We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - will definitely return”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - will definitely return”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just stayed here for a week following a week next door in Vila Shanti. The Griya is a lovely hotel and is the only one I would consider staying at when we return to Sanur, despite visiting and researching many others.
The staff are all lovely, everyone greets you as you walk around the place and they are extremely helpful. On our last day we had to check out by 1.00pm as the hotel was full but they happily let us continue to use all the facilities and gave us guest cards for pool towels as well as providing showers and towels for our use afterwards before booking us reasonably priced transport to the airport at 5.00pm.
We had two adjoining rooms by the pool nearest to the road and it was perfect. The building noise caused no disturbance although I wouldn't have wanted a room right beside it. The rooms were a good size although we were disappointed at the lack of Wifi - the only places it is available are the lobby and the gallery (lounge type area with pool table, TV, sofas and computers). If you had a room nearer to these areas you may have got it but certainly not where we were.
The beach frontage and main pool are fabulous and there is no need to save beach loungers using towels which was a welcome change from previous hotels.
Buffet breakfast was great - plenty of choice. There is a promotional offer at the moment because of the building works and it is USD10 per person inc. taxes. Children are meant to be half price but we were never charged for our 8 year old which made it even better value.
Overall, a great stay.

Room Tip: If you prefer the pool to the beach then the rooms at the back (nearest to the road) are great as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKSH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    525
    129
    44
    15
See reviews for
379
751
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Grounds and 3 pools are beautiful. Very very relaxing, breakfast was average but didn't expect much anyway. Dinner was lovely, very very cheap. The only negative was rooms up the back are quite old and very dated, recommend you stay at this hotel but make sure you pay the extra to get the new rooms. Will definitely stay there again. Staff were extremely lovely & helpful. Great location to shops & restaurants.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ttmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We Have just had 13 nights at the Griya Santrian , We up graded to the deluxe room, good bathroom nice and modern , staff all very friendly , awesome setting right on the beach , we usually stay at the Besaki next door , GRiya pools are awesome we especially love the middle pool just beautiful ! We would defiantly go there again!

Room Tip: Garden wing looked great, we stayed in the deluxe room, but would probably get garden wing next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a fantastic 2 week holiday staying at the Griya Santrian. As per other reviews we were given a complimentary dinner due to building work however the work was hardly visible and didn't disturb us in the slightest.

The staff were very friendly and always smiling, they even remembered our room number anytime we went to collect our key or put drinks on the room account :-)

We had a deluxe room near the pool (near the beach) and it was excellent - very clean and well maintained.

The hotel has a nice beach and there was very little disturbance from beach sellers etc.

Sanur is a nice relaxed resort but doesn't have much in the way of nightlife.

We will return to Bali but probably stay in Seminyak next time.

Highly recommend this hotel for family trips, older couples etc

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bertC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our holiday in Bali, and we stayed here for a 3 night and 4 night stay either side of a 3 night tour of the island. We can not fault the hotel, despite some buildingt work next door which did not impare our stay in any way. The hotel management gave us a complimenmtary dinner on each of our stays as well as upgrading our original room on our second visit. We thought the first room was terrific but the second was to die for.

All previous excellent comments about staff are true. They can not do enough for you and all with a genuine friendly smile. Special thanks goes to Mr Ariana, restaurant supervisor who came to the rescue when my wife was under the weather following our three night tour.

Mr Ariana, I thanked you at the time and now make it a public thank you. You are a true gentleman, who's kindness and thought went way beyond service. It was a genuine care for customers you and all your colleagues treat as friends.

A hotel is only as good as it's staff.

THIS IS A GREAT HOTEL

Thank you all for making our stay in Bali a holiday we will treasure for ever.

Alec & Ann

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms both were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlecBatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Welcomed with open arms and very friendly staff. Every member would go out of their way to say hello and help you at a drop of a hat. The two restaurants on site were wonderful - great food, service and cleanliness. The pools and grounds were well maintained (although there were times, early in the morning I would here them sweeping the pavement). The only disappointing thing was I found this lacked in providing information for first time comers to Bali. Other than that I would recommend this hotel to anyone. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. We were upgraded to a deluxe room due to construction. The room itself was nice and so were the facilities. There are 3 pools but only one has a bar and the majority of the seats had towels on them all day even though they were not being used. The beach is nice but wet in high tide. The service was ok. They don’t walk around and see if you would like a drink and when you order one they are a bit slow. The staff in the pool area was not super friendly and often forgot what we ordered. Their restaurant food was ok, depending on what you ordered. The front desk staff is very helpful and more of what we expected from a beach resort. All in all, an ok experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#7 of 78 in Sanur
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing