We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best culinary experience we had in Sanur”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mila's Warung - CLOSED

Mila's Warung
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Description: Owner and chef Mila creates back-to-roots Central Javanese soul food with subtle and complex flavours using ingredients sourced from villages close to her childhood home. Highlights include Tumis Acar (Cucumber and carrots fried with korokele and hazelnut), Gudeg Jogja (young jack fruit stewed in coconut milk), Sup Lodeh (pumpkin and long beans in a coconut milk base with galangal and kencur) and Terong Balado (eggplant mixed with sambal). Mila's Warung is a vegetarian friendly restaurant, with a wide selection of vegan renditions of Central Javanese dishes. The restaurant is located in a traditional Balinese house decorated with Javanese folk art. Hours: 12:00 pm – 9:30 pm, Mon-Sat. Closed Sunday. Cash only.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best culinary experience we had in Sanur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great food, super cheap, very vegetarian friendly and an enthusiastic and attentive staff. We ended up over ordering because of comments on trip advisor about portion sizes, the lesson was that unless you expect boatsized plates then the portions are very reasonable. I think a good rule of thumb would be to share and order one dish more than the number of people at your table. We did plus two dishes amd were stuffed. Not that I was complaining about it with such quality on offer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bpworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    16
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

very small restaurant, but feel homy. foods was delicious but small portion, it would be better if increase the portion. friendly service and owner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petersumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The holy grail of genuine homecooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We absolutely loved our visit to this homely haven in the back streets of Sanur. The setting, the service and the food were all exceptional. The restaurant is set up in Mila's home and it has a delightfully quaint atmosphere. The presentation and quality of the meals is unbelievable value. Can't recommend it enough. This is the holy grail of genuine homecooking. An absolute foodie treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ajvasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly owner, good food, thank u!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Went here last couple of weeks with my partner. The steam fish was nice, the beef steak was fine. The price is the exact same like any other restaurants / warung in Sanur. Anyway, the owner was so friendly and chatty, make us feel so comfy. Good explanation, good service. Little cute balinese house.
Will be back!

Aud

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“great food very small portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

yes this is a really nice warung, the food was delicious, it seems to be a normal price, here in bali around $6.00 for a meal and a drink.

the staff are also very friendly:)

my only observation is that, the meals a very small, i'm a western guy and not a big eater at all, yet when i see the meal sizes at a lot of these warungs, i look in dismay. really to feel full i need 2 meals, and that brings the price up to like $10 which i think is expensive for a developing country.

rice is a very inexpensive input, so i wonder why the portions are so small? i asked for a larger portion once and they gave it, but from then on they charged for 2 portions of rice, i really hate it when nasi is extra, and then to be charged double, for just an average sized portion when most warungs it's included is annoying, there are other warungs in sanur that serve the same quality and price and include nasi so i go to those now :)

i own some cafes in jakarta and whenever a western guy orders a meal at those places we always increase the portions by around 25%, then they are happy, and always comment that's it's great to get a decent sized meal for once, and they come back again and again...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veryedgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mila's Warung also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing