We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family holiday and wedding venue”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday and wedding venue”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed at the Griya Santrian for two weeks in April 2011. I booked the trip with my girlfriend through travelmood and ended up getting married at the hotel!

Also staying at the hotel were my parents and my girlfriend's parents. We all travelled together from London. My Sister, her husband and her two children aged two and four travelled to Bali from New Zealand and also stayed at the Griya Santrian.

We had an amazing time at Griya and would recommend it to anyone.

The hotel rooms are arranged in a narrow strip of land which leads from the beach back towards the main road. There are three pools in the ground, the main pool nearest the beach is the liveliest. There are plenty of sun loungers around this pool and on the beach, a swim-up bar and a childrens paddling pool. The second pool is beautiful with a raised Jacuzzi and some shaded areas. The third pool is fairly plain but lovely. The grounds around the hotel are beautiful.

The beach at Sanur is not as beautiful as some others in Bali. The tide was strong when we were there and in the afternoons it was too shallow to swim. At full tide it was still fairly shallow and good for swimming. The sand isn’t the finest and the drop off to the sea is fairly steep. However, the sea is calm thanks to the reef which makes the beach suitable for children and relaxing swimming. It’s also possible to use the hotel’s kayaks to explore the shoreline. I hired a wind surfer from a stall close to the hotel on a couple of windier days which was great fun (cost around 150,000rp). I also hired a surfboard and surfed the reef break at high tide which was fairly beginner friendly. The best thing about the beach was the view, especially at sunrise (I’ve attached a couple of pictures). The bay sweeps round to the left and the volcano looms in the distance. There is a lovely brick walkway running the length of Sanur beach which is a lovely walk.

My sister and her family stayed in a large room near the main pool which is located closest to the beach. The room was very large and the hotel supplied two fold up beds for the children. In the room was a large TV and DVD player which was great to keep the kids entertained.

Both sets of parents also stayed near the main pool back towards the gallery. Their rooms were spacious and peaceful but were showing their age. They were comfortable enough but could do with some updating.

Initially my girlfriend and I stayed in a room around the third pool. The room was a little disappointing. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious but slightly run down and smelt slightly damp. It wasn’t a bad room but could have been nicer. We only stayed in this room for two nights and were upgraded to the honeymoon suite after deciding to get married at the hotel. The honeymoon suite was beautiful. It was huge, modern and luxurious.

We decided to book our wedding when we arrived at the hotel. We spoke to someone at reception, chose our package and a date and all the work was done for us. The wedding ceremony was held in a marquee on the beach and my girlfriend (wife) and I had a suit and dress made in town. It was a zero stress wedding and was perfect.

The restaurant at the hotel was great, it’s one of the nicest ones along the beach and the seafood barbeque was excellent. The hotel was great for the kids, they loved the pools and the beach. The staff were all lovely, friendly and accommodating.

There are plenty of things to do around Sanur. The town itself has several decent shops and restaurants. There are a few lively bars near the hotel – the Parrot bar at the end of the road has a surprisingly good irish / Balinese band. Trips to Kuta and Ubud take around 45 minutes. Kuta beach was disgusting though, rubbish everywhere, you could barely swim for all the plastic bags. We visited the water-bom waterpark which the kids loved and was a really good trip. A trip to the Puri Santrain sister hotel is also recommended.

The Griya Santrain was the perfect venue for our family holiday and wedding. I’d highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinMCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    530
    131
    44
    15
See reviews for
382
756
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This is such a lovely hotel. Great atmosphere by any of the 3 pools, staff is lovely and the beach front is not littered with rubbish. A short stroll to shops and restaurants and you don't get hassled every metre as in Kuta. My only complaint was the stone used in shower and the smell that came through drain of it, bring your haviannas.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We only stayed 2 nights near the end of April and thoroughly loved GS. From the cold towels on arrival, the perfectly manicured gardens as we were shown to our rooms, to the choice of three pools, we felt we'd made a great decision choosing GS for our short stay. We were upgraded to a suite which was very spacious with a separate sitting area and large comfy bed. The bathroom was a little tired and could do with a little TLC, though still decent size with plenty of both hot water and water pressure.
We didn't include breakfast with our booking, and it was still cheap - I find we never get value for money from paying for a buffett when we only seem to have toast and fruit with coffee and juice.
And the location was fantastic - love the Sanur beach path and sitting out at one of their lounges to enjoy the cool evening sea breeze with a wine or beer.
Could happily spend a few more days there if we get back to Sanur.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed in a beach wing room, at the Griya Santrian for twelve nights over the Easter holidays.

Our room was large clean bright & Spacious with plenty of storage space. The bathroom was a little on the old side, but still very clean. We had tea/coffee making facilites - fridge - TV & a safe in our room.

The reception are is a nice open area with free WiFi, but nothing special.

The hotel has got three swimming pools, two small ones in the garden wing, one main one with swim up bar that leads out onto the beach. The hotel gardens are well kept,and the seating area out on the beach is lovely. Every morning the hotel staff sweep the beach path, and rake the beach area where the sun loungers are.

We found the hotel staff to all be friendly & Polite.

For breakfast you have a choice of cereal-fruit-cold meats-cheese-crossiants-buns-rice-bacon-tomatoes-beans-pancakes-springroll-eggs done any style(omelette-boiled-poached-fried-scrambelled)and some kind of potatoes dish.

We also had lunch a couple of times, and although the food was very nice the service was very slow.

The location of the hotel is brilliant, you can walk to a large selection of shops bars and restaurants either from the main entrance up the main road or along the beach path.

Loved this hotel,and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Gria Santrian for a week in May 2011 and had a great time. The rooms are a good size and clean in a very attractive garden setting. The only negative comment we make is that the restaurant/bar staff service is slow which I attributed to poor or no supervision. This did not ruin the holiday though because there are plenty of other restaurants/bars nearby. Wifi was available free to guests but only in the lobby which was a nuisance. We have been to Bali many times before but this was the first time we stayed at Sanur and will be staying in Sanur in future. My wife and I both remarked that it reminded us of Koh Samui, only better

Room Tip: Beach wing rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JHMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We found this hotel to be very clean and well kept. The staff around the pool and restaurant were very nice, whereas one of the men at the reception desk was not so friendly. The restaurant was just ok, not great, but in a pretty setting right on the beach. The hotel grounds are very pretty and our room was nice. It seems to be quite popular since the hotel was nearly full, while the other hotels along the beach were pretty empty. Also all the taxi drivers hang-out at the entrance on the street just waiting for the guests to come out and need a ride somewhere. It becomes annoying after a while since they don't accept a friendly 'no thanks' answer, but instead follow you for 10 minutes trying to get you to go somewhere and asking questions. Other than the taxi drivers, the Balenese people are generally very nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleonore70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights here recently. We stayed in the older section, however rooms were great. The bedroom was large and fairly modern. The bathroom was older, but still clean and adequate.
The location of the hotel was excellent, everything within walking distance and right on the beach.
The pool and swim up bar was great, as was the beach.
The staff were all lovely, especially the staff on the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomsingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing