We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best relaxing holiday in years, perfect location and perfect hotel, well done.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best relaxing holiday in years, perfect location and perfect hotel, well done.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Despite some renovations taking place perfect stay. Wonderful staff, very accommodating, great food and facilities, perfect place for a break. Would recommend. Sanur is quiet but still offers variety in food and culture. Bali is just wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliwig31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    492
    124
    43
    13
See reviews for
349
692
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had 2 separate friends recommend this place and thought it would be magic, but not so. Whilst the location is good (right on the beach), and the staff are friendly (our experience is that all Balinese are friendly), what we got was overpriced and ordinary. Renovations were in progress and we only found this out after we had paid (in advance) and checked in for the full 10 days of our stay. Two of the pools were out of action which caused overcrowding in the one remaining pool. Add to this the practice whereby people put towels/bags on the deck chairs even though they aren't using them, which essentially made the poolside facility unavailable. We had noisy neighbours which meant so it wasn't pleasant to sit outside on our balcony and enjoy the cool evenings. Had we not paid in advance we would definitely have found somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Free WiFi is available, but reception isn't great the further away from the conference room faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimigogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Griya Santrian and found it a welcome respite from the hectic scene on Kuta beach. There is a nice balance of quiet, with a touch of nightlife in Sanur or along the other beach resorts for those who wish. Generally, this place is much higher than its 3-star billing, very clean, quite friendly staff, beauitufl buildings & settings. You can tell where they might be cutting costs, such as charging to "change" a towel (not even get a new one), slow, limited internet, and the pool person coming to your door to get back your beach towels (they are very tight on towels at this place!). The beach is nice, lots of activities nearby, beware that jet-skiing is one of them, so if that noise bothers you (usually only offered in the midday), you might find this place a bit loud. Luckily, it was only sometimes, and some days they didn't go at all. Balconies are great, we had an inner garden-poolside room and basically had this idyllic pool to ourselves. Definitely this is a great couple or older person place, very quiet and relaxed. The food is a welcome surprise too, you can charge to your room, and most of the stuff on the regular menu is quite good. I'd definitely go back, very good value for money compared with other pricier (and MUCH crappier) places in Kuta.

Room Tip: Beachview rooms are pricier, but garden & poolside are quieter and just as relaxing of a stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EaterBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was very disappointed that the hotel was under renovation and I was NOT notified of this when I booked. Therefore only 2 small pools and very over crowded with no deck chairs. Especially hard when you have rude Eurpoeans booking 12 chairs all day waiting for their friends and family to wake up and you have to sit on the floor.. No staff control at all.
Our room was filthy and the toilet I don't think had ever been cleaned. The cot for my 1 year old was amazing, and she had her first birthday at the hotel, who provided a cake and fruit platter for her.. Very sweet. Staff lovely

Room Tip: We had a bungalow which was close to the beach, pool and restaurant.. Hotel rooms are at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorri3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a fabulous 2 weeks at the Griya Santrian in Sanur. Great allocation right on the beach but also directly on the main road through the town so really close to a huge variety of bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is spotless and the staff are continually cleaning and sweeping. We has a room near the beach whish was excellent with verandah overlooking the garden and spa area.There are three pools and apart from the main beach pool there are two other pools further back which are very quiet and we found that one often got one or either to yourself at certain times of the day. The hotel has a small spa where one can get a range of massages and treatments which are wonderful. Hotel restaurant is excellent and gardens amazing but the main thing we will remember are the staff. Smiling endlessly and always willing to help whatever was asked we will always remember them. A great hotel which is very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gezzer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed two weeks at this beautiful hotel. The rooms were big, nice and clean with large balconies. Placed right at the beach - 3 pools and 3 restaurants and the whole area was an adventure with beautiful trees and flowers everywhere. 3 minutes to the main road with very good restaurants everywhere. The staff were very helpful and nice. We enjoyed every minute at this hotel - and can recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birkild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sanur is a laid back area of Bali and this hotel worked perfectly for us. We stayed in the Santrian Suite which was excellent. We loved the resort and the location was ideal. Just a short walk and you're either on the beach, at one of the numerous restaurants, or your on the main street which again has a lot of restaurants and numerous bars. The hotel made you feel that your were in Bali, lush & tropical but very classy. We found the service overall to be excellent. Having three pools was great so if one got a bit too noisy, kids jumping around, you could wander off to find a more peaceful spot. A huge plus would be if they made one of the pool areas kid free so that the many guests who don't have kids could have some peace & quiet. There was some construction going on, which won't be finished for another 6 months, but it didn't detract from our great experience. I'd certainly recommend this hotel and we hope to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#13 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#7 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing