We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!!!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelato Secrets

Gelato Secrets
Ranked #6 of 17 Dessert in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: The secrets of our products are LOVE and PASSION for GELATO. The creation of Gelato Secrets is a way for us to share it with others.Inspired from the childhood memory and love for GELATO, Maria & Carlo Lentini bring this wonderful dessert to Bali with the authentic taste from Italy and a twist of best ingredients in the island. Savour this wonderful combination of tastes and discover the art of Gelato.
busselton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yum!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This small gelato shop at the front of Hardy's is easy to overlook, however if you do notice it forget the kids stuff and try the chocolate chili gelato, WOW it packs a punch but not so hot that you can't appreciate the chocolate. If you are unsure of your chili muscles the delightful young man serving will give you a sample.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evsholidaytale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best sorbets ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

These guys have many sorbet options which are all dairy free but they taste amazing. The chocolate sorbet you struggle to taste the difference compared to dairy ice cream.

Helpful?
Thank Lteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had like 4 kinds and I have to say the pistaccio was one of the best I've ever had! The others were also good but I'm a pistaccio lover:)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiguelCZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome gelato, great selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Awesome gelato, loved the huge selection of flavours. Cinnamon was my favourite, but also snickers and lime sorbet was a hit combo. Addictive and awesome :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Musiukaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Actually not that tasty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I am an icecream fanatic and coconut fan. So i was pleased that they had coconut ice. However it didn't tasted like coconut and the structure was too smooth. And i think that the price for one scoop is far too high. Especially in Bali where everything is much cheaper than in Europe. But one scoop is 20000 rp, while in my hometown you can have really tasty coconut ice for one euro (15000). So I don't recommnd this place and I am still loooking for some good coconut icecream in sanur.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelholic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Owner at Gelato Secrets, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Travelholic80,

Thank you for your visit to our shop. However, there is a misunderstanding here since the coconut flavour that we make is a sorbetto and does not contain any dairy. Since you mention that you are a coconut gelato lover, I think that you know that gelato is made with milk and cream. Instead of using cow milk and cream, we replace it with coconut milk to have the original flavour of the coconut itself. Therefore, it is much different than what you had consumed in Europe. The texture is smoother and less heavy since we do not put dairy and desiccated coconut (to have the coarse flavour).

Regarding to our price of Rp 20.000 per scoop (including ppn), It is not much more expensive that the one in Europe. If you go to a good gelateria in Italy, the price is much more expensive than what we offer, and you will have a smaller portion. Moreover, we are using premium cream and fresh milk, which we import from outside Indonesia since we cannot find it produced locally here. Therefore, our cost is higher with import tax and transport. Also, we produce a quality Italian gelato and use Italian gelato maker machines, which also imported directly from Italy.
Therefore, I would like to inform you that to produce a quality gelato in Bali it is not cheap.

Please give me a message at contact@gelatosecrets.com and we would be pleased to make coconut gelato for you and meet you to have your feedback. I am sure that we can produce a good coconut gelato that you are looking for in Sanur.


Best regards,

Maria L
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Secrets also viewed

 
Sanur, Denpasar
 

Been to Gelato Secrets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing