We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast Boat to Lembongan”
Review of Ocean Star Express

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ocean Star Express
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fast Boat to Lembongan”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

30 minutes fast boat over to Lembongan Island. Sat inside the boat on the way there which was very comfortable. on the way back we sat on top which was a refreshing experience. saw Dolphins on the way out which was an added bonus!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank graysami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    8
    8
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A poor way to get to a great place”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked a day trip to Nusa Lembongan through an Agent.
We read the information and chose Ocean Star Express.
They were cheaper than the Bali Hai Cruises and seemed to suit what we wanted to do at the times we wanted.
We were told we would be picked up at 7am for the transfer from our hotel to Sanur. At 7.30 we called to find out where they were and were informed they are running late from picking up other passengers. When the bus arrived it was 45 minutes late with no other passengers on it. We picked up another couple nearby then spent another hour driving up and down the streets of Seminyak looking for the hotel of the 3rd couple. They were staying in one of the larger hotels on a main street. Not that hard to find. Everyone had been told they would be picked up at 7am.
Then we had the mad dash to get to Sanur to make the 9am boat.
Which doesn't actually leave at that time.
Typically of ports in Indonesia it is semi-organised chaos. Over the last 20 years I have visited Indonesia very two years on average and this seems to almost be a charm of the ports.
We did get on our boat which left over half an hour late.
Included in out ticket was a tour we had booked which included snorkelling (good), boat tour of the mangroves (nothing arranged, just turned up at the mangroves and they walked around looking for a boat and someone to steer it), the seaweed farm (the views are great but that's about it) and a cave tour (not for the tall or claustrophobic) but still interesting.
We were told to be back at the port by 3.00pm as the boat would be leaving about 3.30. (Although the ticket said 4pm)
After 4pm still no sign of the boat. A few of us asked the Staff who had basically has no idea when the boat would arrive.
Finally I got an answer out of a Staff member with a two way radio.
He said 'petrol finished'
Now if you have travelled around Indonesia you will know 'finished' means 'run out'.
The boat was refuelled in calmer waters before coming into the port.
Once aboard at about 5.20 The engines wouldn't start. We slowly drifted out of he port.
Once again Staff not keeping people informed. The engines would fire up then shut down after a small time.
Crew were yelling from one end to the other and the Captain was just sitting in his chair shrugging his shoulders. Some kind of make shift repairs were made to the engines to get them operating at what seemed like 50% capacity.
Fumes from the fuel filled the cabin for the entire return trip and the 'fast luxurious' boat it certainly was not.
Life jackets under every seat? Nice to have the sticker. Actually having life jackets would have been better.
We putted back to Sanur where our transfers back to the hotel were as poorly organised as the pick ups.
Nusa Lembongan is a beautiful island and just getting there on a better boat and hiring a scooter would have been a better option.
If you want to do extras i would suggest paying the extra and going with one of the bigger operators.
I wish I had something positive to say about Ocean Star Express but I just don't.

Helpful?
2 Thank MikeandSandra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We got from point A to B”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The boat was a little smaller than some of the others, so the waves in the rainy season were a little rough. Our driver was late to pick us up by 45 min. But we made it on the boat with no problems. We also booked a trip back to Bali from Gili Air. We were told to go to their office the morning we left. They don't have an office, so we just started asking people at the harbour. We eventually found the guy wondering around. He said their boat wasn't running that day, so he made arrangements for us to join another boat. We made it where we needed to be, just had some hiccups along the way.

Helpful?
Thank JGG112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great way to Lembongan”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Way a good boat trip to Lembongan with Ocean Star, All I can suggest for those looking to do the same, is go directly to the beach where they have an office and they launch the boats from to purchase your ticket, you will find it so much cheaper.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alby2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good safe trip to Nusa Lembongan”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Ocean Star Express was a good choice for our trip to Nusa Lembongan. The hotel pick up was prompt, and the fast speedboat felt generally pretty safe. There were enough life vests on board for everyone, with an option of sitting above deck in good weather.

Our guesthouse was very close to the ferry docks on the northernmost end of the beachwalk, so we later realized we could have easily walked instead of waiting for the pick up van to stop at three or four hotels and collect more passengers in the morning.

While we were assured our scheduled departure time was 9:00am, and the pick up van collected us at 7:30, we were a bit disappointed to find that the boat did not leave until 10:30, arriving in Nusa Lembongan around 11:10. It seems most passengers wait in a cafe between the Ocean Express office and the beach port, where you can see when your boat is ready. All the other boat operators also claim to have earlier departure times, but we did not see any leave before us, and we were observing from 8am to 10:30am. Perhaps departure times are more dependent on staff or when the boat is filled. Ocean Express was indeed the first boat to leave, albiet at 10:30am not at the advertised 9am.

For day trippers - bear in mind the schedules change according to the tides and the staff on the island, so your printed schedules may not be correct. We arrived back at the Ocean Star Express office at 3:20, expecting to catch the last boat back to Sanur at 4:00pm, only to be informed by the dismayed operators that the boat had left at 3! They were very gracious and put us on a boat with the Gili Cat operators, but the situation would have been more problematic if we had been unable to get a ride back to Sanur that evening. Double check with the Ocean Star office on the departure time when you arrive, and do not be late.

Overall the tricky timing was not a problem, and we were happy with the good safe trip to Nusa Lembongan.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SLOAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Star Express also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Star Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing