We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgious Griay Santrian Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgious Griay Santrian Hotel”
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed at the Griya Santrian Hotel for the second time in October 2010 and absolutely loved it again! We looked at all the Hotels on Sanur and definitely found this on the best, beautiful gardens/grounds and pools (3!) and very friendly staff . It's definitely worth to include the breakfast, the food is lovely, heaps of choice buffet and eggs anyway you like. never ending coffee etc and all that in a beautiful setting overlooking the beach and the ocean. There are heaps of restaurants in the nearby street to choose from and a big Hardy's supermarket nearby. If you want to stay at a beautiful hotel in Sanur do yourself a favour and stay at the Griya Santrian Hotel!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank vossie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    512
    127
    43
    14
See reviews for
368
726
54
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary, I can only say one word, fabulous, all the staff are helpful and very friendly, the rooms are immaculate, we got a deluxe room to celebrate our anniversary, and it was cleaned every day. The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous, and the gardeners are out every day tidying up, we were so impressed with this hotel it has got to be one of the niciest my husband and I have ever stayed in, and the location is fantastic with restaurants and bars all right outside, we will definetely be back, we loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christinefeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Its a long way from the UK but definately worth it! Staff - very friendly, helpful and not intrusive.We had a deluxe stand alone room which was a little dated but very clean & comfortable with a nice patio.Towels changed daily & sheets every other day, As we were room only the fridge & kettle were useful. I recommend "Mona Lisa" across the road for breakfast and in fact for all meals. "Massimo" for the best Italian cuisine. We tried a few eating places and never had a bad meal. We sunbathed at the Garden Pool which was very close to our room and never had any problems getting a sunbed, the staff are sweeping the leaves up constantly and it was a lovely relaxing area with a spa too. The gardens are magnificent.
The hotel location was superb and we got around by using the drivers who hang around outside the hotel. Met some lovely people mainly from Australia who helped us have a wonderful vacation. Great shops - especially "Tina Boutique" across the road and the spa next to it for very cheap treatments.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ManCityfan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed at Griya Santrian in October. We are a couple in our forties, travelling without kids. My husband is a surfer and I just enjoy relaxing and reading by a beautiful pool when we're on holidays. This was our fourth trip to Bali - in the past we've always stayed in Legian but decided to try Sanur as more often than not we'd end up hiring a driver and coming to Sanur for surf.

In making my bookings the Griya team were very responsive and I arranged transport from the airport via email. As we were arriving late at night I was pretty keen to make sure we had someone waiting for us and this all went without a hitch - our driver was waiting with our name and quickly had us in the car and on the way to Sanur. Upon arrival, the Griya Reception team were waiting for us and welcomed us.

We had a beach wing room which was OK but not flash. The room was clean, the mattress was comfortable and the linen was good - the bathroom was in a bit of a need of attention and the TV didn't work very well but all in all the room was OK. The location of the room was ideal in terms of access to the beach.

The service we received whilst at Griya was fine - quite professional. There were no issues. However, this is probably where we felt we didn't get the true Bali experience - the staff were polite however were not interested in making conversation or getting to know you - in other hotels we've learnt about the staff and their families and culture, and they have learned our names and by the time we've left have felt like we were both welcome and also friends. We didn't get this at Griya. I'm not sure if it's part of their training to be more 'polite and professional', or if it's the nature of Sanur but we didn't walk away feeling like we'd left home.

The other guests at Griya tended to be Europeans and older couples who, whilst I know I'm generalising here, didn't tend to socialise and kept to themselves. This meant drinks around the bar and the opportunity to chat with new people just didn't happen, and that's something we really enjoy when on holidays - we don't do the nightclub scene but we still like to have a social drink and chat. Didn't find this at Griya.

The facilities at Griya were great - the pool tiles could have been a bit cleaner but the water was clear, the gardens were immaculate and the restaurant served great food and drinks. We didn't use the free internet as everytime we went there both PCs were in use!

We had initially booked our entire 2 week stay at Griya but Sanur was so quiet and there was no swell so we cancelled after four nights and went to Legian. Griya was terrific about this and didn't charge us a cancellation fee. You'll read plenty of posts about Sanur being quiet but we really had no idea just how dead it would be after 9pm at night. You could walk out into the streets to find a bar with some people in it, or perhaps some music if you were very lucky, but you had to walk past heaps of shops that were closed and felt like you were walking thru a ghost town.

In summary, Sanur was just not for us however it may well be the holiday you are after. If you're definitely wanting nothing more than a pool and a bed then you can't go past the Griya - based on the other resorts we walked past I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelee1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Spent a week at the GS staying in a garden room adjacent to one of the 3 swimming pools. The room was very comfortable with a king size bed and the bathroom included a bath tub. The resort grounds are beautiful, and the hotel staff are very helpful and cheerful. There is free wifi in the resort's large bale/lounge area. The beachside lounge areas are a terrific spot for a cocktail or drink before or after dinner. Having stayed in Sanur several times previously at both the north and southern ends, I found the "central" location of the GS terrific. There is a wide choice of restaurants as you exit the hotel either along the boardwalk or along Jl Tamblingan Danau. Hardy's is only a 5 minute walk away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applecross Western Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Had a deluxe room which was of good size with a large verandah , fridge and minibar . 5 metres from the Garden swimming pool . Hotel has 3 pools , one by the beach , and two in the beautiful gardens . Hotel has lounges on the beach . It only has one restaurant where and adequate breakfast is served . This is not a problem as there are plenty of reastaurants in Sanur . It is within walking distance of Hardy's supermarket (needed the Tonic for the Gin). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
studley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We have spent our last five holidays at the Griya Santrian and have found it to be the best value in Sanur -Bali for this type of hotel. It is well placed within the village with easy access to shop and restaurants via the main road and beach walkway. Both of these have recently been Blocked Paved and so provide excellent walking surface unlike other parts of Sanur which can be a little hazardous to the unsuspecting visitor,
The Hotel is well staffed and the De-luxe bungalows are especially good value. The three pools are clean and well maintained. The grounds are pleasant and area is regularly fumed to keep insects at bay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jantag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
2,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing