We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sanur is a laid back area of Bali and this hotel worked perfectly for us. We stayed in the Santrian Suite which was excellent. We loved the resort and the location was ideal. Just a short walk and you're either on the beach, at one of the numerous restaurants, or your on the main street which again has a lot of restaurants and numerous bars. The hotel made you feel that your were in Bali, lush & tropical but very classy. We found the service overall to be excellent. Having three pools was great so if one got a bit too noisy, kids jumping around, you could wander off to find a more peaceful spot. A huge plus would be if they made one of the pool areas kid free so that the many guests who don't have kids could have some peace & quiet. There was some construction going on, which won't be finished for another 6 months, but it didn't detract from our great experience. I'd certainly recommend this hotel and we hope to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    492
    123
    43
    13
See reviews for
349
689
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spending a few days at this resort is really what a perfect vacation is all about. The staff is always very friendly and helpful with lots of attention to detail, the property is well maintained and clean, the location is right at the beach, the quality of the restaurants is very good, offers a large variety from Japanese to Italian to local specialties.

The resort is very peaceful with most guests being either freshly wed or celebrating their anniversary. That also means that there is not much going on in the evenings other then BBQ and similar banquets with live music organized by the hotel. However, there are many bars and restaurants within walking distance.

There are wooden sun loungers with umbrellas right at the beach provided by the hotel at no cost, however the access to the sea is not great due to the extensive tide and the sea grass found in many places. To make up for it, you have three hotel pools to choose from and there are always seats available both in the sun and in the shade.

Room Tip: There is currently a renovation going on (August 2013). While it is not disturbing, I recommend aski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We moved to Sanur after staying 3 days in Kuta because the atmosphere is more peaceful and the place is a good base for exploring the island’s south and for a day trip to Ubud.

We actually stayed at this hotel twice, leaving our main luggage at reception between stays for 3 days, while we travelled to north Bali (Lovina / Singaraja) to see the dazzling Sekumpul waterfalls. We also visited the Git Git falls in the north and then went to Padang Bai on the east coast from where we crossed over to Lombok for 2 days.

Both times we had a room in the garden wing, the first time in a villa with a verandah by the pool and the second time a room with a large balcony at the first floor overlooking the main garden pool (all buildings on the compound have only 2 levels). Both rooms were spacious and immaculately clean and had sizeable bathrooms but we liked the second one more.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was very good and served al fresco in an open pavilion directly by the beach and shoreside pool. Those without breakfast included can pay “à la carte” or opt for the more expensive buffet. There are of course cheaper breakfast options outside on the main street, but without the gorgeous views.

The hotel is just a short walk from Sanur's main road (Jalan Tamblingan) with its countless shops, restaurants and money changers. One of Sanur’s best restaurants, the Kayu Manis, is within walking distance from the hotel.

We loved the picture-perfect beach setting of this hotel and its vast tropical garden running down straight to the beach. One of the garden pavilions has Internet-connected PCs for guests, while another pavilion is home to an art gallery. WiFi is good in the lobby and main pavilion but was spotty in our rooms. There are 3 swimming pools on the compounds, of which the beachside one has a bar and is the busiest. The other 2 pools are more private, and sometimes you can have any of the 2 garden pools all for yourself !

Balinese are passionate about tropical gardens. The Griya Santrian is a perfect example: its well maintained grounds are beautifully landscaped and could serve as inspiration for nature or fashion photographers. There are orchids, lotuses, heliconias, anthuriums, bromeliads and other tropical plants, apart from the tall palm trees – you could spend hours with close-up photography on the compounds.

Overall, a relaxing and very enjoyable stay. Will gladly return.

Room Tip: While the garden wing rooms are at a 2-4 min walk to the beach, the area is quieter and you have qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marius_Berger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Room was clean and very spacious, pool refreshing, staff very attentive and the location of the property excellent. Very close to markets, the beach and other restaurants within walking distance. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return here!! A great end to our holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you want a lovely quiet place away from the kuta side of things I would suggest the griya santrian at sanur. The staff were exceptional except for once case when I needed an extra towel to put behind my neck to support a bad neck and one of the towel people was quiet rude and would not
Allow this even when I explained my situation , but all the other towel staff were great.well worth the deluxe rooms if the budget allows .
Yes I would go back there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors nomen above you scrapping chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debtrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have been to Bali about nine times now and this Hotel, with the exception of one time when we stayed at the Puri Santrian which was very good too, is the only Hotel we have ever stayed at because it is excellent in every way. We have just had eleven nights there and once again it was wonderful. We have stayed in the Beach Wing, Suite and Deluxe rooms over the years. We especially like the Deluxe rooms. We have recommended this Hotel to many friends and all have been so pleased. Truly a beautiful Bali experience in Sanur ~ the quieter part of Bali.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms near front pool, beach and restaurant are lovely and Suites closer to back pool are ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese4828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have been to Bali 3 times, the first time just for a couple of nights added to a China tour. However we were lucky enough to go to the Griya Santrian. Since then we have returned twice and it is simply a stunning location, straight on the beach with fabulous rooms (in particular the refurbished ones around the main pool area, large with beautiful wet room/showers.
The breakfast is announced with local gamelan players- completely mellow. can't wait to go back- also a shout out for the Lazer bar just across the road. Nothing to look at but great atmosphere, very friendly and terrific live music!

Room Tip: The fitness centre was only average as it was an arrangement with the Hyatt about 1 1/2 miles away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#13 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing