We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the Santrian Suites and you will be delighted”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Stay in the Santrian Suites and you will be delighted”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in January 2011. Got upgraded to a Santrian suite – these rooms are magnificent. Huge bedroom and sitting room Similar sized bathroom and dressing room. Think we got upgraded as I had booked a renovated room, so make sure you do this - don't just go for the chepaest option.

This hotel benefits from being Indonesian run as the staff tend to be more easy going and friendly than the Western run which seem to emphasise training over a local welcome.

The three pools are great, there is a front main pool and bar. The middle pool is very stylish with water features. The back pool is a glamorous simple minimalist pool.

Breakfast was a special $5 offer, it was pretty good. Definitely enough of a range of fruit and hot offerings for us, situated in the restaurant right on the beach. Don’t miss the beach barbeque on Monday night. Room service was excellent the first night we arrived. The hotel is well located on the beach and just a quick walk to the Sanur shops.

Hire one of the hotel bikes and ride the boardwalk. The middle of the day is not a bad option as there are less people around when it’s hot.

Overall we would rate this hotel very highly. Our room was beautiful and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Only drawback was I was travelling with a teenager and Sanur is a place for younger families and older couples. I wanted to go back there again after 20 years to see how it had changed. My daughter liked it but for her it didn’t have the vibe of Seminyak and Legian.

So if you are looking for a quieter place in Bali then Sanur is definitely it and the Griya Santrian a beautiful option. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    525
    129
    43
    14
See reviews for
378
750
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

we stayed at the Griya Santrian for five nights . The first room we were escorted to (which we had booked in advance) was old tired and a little worn out (just like me).It also had a mouldy smell To be frank the room was not up to standard and we felt like we had to see if we could upgrade. People on here before have stated the response from reception staff to the request to be upgraded was that we had already been upgraded ( would hate to see the room we were originally programmed for if this was the case.) We were told however for a US$35 per night fee that we could have a deluxe room.after a discussion we negotiated the fee down to US$30) per night. This room was clean modern and welcoming. What a difference!!!!
The price we paid for the room did not include breakfast (at US$16 for breakfast this would have been a rip off)but the hotel offered a scaled down version of the buffet breakfast that was only US$5 + taxes which was very good value for money
Its walking distance to the major shopping centre (Hardy s) and has plenty of very adequate restaurants close by (we preferred Mona Lisas)
All in all staff were friendly,gardens superb and we had a good time there. Would stay again but only in the deluxe modern rooms

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrchrisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Griya Santrian for holidays over the last twenty years,over the years we have noticed that Aussie’s don’t have breakfast included in the room rate and have to pay an extra US$12 p/p for the privilege, where as Europeans have b/fast included in the room rate. When we queried this discrepancy with hotel management we were told it was because of “different markets”. However, even if you book the holiday with an Indonesian Agency, the rate Aussies pay is higher than for Europeans, therefore Griya’s policy is based on “Race” not “Markets”.
We believe that this policy is unfair and that Griya and Puri Santrian Management should reconsider their position. Unfortunately for us, as a matter of principle we won’t be staying at Griya unless this discriminatory policy is dumped.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinceandmarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

on arrival at 12noon were told no room avilable till 7pm as occupants had paid for late checkout ,after a little discusion we were given a suite till 7pm not a good idea because we could not unpack . Breakfast not a big selection and the cold bacon heaped on a plate beside the egg frying station was not acceptable tables were never set properly every morning we had to ask for sugar and teaspoons, 1umbrella to four chairs around the pool meant two people on the outside were sitting in the sun ,stray dogs around the pool and the staff didnt seem to bother about them on checking out i asked for the bill and was double charged for drinks at new year took half hour to sort it out,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haggis27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I changed our hotel to Griya - best decision. We stayed in a deluxe room near the beach and I walked around the hotel with a big grin for the week taking in everything. I dont think the photos do justice to the place.
The best part about the hotel is having breakfast on the beach - unbelievable, bintangs on the big lounges near the beach, cocktails in the pool bar, the excellent service from all the staff, position of the hotel and being the best hotel to stay in Sanur.
We ate at the hotel, Mona Lisa, Bonsai (on the beach), Pregina Warung, Cafe Smorgas and the Village.
The best Spa place is the pink shop called Natande Spa opposite Hardys.
We will definetely be coming back to Griya.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnarvon, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

My friend and I travelled to Bali on the 5th Jan my 6th trip her 1st we book the Griya because it was on the beach and not to big (I have stayed at the Mercure-and enjoy that too) on arriving it was night so only formed an impression while dark but very satified with our room- we had read some negative reports - but we were happy we stay at the Griya for 14days the staff were fantastic the service was great the retaraunts and pools were great if anyone is going to bali Sanur I dont reckon you could go wrong with this hotel while there we had a look at other hotels the Griya still came up trumps in our eyes

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janCarnarvonwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Lovely hotel, we stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms which was close to the pool, it was very spacious, airconditioning was brilliant and decor was very trendy.

The service was great also along with te internet service.

Only bad part was that they didn't include breakfast at a"reasonable" cost - You could have it, but it was way over priced. It was far cheaper to walk out the front and wander along the beach or the back road to find something to eat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 78 in Sanur
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing