We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very inexpensive but high quality meals”

Warung Coconut Tree
Ranked #23 of 433 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very inexpensive but high quality meals”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had just arrived in Sanur after a 20+-hour flight and were hungry. Looking for a place to eat along the main street in Sanur, we decided that in absence of any research on where to eat, we would look for a place with customers (although at 5 pm it was really too early for the dinner crowd). Coconut Tree was almost full (it is very small, though). While nothing to look at, Coconut Tree serves organic fruits and vegetables and cooks meals from scratch. Their Ayam Betutu (a very popular Balinese chicken dish) must be ordered the day before and it is a real treat. For traditional Balinese food, Coconut Tree is worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kayg23451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    222
    63
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

What a wee gem we found!
The beers are cold and the nasi goreng is very flavoursome
Don't miss this place!

Cost $10 for 2 beers, 2 watermelon juices and nasi goreng!
Big servings so one nasi goreng is plenty between the two of us!

Helpful?
Thank Emmam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great little eating place or stop for a beer and some music”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a great little eating place, the ood we had here was super and very cheap, well cooked local food with the options of burgers and sandwiches. BBQ Chicken with rice and salad freshly cooked was £2.25p! Beer was cold excellent and plentiful.............A Perfect Lunchtime stopping place.
If you are lucky and the bars not too busy you may just get live music and singing thrown in, Brilliant little stopping place, Dont miss it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mta1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Balinese food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I ate here twice whilst in Sanur. They offer reasonably priced authentic Balinese food aswell as a burger menu. The food was great in our opinion, and they also offer a good selection of drinks including cocktails.

The staff were very friendly and polite. This place has a laid back feel - it's open to the street and has good music playing.

We enjoyed our experience on both nights and left feeling full and happy.

Helpful?
2 Thank ThatViki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cheap and good food but not impressive”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We ate here because of the good reviews on TA. They have almost the same menu as warung little bird. But they have less vegetarian options as little bird. We had ordered nasi goreng and fried noodles. Food was ok. The starter (fried tempe) was too dry. They should have had cocunut milk to make a milkshake but they hadn't any.
Waiter was friendly but does not speak very much english.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelholic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Coconut Tree also viewed

 
 

Been to Warung Coconut Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing