We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rooms vary and service is willing....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rooms vary and service is willing....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I spent 12 nights at the Griya Santrian in January 2013 on the recommendation of a friend. It was my first time in Bali and I was planning to travel around a bit. Travelling independently, I booked directly and asked them to arrange a pick up for me from the airport. All was well with the pick-up, driver spoke good English and carried my bags for me. The transfer in itself isn’t far – but Bali traffic means that it took about 40mins! The road was being rebuilt – chaos – lovely chaos though!
On arrival I was told that I had been “upgraded” – I had booked a basic rated garden room online about 3 months previously so I was delighted with this. Sadly my “upgrade” was to a very old, tired room right next to the main pool and restaurant (noisy). This room stank, and the bathroom's cleanliness was questionable - I’m not sure if it was drains or bug spray… but I wasn’t happy to stay in it. It was pouring with rain and early evening. No one was really around and I was beginning to despair that the relaxing part of my holiday was going to feel like 1970’s Benidorm!
The chap on the reception was adorable – but just how well I was understood is debatable. I asked to see the room I had been “upgraded” from – this was at the back of the hotel gardens, the very back. Beautiful gardens, lovely pools, stunning new room blocks with the rooms from the website pictures in them. Back I trailed behind the chap who was kindly trundling my suitcase along, I was soaked and so was everything I had with me by the time we got to the room. Ironically this was more modern. The bathroom didn’t smell – but was tiny. Just a shower room with your chin in the sink when on the loo! It was clean and I was tired so I accepted it. It rained some more – Obviously this is not the Hotel’s fault and they did their level best to contend with the storms in the restaurant… but the fabric walls/blinds weren’t really up to it. It was a memorable first night in Bali – particularly the multitude of frogs I had to contend with on my way back to my room… all part of the experience and actually quite funny.
Breakfast (included in my rate) was average at best. The fruit was out and uncovered with a few flies dining heartlity - which put me off it. But the cooked to order how you like them eggs were excellent, as was the coffee – absolutely NOT worth the $16 extra they charge on the website for this. The short walk into Sanur provides some brilliant cafes and restaurants which do a much better job at a fraction of the cost.
After two days of wandering round the (whole of the) grounds thanks to the location of my “self-down-graded” room I had had enough – I wanted a shiny room like the ones on the website – and when I looked at the rates on line it was only $20USD extra per night to book a “deluxe” – so I asked if I could upgrade. This was met with genuine sorrow that I was not happy in my room. This was lamented at great length – though nothing other than $30 extra per night was forth-coming from the reception staff who could do nothing but pray for enlightenment about why this was more on site than it was on line.
I thought – what the hell, I’m on holiday – I was due to be there only 3 more nights so I took the $90 extra on the chin and moved into an absolutely wonderful room near the front of the hotel, set back from the pool with a beautifully appointed glass shower room and a huge bed, flat screen TV etc etc. Much happier – and the drains didn’t smell at all.
As it happened I was forced to cancel the next part of my trip – and thought it would be good to stay put for an extra 5 days. This was the most difficult thing I had to arrange in Asia! I couldn’t do it at reception and I had to call the reservations people from my room. The relevant person was “in a meeting” for 2 whole days and when I finally got an answer it was not exactly what I wanted. I was told that the internet rate was cheaper because you didn’t have to speak to someone and that my rate for the room for another 7 nights would be $20USD more than then published rate on their website. At least I got to stay in the same room - but the following morning I found out that I was no longer on B&B. Not a great loss but I felt utterly fleeced. I tried very hard to tell myself that this was due to lack of communication skills on behalf of the staff. The scary woman at breakfast who gleefully told me “you are not a breakfast guest” (quite loudly) wasn’t going to win any hospitality awards – ever. Sadly, I feel on reflection I was a captive audience and they simply fleeced me – not a way to retain customers at all.
I had a lovely time in Sanur – the town is fantastic – stay away from the beach hawkers if that bothers you because they are fierce and I didn’t go to the beach after that at all. It’s a good place to base yourself to do day tours – though there has to be a way around booking them with the drivers outside the hotel (who do the airport transfers) directly. You get the idea that it will be $50USD a day – my elephant trip ended up costing nearly $200… then again I have now learned.
The food in the hotel isn’t generally very good. The Indonesian stuff is very good – don’t bother with anything else – they make an effort but it’s not the same.
All in all, I actually ended up in a lovely, clean, well-appointed room in a lovely place – not the end of the world – but I do feel like I paid for it.

Room Tip: The rooms on the website are the deluxe or suite rooms - pay the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LexieLou77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    472
    119
    42
    12
See reviews for
344
653
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We go to Bali at least once or twice every year, and decided to head to Sanur for a change. We've stayed at the Griya's sister property, the Puri Santrian, and figured it was time to try the Griya.

Great staff, very nice and friendly.

Good rooms - we were in the Beach Wing. However, we were told by many people (and noted on many reviews here on TA), that the newer block of Beach Wing rooms that were opposite us across an expanse of lawn, were nicer.

We did have a sewerage smell consistently in our bathroom, and the hotel didn't seem able to fix it.

Drinks were a bit pricey at the pool bar, but not really any worse than other large resorts.

Good location for restaurants, and while it wasn't there when we stayed (January 2013), I know a Starbucks has just opened up outside the hotel - a good coffee is always a big drawcard for me!

We didn't bother with the hotel's breakfast, because it was too expensive for us to justify ($20US plus). However, we had a number of breakfasts at The Wicked Parrot, which is right at the end of the driveway in to the hotel. Great food, great price!

The Wicked Parrot also does a mean dinner, and has a decent in-house band. Great value for right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: If booking a beach wing room, ask for the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParentalParody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This review is not really about the hotel as it was actually very good, clean, comfortable and on the beach. The rooms however are tired but pleasant enough.

The only way I could get to complain about the Thomas cook Signature transfers were through this platform. This has nothing to do with the hotel.

We booked private transfers through Thomas Cook Signature. Do not ever ever trust them to pick you up. We waited over an hour and a half for the transfer, the taxi q was 2 hours long and I had to get help from an airport porter, who I had to tip handsomely. Eventually contacted an agent for TC who told me to q for a taxi and he would reimburse us in the morning....not happening. He took a further hour to pay for a private taxi to take us to our hotel. Unacceptable given how much we paid up front for the transfer and to avoid this very thing happening. What is TC response to a complaint.....NIL! They have failed to respond. and it id8 months since the event. I would not recommend Thomas Cook in any way. .

Room Tip: Over looking the pool can be noisy but nice to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sus238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

For the price of accommodation at the Griya Santrian, breakfast should be included. In saying that, we paid $12.50au each for breakfast one morning and it is very average, we were glad we did not pay extra for breakfast in our booking. We booked a deluxe room which was lovely, the only downside is the lighting is very poor, unableto read in room. Also, nowhere to hang out wet bathers or any hand washing! Beautiful pool area, but badly in need of shade around swim up pool bar!

Room Tip: Would not recommend the high price of the deluxe room and would say do not pay for breakfast upfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Griya Santrian hotel is set in lovely surrounds, with 3 beautiful pools, which every time we went for a swim, were pretty much empty. The 3 amazing pools always looked very clean. The grounds seem to be cleaned all the time as well, as every time we left our room, there always seemed to be gardeners doing things to the gardens! It was nice that the hotel had direct access onto the beach and the sun lounges, but the actual ocean wasn't that nice.
The garden wing room that we stayed in was massive, the largest hotel room that i've stayed in ever, you get lots of room for the price that you pay. However, the style of the room was a little outdated, but that didn't take away from the overall experience at all. The actual room was large but the bathroom was quite small.
All the staff were lovely and very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden wing rooms are massive and very quiet and are very close to one of the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Griya Santrian for 7 days at the end of May/ beginning of June. We stayed in the garden rooms which we thought were basic and dated for the price. I understand the rooms in the middle area and closer to the beach have been refurbished and do look much nicer.

The grounds in the hotel were very beautiful, old architecture and lots of greenery - it was a calming atmosphere. Out of the three pools, we spent most time at the garden pool - it was the most relaxing. The middle pool was nice but had construction right next to it and the beach pool got quite busy.

The beach was nice and well maintained. The sun beds were very popular and it was always quite busy. The beach is not among the best I have seen in Asia but it was pleasant.

We did not opt for the breakfast in the hotel and often got breakfast from the bakery on the main road. We did however have lunch at the hotel quite often - it was nice and not too expensive.

Sanur is a very nice relaxed part of Bali. Good restaurants which are reasonably priced. As you come onto the main road from the hotel there are 4 or 5 decent places to eat, the 'Three Monkeys' was among our favourites. The bars have a good atmosphere and there is an abundance of live music.

The staff were friendly and pleasant however I feel they could have been a lot more helpful and there is definately room for improvement in that aspect.

The spa in the hotel grounds was great - I had a pedicure and a traditional balinese massage which was lovely.

All in all - beautiful grounds, average rooms (in the garden pool area) and room for improvement with teh staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very good hotel, the best of Sanur. Nice staff.
Good food. Visit this Hotel, we stay there 5 times.
Nice romantic garden, like heaven.
You must vist this fantastic Hotel, near the beach.
Three pools!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woworgort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#12 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#4 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing