We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights & it was beautiful - The room was great, clean fresh linen & towels, the people were very obliging & the food was fantastic. Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day without any inconvenience to us. The hotel was situated within easy walking distance to the local cafes & restaurants but after exploring these we spent much of our time relaxing at the resort & eating at the hotel. The food was fresh and tasty - the service was A1 !! what more could you ask for with drivers as the door to take you out on trips whenever you wanted - I for one will go back! Kathy H

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    525
    129
    44
    14
See reviews for
378
751
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice already first in a Santrian Suite with my husband and secondly in a garden wing room by myself. The Suite was large with an enormous bed, a sofa, coffee table, coffee making facilities and a mini bar fridge that is perfect for chilling milk or water. It had a separate dressing area and a large bathroom with both bath and walk in shower.
The garden wing room was in my opinion too small for a couple but fine as I was alone. There was nowhere apart from the bed to sit inside the room. It had a walk in shower and offered the same mini fridge and tea making facilities as the suite. It was clean and provided comfort but I generally like a little more space.
The hotel grounds are exquisite with lawned areas sprinkled with stone Balinese Sculpture. There are 3 crystal clear swimming pools catering for all needs, a beach pool overlooking, you guessed it the beach, with sunken bar, and two smaller quiet pools. Swimming alone in the beach pool with the sunlight glistening on the water is an experience not to be missed.
The breakfast is good with cereals, fruit, selection of breads and cakes, cooked meats and cheeses and if you prefer something for the cooked range. This is served in a pavilion overlooking the beach.
Now for some of you only having internet connection in the communal areas may be off putting but I found it great because when I travelled alone I did not sit in my room alone talking to relatives and secondly when I was travelling with my husband it got him out of the room when he had to work.
The resort itself is relatively bug free as it is fumigated once a week I am not saying there are no mosquitos just a lot less than if it had not been sprayed.
We booked for the hotel transfer taxi to collect us from the airport as it meant no queueing for a taxi at the hot, mosquito infested, crowded airport. It may cost slightly more but it is worth it knowing that the driver knows exactly where it is you are going.
There is a cycle path that runs along the beach I am not sure how long it is but I rode along it for one hour before turning back and I could have carried on. The hotel also has bikes to hire at approx. $3.5 USA for 8 hours.
The spa treatments are very reasonably priced and I definitely recommend having a treatment in the spa pavilion.
The hotel is located on the main road meaning that once you leave the grounds there are all the amenities you need within close proximity a chemist, mini market, a few souvenir shops, restaurants and bars etc.

Room Tip: Either book the deluxe rooms or the suites if you like a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dollhousekitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights hoping for a place for rest, relaxation, good food, central but not noisy, clean and friendly. It was all of that and more! We will definitely go back.
There was construction going on near our room however the noise was minimal, didn't start until 8 or 9 and finished about 4. The hotel gave us free dinner voucher as a consolation for the disturbance, which was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dachshund4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed six nights here. We were upgraded to a beach room when we arrived. The room was great. Service excellent and good very good. Access to the beach was only a few metres walk. Good location for wandering along the beach or in to Sanur or for going out for the day. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Griya Santrian for 8 nights at the start of June. Our room was in the garden wing and was spacious and clean. We were initially concerned about the nearby renovations but they were carefully screened and you barely knew they were going on. We were given a free dinner as compensation. Our lovely room overlooked the middle pool which was a great location. We swam in the beachside pool in the morning and finished our day with a swim in the middle pool. The grounds of the resort are charming and well maintained and it is a pleasure to walk through them. All staff are friendly and helpful. We had several visits to the spa which is to be recommended highly. The prices are very reasonable and the treatments excellent. The hotel's location is handy to several good restaurants and near a large supermarket (Hardys). The Griya Santrian is an excellent resort and is to be recommended highly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed in May for 9 nights. The garden around the hotel is very nice. We were accommodated in the beach wing what I found as a good idea due to building works in the garden wing. The beach wing as a beach pool were really quiet. The beach was directly at the hotel and it has been cleaned every day of sea grass. The breakfast was good with small changes for every day. I think, for dinner is better to go to one of the many restaurants on the street behind the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leondelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great hotel , very well kept and maintained , very clean , the staff were brilliant helpfully and very friendly , location great , go there ! This hotel had a BBQ twice a week with fresh fish and meats with live music ,with a choice of 2 on site restaurants during the day and the other resturants within walking distance there is no need to go any ware else .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 78 in Sanur
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing