We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Holiday with friends in first class surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Holiday with friends in first class surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Accomodation and facilities first class. Food and beverages varied and delicious . Romantic dinner for 2, or in our case for 4 for a 60th birthday celebration, was very well prepared and presented for this celebration. Staff friendly and went most lengths to please.check out was a bit slow, but check in at 1am after along day to get there took an hour and we were thinking of going straight to breakfast. Breakfast menu selection not huge but adequate.

Room Tip: When traveling with friends we found adjoining suites a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    452
    115
    40
    12
See reviews for
327
627
44
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This is our 7th year in Bali and 4th year in griya sanitarian we stop in the suit with 4 post bed it was great we had 6 weeks last April to may and enjoy it so much going back next April for 2 months the staff are great and lots of good places to eat on the top rd and beach rd. one of the best is ribs and mades on the top rd.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked this hotel based on agoda reviews, & agree with everyone else's amazement.
The welcome drinks- strawberry mojitos...wow!
The pools- 3 in total, plus a spa in the middle one.
The gardens were immaculate & the staff very attentive.

We would've stayed longer but they were booked out, so we moved to puri santrian down the road. Equally as beautiful.

Traveling with a baby is no problem when places like this exist.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amesnmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Only stayed here 2 nights but wish it could have been longer. The staff were fantastic, the gardens immaculate and the fact that there were 3 pools meant you could take a choice of beachfront , kids or a more quiet option depending on your mood. There was free internet in the public area. It is close to Hardys supermarket and a number of restaurants or you can walk out the front onto the beach boardwalk and walk to other hotel restaurants and shops. Thoroughly enjoyed the Garden room with its quietness and squirrels in the trees.Although no breakfast was included in the price you can have it at extra cost or walk down the beach for some. We went to beachfront Gazebo Hotel some 400m away and had a great smorgasboard breakkie for only Rp50,000 each.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are newer and closer to main pool and beach. They are in two story blocks and poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surfing4Life_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Having just returned from 12 days of glorious relaxation at the Griya Santrian, we can not speak highly enough of this fabulous resort, the staff, from the moment we arrived until our departure were just fantastic, with particular thanks to Erik and Dita, who, with their bright and happy nature helped make our holiday so enjoyable. This is the third time we have stayed at the Griya and other family members have stayed there recently, and they to had a very enjoyable stay. We highly recomend this resort, and we are already planning our next holiday at the Griya next year. Thanks again to all at the Griya for our wonderful and relaxing holiday........William & Lesley from Perth Western Australia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 774sunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent 12 days at the Griya-Santrian.My husband & I were ready for a good rest & relaxation. We were met at the reception by the lovely staff,We were taken to our room & we had been upgraded which was a great surprise & much appreciated.The room was perfect with flowers on the table a huge bed & very comfortable.There was a lovely verandah outside our room were we could sit & read have a drink & watch the people swimming in the pool.We recommend the rooms in the garden wing if you want peace & tranquility.Everywhere you walk around the resort is spotless.The staff are very obliging nothing is a problem to them. The food was perfect we had breakfast every day in the hotel there was everything you could wish for.Plenty of choice for everyone.We also recommend Apa Kabar restaurant on the main street were they will pick you up from the hotel & take you there & bring you back for nothing.Fantastic food. All in All a fantastic stay at the Griya.

Room Tip: Go to the garden wing area very perfect for older people beach wing is ideal for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have just come back from our wonderful 2 week holiday in Bali. This was our first time in Bali and were part of a large family group and I cannot speak highly enough of our experience at Griya Santrian. The staff were always so accommodating and thoughtful.

Our rooms were lovely. Small details like frangiapani's on the freshly made beds and in the soap dish were a lovely touch.

The hotel itself is in a fantasic location on the beach front. Very easy walking to the stalls and restaurants on the beach front or to the main shopping strip and awesome restaurants there. There are many fantastic restaurants just 5 mins walk from the hotel and lots of good shopping too. Location is perfect.

When you've had enough of all the shopping, just return to your tranquil haven at Griya Santrian for a float in the pool or head to the main pool and have a cocktail at the pool bar. We were closest to the pool at the back of the property and it was never crowded or noisy. We prefered to swim here because it was so pretty with the palms surrounding the pool and it was so peaceful and quiet. The grounds are manicured and there isn't a leaf or flower out of place. It's a tropical paradise.

The restaurant served, more than ample, yummy breakfasts for just $6 AU, choice of fresh fruit platter or fruit juice, choice of items from the bakery (including croissants, danishes, donuts, toast) and then eggs cooked the way you want them. (The mixed omelet is very tasty) and tea and coffee. And for dinner the menu has a delicious array of things to choose from.

There was nothing more I could have asked for. I will definitly return to the Griya when we return to Bali.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front near the main pool are the noisier ones, not that it is very noisy, but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#12 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#7 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing