We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!!!!”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed for 5 nights in April in one of the rooms close to the main swimming pool. The room was quite small in all fairness but we spent so very little time there that it did not matter at all. What can I say?? The pools were great...the kids (and I) enjoyed the main swim-up bar, the other quieter pool, the gazebos and sun-lounges on the beautiful Sanur beach. We ate (and drank) exclusively at the resort and hence we paid more money than we could have by eating at other places around Sanur, but this would have meant leaving and this was something we did not want (or need) to do. The fish bbq is an absolute must!!! The service and wonderful, friendly and attentive staff were a highlight as well and we cant wait to go back again soon

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

the pictures on the website do not do this lovely hotel justice! We stayed for 14 nights in a deluxe beach room. It was huge, beautifully fitted out, we also had a shower wet room as well as a separate bathroom. outside there was a large sitting area with a sofa and table and chairs, there was even a water feature in our front garden. the rooms were cleaned every day, with fresh towels and linen. We were in room 116 which was about a 30 second walk to the beach and main pool.
The beach was clean, and no hawkers to pester you. There were loads of available sunbeds and umbrellas both on the beach and around the pools, so no need to get up early to reserve one. You could wander around at any time and you would be sure to find one.
Our deal included breakfast, there was a great choice every day, and no queue for the egg station or the toaster!
All the staff were friendly and helpful, they made us feel really special.
One bonus for us, was that because we were near the lounge, we could get wifi in our room.
I cant think of any negatives for this hotel, it was absolutely beautiful, stunning surroundings, huge and comfortable rooms, lovely food and great service. Most of the guests were repeat visitors and I can see why!
Cannot reccommend this place highly enough, and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: all the rooms were lovely, although building work near the garden pool could make the rooms around t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a lovely place to stay, very quiet relaxing place and the staff are sooo friendly and helpful.
Rooms are tidy and comfy. We had breakfast there once which was ok, there are other places just outside the hotel on the main road, like the Porch Cafe and they make lovely breakfast. I would recommend that more then the hotel breakfast menu. Anyway, keeping it short. I would stay again and the sunrise is a must to see from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hil477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We met up with three couples who were staying in a villa adjacent to the resort to celebrate a sixtieth birthday. We requested a garden view villa and were surprised at how large it was, how cold the air conditioning was and the beauty of the pool at our doorstep. Our room number was 153 at the far end of the resort away from the beach. It was also very quiet!

The resort has an old world charm about it and is well maintained although it does show its age a bit. The main pool has a swim up bar and has nice views over the beach. At high tide the view is special and at low tide the water is out quite a way, but you get to watch the locals doing some fishing.

The boardwalk that runs along the beach is shaded in the afternoon and we enjoyed beautiful cooling sea breezes most afternoons which was different to Kuta and Seminyak.

The staff are friendly and always had a smile and said g'day and I think were a bit amused at us going across the road to our friends in the villa. The resort drivers were always up for a joke and at the end of our stay I had to use the services of Ketuk Wartawa (You want transport) to take us to the airport as he was always happy and friendly.

My wife and her girlfriend had some massages at the spa and enjoyed it so much they came back a second time.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here even if we didn't use the facilities that much and would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The garden villa rooms are a long way from the beach, but have a beautiful pool shared between about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yurgo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, clean, great swim up bar, the beach is beautiful and you don't get hassled. Great location. Breakfast good. Good Wifi area to use.
Only negative - the service was slow when it was busy, for drinks and food. There is only one person making drinks.
But just beware of the massage ladies on the beach just outside the hotel, check the price list first or you will be overcharged and make it clear what your are having done 1st.

Room Tip: We stayed on Deluxe Poolside room and also a Garden Wing room, both really nice, Poolside Room close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin1Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had our wedding at the Griya Santrian in Sanur last month. We have previously stayed there twice before. It is one of the more expensive resorts in Sanur but it is great, the food is excellent and the staff are so helpful and accommodating. We had 65 guests stay at the resort and every one of them were happy with the level of service they received. We were there for a 3 week period and I could've stayed for longer! Our wedding was amazing, they were so helpful and organised and the day ran smoothly. This is just a quick review but I would highly recommend the Griya to anyone thinking of staying (or getting married) in Sanur!

Room Tip: The beach wing is closer to the pool par and the restaurant and may be a bit noisier than the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ_Mac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just back from a fantastic 5 night stay at the Griya Santrian. Will definitely be back. Usually stay in Seminyak but found Sanur to be lovely & relaxing. The hotel room "The Deluxe" was very spacious and well equipped. The staff were great. I had an amazing facial in the Spa, the spa girls were fantastic. Can't wait to return. Only negatives no DVD player & Pool chair hogs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kembali160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#17 of 78 in Sanur
2,308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 78 in Sanur
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#7 of 78 in Sanur
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#11 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $106 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing