in Sanur only a short walk to the beach. Area has some nice eating places and shops.

Don't be disheartened by appearance of Jl Kesari which is a very narrow allay because Klumpu will truly surprise you.

It is a small resort , very beautifully and tastefully done. Villas are beautiful, cleaned every day of the stay. Pool is very nice. Staff is very attentive and courteous at all times. On number of occasions staff went out of the way to help us. Food is superb and very well priced, though set breakfast menu gets boring after a few days.

We were allowed to check in early and check out late without any extra charges. My friend for whom I made the booking kept complimenting me on the perfect choice of the hotel.

In a nutshell, we could not have been happier and will highly recommend Klumpu Bali Resort to other families. Stay at Klumpu was truly memorable and a highlight of our visit to Bali.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Also thank you for your beautiful pictures of our resort, this helps the future guests to make there decision to choose for Klumpu Bali Resort.
We are happy we achieved your expectations for both of the families.

If we can our assist our guests with an early check in or an late check out we will do, depending on the occupancy of our villas. We try to make it our guests as easy as possible and it not our vision to charge always money to make your stay more pleasant.

Thanks again for your review, we recently upgraded our breakfast to a selection of 4 breakfast sets, if you have any suggestions for the breakfast we are always happy to hear your suggestions.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Klumpu Bali Resort is perfection. Beautiful villas, spectacular grounds, superbly friendly and efficient staff. Great food. They helped us arrange daily tours. They made us feel that our villa was our home! I cannot imagine a better location, a better staff, a better experience. If you are considering a vacation in Bali, forget congested and over developed Kuta and Seminyak(you may as well go to Miami), book the Klumpu in lovely and quiet Sanur. You will thank me!!!!!

Room Tip: Only eight villas, so no such thing as a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmurray7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. One of our main goals is to let the guests feel them 'like home'. As seen in your review we accomplished that, that is very big compliment for us, thank you !!

Thank you for staying with us and all the best for you.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at klumpu for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon trip and loved every second at klumpu. The.small resort itself is beautiful and very carefully looked after every day. The rooms were beautiful and had everything we needed. The staff were superb, very attentive, friendly, polite and always happy to help. We needed the doctor during our stay and the staff made it so easy, calling the doctor out and putting his bill on the room as we were short of cash. The little touches make this place excellent - the afternoon tea, the turning down service, the free shuttle to the airport. We would highly recommend to couples and families and we would definitely return to this place. A little piece of heaven.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lauracrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your positive comments about our resort. We are pleased to hear it worked well finally with the doctor on call. We try to make our resort the most easy going experience for you so you can really enjoy your holiday.

You are welcome back any next time in the future to stay with us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.8 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
1,445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.7 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klumpu Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klumpu Bali Resort

Property: Klumpu Bali Resort
Address: Jln. Kesari 16B | Bali, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Klumpu Bali Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Decorative, Convenient & Charming… Klumpu Bali Resort is not just a resort, but a second home re-imagined in a beautiful exotic dream. Perfect for both couples and families as well for those looking for a small romantic resort getaway, ideally located in the heart of Sanur. 8 Charming villa’s are completely hand crafted by local wood workers and represent the traditional lumbung style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Klumpu Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klumpu Bali Resort Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing