We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic wedding !!!”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
nortelnet
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic wedding !!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

just returned from my daughters wedding at this hotel and cannot thank them enough for making the wedding an unforgetable day !! the wedding planner made the perfect wedding day for all of us !! so big big thank you to Ketuk and all the staff at the Griya !! We have stayed at this fab hotel 4 times now and it never fails to impress !! it really does feel like "going home" - perfect location and perfect hotel - never any complaints as normal !! sunbeds do get taken early but i wish i was saving them before 6.45 !! every hotel in every part of the world has sunbeds saved and whether part of a wedding party or not if you want to get one saved - get up early !!! please do not be put off this hotel by the last review - its a fab great hotel with excellent facilitites and excellent staff !!! and if your thinking of booking a wedding there i cannot fault it in any way !! cannot wait to go back in the future - PERFECT !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nortelnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    525
    129
    43
    14
See reviews for
378
750
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

All the good things reported about this hotel are true but it is not suitable for serious sunbathers. We like to lay in the sun from about 10am for 5-6 hours and had we have known about the problems we would have gone to the Hyatt or Puri Santrian which doesn’t seem to suffer as much due to their beach area being wider and trees less dense. The whole hotel has many trees and the beach is exceptionally narrow in front of the hotel so by midday about 90% of the sun loungers are in the shade from the trees. In fact – there is only one pair of loungers that are in full sun the entire day and there are the ones in the front row on the left side as you face the beach!
I’m sure that during the quieter season you could “bed hop” between the 3 pools and the beach but it is not possible when the hotel is busy. We only managed the secure the premium 2 loungers once as a German couple had towels on them before 6am every day!!! There is also a major problem with reserving beds with towels that are hardly used all day. We observed one member of a large wedding party reserving up to 16 beds before 6.45am and only actually using a few of them for more than about an hour. An American couple did complain to the pool manager who just shrugged. They ended up lying on their towels in the sand in front of a row of unused beds. Not acceptable.
We had a first floor deluxe room facing the middle pool (the one with the Jacuzzi). This was spacious and nicely furnished with a huge marble bathroom with separate walk in shower. We also had a safe in the room. The only criticism was there was hardly any natural light in the room.
We were only bothered by the massage lady on the beach the first 2 days and she left us alone once I told here I would find her if I wanted her. The water sports men asked most days but didn’t pester at all.
I had “Bali Belly” but my husband didn’t. When it had continued into the 3rd day with stomach cramps etc we asked a taxi driver (from the hut outside the hotel) to take us to the local pharmacy and wait to bring us back. He charges £4 to do this and the antibiotics etc came to a total of £ 2. These eased the symptoms by the next day.
We ate in The Wicked Parrot which is at the entrance to the hotel when we wanted plain food. They had live music every night. When we wanted Balinese we ate at Pregina’s Warung which is opposite the Wicket Parrot. When we wanted Italian we ate at The Village which is also at the entrance to the hotel and gives a 10% discount to hotel guests but you have to ask. We ate at a restaurant on the beach front once but it was so windy on the beach for our whole stay that we didn’t bother again as the food got cold so quickly. Most of the restaurants offer a mixed menu of the usual holiday food which we found quite disappointing.
Bintang beer is cheap - £2.50 for a large bottle but spirits are very expensive. We were paying £4 - £5 for a shot of vodka with another £1.50 for a can of diet coke. I tried the cocktails but they were poor in both quality and presentation.
We took 2 day trips with a recommended driver. The first day we went to Kinamani (the volcano) via Batabulan for barong dance show, the craft villages, elephant temple and rice terraces. Had the buffet lunch at the volcano which was very good but you do feel obliged to buy as all the photos of the volcano and lake are taken from the restaurant terrace. The driver charged 500,000 for the day with a 50,000 tip (about £40)
The second day we went to Tanah Lot temple and then up to Bedugul Lake and Ulun Panu temple via Jati Luwih rice terraces and Toman Ayun (royal family temple) at Mengwi. He charged 600,000 for this.
We also had a driver for half day from the hotel hut. He took us to Kuta, (which was manic and dirty) waited 3 hours and bought us back for 300.000 (about £20)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GO50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Good - Beautiful grounds. Never felt overcrowded or busy. Ground floor deluxe room located near the midddle pool was spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished. The staff were delightful, friendly, courteous and very helpful. We had lovely evening meal in the restaurant - excellent value. Breakfast option was good, and lunch was great too. Enjoyed cocktails and coffees on the beachfront chairs. The middle pool was a peaceful haven (for the most part - more on that later...)
The Not So Good - noise from guests in room next door was challenging. We had a room with interconnecting door and at times sounded like they were sitting in our room having a chat...at 6.30am in the morning!! Could hear every word, cough, sneeze etc. We asked reception to move us but was not possible as resort was full. Shame about that. The other issue we had was with the pool - though the middle pool was not officially an 'adults only' pool it seemed obvious to us and to many of the other guests that this was a quiet place - unfortunately not all parents are that concerned about the amount of noise and disruption their children cause - dare I say it - aussie bogans strike again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Griya 4 times now, & everytime we have stayed there we realise it is in a ideal location on the tourist strip off Sanur , have stayed at Arlit's north sanur plus Segara in the north. Also stayed at the Puri Santrian south Sanur, all great places but have not got the location off The Griya. Close to hardys, plus lot's of great restaurants on Tamblingan st, & also the Beach frontage. This place is an all round great place for a break away from the mundane day to day, Highly Recommend Location Location Location.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just back from a five night stay at the Griya, wow was I impressed! First time at the Hotel and had read heaps on TripAdvisor so thought I was prepared......it was better than all expectations. We had booked 2 x Garden View rooms but were upgraded to adjoining Suites, these rooms were beautiful. Loved everything about the Hotel - friendly and very helpful staff, wonderful gardens, beautiful pool areas, super clean - just fantastic. Location was excellent. Had previously stayed at the Puri Santrian, this is also a lovely hotel but the location of the Griya is better.

Shopping at the beach markets was good - lots of bargains to be had but the stall holders are a little pushy, did`nt put us off though. Flashbacks across the road from the Hotel has the best coffee I`ve ever had in Bali, we also had breakfast a few times there and it was delicious. Other restaurants we tried were Cinnamon, Massimo, and The Village. The Village was an ulitmate dining experience, luxury surroundings, wonderful service and still so cheap.

All in all, cannot recommend the Griya enough.!

Room Tip: Make sure you check your room out when you arrive...our rooms were lovely but the view from the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmfAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muntinlupa city, philippines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the reviews of other contributors. We were not disappointed. I think in the Sanur area, this is the best choice. The deluxe ($150) and suites are newly renovated. We booked thru agoda and I think if you book thru agoda you get the cheapest room they have ($130) and unfortunately, they're the oldest- even if they're very close to beach and pool. I highly suggest just go for deluxe which are in the back. Sanur is for those people who still want a local flavor, and you still interact with the locals. (But after the 4th day of being asked to "just look in my store, you promised!" "you want massage?" I was thinking of how to avoid the gauntlet of masseuses and shopkeepers- if you don't want to walk thru this gauntlet, walk at the main road at the back of hotel, that's where most of the restaurants are anyway. I can't review the resstaurants of Griya because thanks to the info I got from other reviewers, we were having fun trying out all the restaurants mentioned- Luhtu's for breakfast (by the beach)- only time I had to walk thru the gauntlet- on the way to Luhtu's. Pregina- Indonesian food, Mona Lisa- western/ INdonesian. 3 Monkeys- more upscale/ fusion. I like the Griya bec it's a midsize hotel, you don't feel you have to walk for 10 minutes to get out of hotel or climb all those stairs (like in 4 Seasons in Ubud- no elevators!) + the Balinese garden/3 pools all wonderful. The staff very friendly- they treat you like long lost friend or family. This hotel captures the flavor of Bali- you don't feel you're in a generic 4/5 star hotel and you don't feel the local flavor anymore.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe or suites- more at the back part of hotel- no problem, you're surrounded by garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Griya Santrian for two weeks. We booked a Garden Wing room but were upgraded to a Deluxe room located right next to the middle of three pools. This was a quiet area of the resort, just great for us as two older travellers, away from the hustle of the front pool but still close to everything. The staff were all fantastic, friendly and ever helpfull, and the resort had everything you could wish for. The location could not be better, right on the beach and in the middle of many restaruants of all types. Our booking did not include breakfast, however the resort offered a "Sunrise Breakfast" for about 7 dollars that included eggs, juice, croissants etc that you could eat on the beach, or you could find any number of brekkie spots within 5 min walk.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great accommodation on the quieter side of Bali, away from the madness of Kuta but still only a taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are larger, around the middle pool is quieter than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PebCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 78 in Sanur
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing