We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No surprises”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
perth, australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“No surprises”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

A very good hotel with good facilities and grounds. Clean and well maintained. Staff were always pleasant and friendly. Good choice at breakfast, at times people had to wait to get a seat for breakfast as it was fairly busy. no problems for lunch or dinner though.
Had a couple of nice buffet meals which were a little expensive for Bali standards but lots of choice and good quality.
Deluxe rooms were of a high standard, the only thing I would like to see is the room tv's updated.
Pools were excellent. But the arrogant Germans and Dutch around them were a problem by hogging the loungers from very early by putting towels on them and not using them for the first 2-3 hours. GET YOURS IN EARLY.
Would definately go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aljahael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    532
    131
    44
    15
See reviews for
384
765
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed in a deluxe room for 6 nights mid February which was in a great spot. 50 steps to the beach - pool even closer. The room was comfortable enough but the best part was the huge shower. Fantastic! But as most people say, it does take a long time for the hot water to come on. It was very clean and spacious and the air conditioning was excellent. This resort is in a great spot and close to everything. I agree you must try 'Mona Lisa'. The food is fantastic. I found the beach quite OK to swim - yes it does have a lot of weed but it's still OK. I found the beach front quite narrow though compared to the Bail Hyatt. Not too many beach beds were able to fit on the Griya's beach front and for that reason you always had to get up early and put your towel on them to reserve a spot for the day. But that's not the Griya's fault of course. I also liked the pathway along the beachfront. I went jogging every morning - fabulous.

Some things that I thought weren't the best was: the quality of the food I found quite poor and the service was very slow.

All in all we had a lovely stay at the Griya and would recommend this resort to my friends. If I came back to Sanur I would stay again - just eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank remingtonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Pros: Rooms are magnificent and spacious. excellent pool facilities,

Cons:
1. hot water takes a while to come on.
2. no WIFI in rooms, only in lobby.
3. you're not allowed to hang your wet laundry on the porch,
4. restaurant staff frequently make mistakes with food orders.
5. service could be better. It's such a popular place so staff don't remember your name or room no, gardeners and other staff don't say hello etc.
6. layout of resort is a bit of a maze.
7. Sanur beach is not a great place for swimming. Too many weeds. I think it's a man-made beach?
8. there's no gift shop.

Despite all the cons, I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

If you are looking for a massive resort with a grand entrance with an airconditioned lobby. This one isnt for you. This to me was bali!! Small resort with three beautiful swimming pools. Resort sits right on the beachfront and has a lovely gazebo and lounges on beach. We did a lot of walking and this resort was the most well presented along the beachfront. We stayed in the garden wing which was right at the back of the resort (not a big problem as had own private pool and not a big walk to beachfront). Now our room was probably the only downfall. If I was to book again I would request a new room as these ones looked amazing. Our room was good enough for us but a few little things i will comment on were: power point did not work, mini fridge wasnt very cold, bathroom tiny, had to shut door to use sink.

Apart from that the room was cleaned every day with bottles of water, airconditioner worked really well, very sound proof, had a nice balcony overlooking the pool, bed was comfy.

The included brekky was nice. Eggs made any way you liked, fruit, cereal, different hot foods everyday,(baked beans, pancakes, springrolls, rice, noodles etc). Recommend including brekky.

Great location lots of restaurants outside on street, (try Mona Lisa, lovely!) Also lots of lovely places to eat along beachfront which were not as pricey as resort, and usually cooler breeze along beachfront. Sindhu beach markets (turn left walking onto beach from resort) Everything you need is in Sanur without the crowds and nightclubs.

As we didnt have kids with us, it didnt look like they had kids club or other kids activity. I would prob suggest for kids Segara Village, Bali Hyatt or Sanur beach hotel, they all had kids clubs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baliky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in January 2011. Got upgraded to a Santrian suite – these rooms are magnificent. Huge bedroom and sitting room Similar sized bathroom and dressing room. Think we got upgraded as I had booked a renovated room, so make sure you do this - don't just go for the chepaest option.

This hotel benefits from being Indonesian run as the staff tend to be more easy going and friendly than the Western run which seem to emphasise training over a local welcome.

The three pools are great, there is a front main pool and bar. The middle pool is very stylish with water features. The back pool is a glamorous simple minimalist pool.

Breakfast was a special $5 offer, it was pretty good. Definitely enough of a range of fruit and hot offerings for us, situated in the restaurant right on the beach. Don’t miss the beach barbeque on Monday night. Room service was excellent the first night we arrived. The hotel is well located on the beach and just a quick walk to the Sanur shops.

Hire one of the hotel bikes and ride the boardwalk. The middle of the day is not a bad option as there are less people around when it’s hot.

Overall we would rate this hotel very highly. Our room was beautiful and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Only drawback was I was travelling with a teenager and Sanur is a place for younger families and older couples. I wanted to go back there again after 20 years to see how it had changed. My daughter liked it but for her it didn’t have the vibe of Seminyak and Legian.

So if you are looking for a quieter place in Bali then Sanur is definitely it and the Griya Santrian a beautiful option. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

we stayed at the Griya Santrian for five nights . The first room we were escorted to (which we had booked in advance) was old tired and a little worn out (just like me).It also had a mouldy smell To be frank the room was not up to standard and we felt like we had to see if we could upgrade. People on here before have stated the response from reception staff to the request to be upgraded was that we had already been upgraded ( would hate to see the room we were originally programmed for if this was the case.) We were told however for a US$35 per night fee that we could have a deluxe room.after a discussion we negotiated the fee down to US$30) per night. This room was clean modern and welcoming. What a difference!!!!
The price we paid for the room did not include breakfast (at US$16 for breakfast this would have been a rip off)but the hotel offered a scaled down version of the buffet breakfast that was only US$5 + taxes which was very good value for money
Its walking distance to the major shopping centre (Hardy s) and has plenty of very adequate restaurants close by (we preferred Mona Lisas)
All in all staff were friendly,gardens superb and we had a good time there. Would stay again but only in the deluxe modern rooms

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrchrisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Griya Santrian for holidays over the last twenty years,over the years we have noticed that Aussie’s don’t have breakfast included in the room rate and have to pay an extra US$12 p/p for the privilege, where as Europeans have b/fast included in the room rate. When we queried this discrepancy with hotel management we were told it was because of “different markets”. However, even if you book the holiday with an Indonesian Agency, the rate Aussies pay is higher than for Europeans, therefore Griya’s policy is based on “Race” not “Markets”.
We believe that this policy is unfair and that Griya and Puri Santrian Management should reconsider their position. Unfortunately for us, as a matter of principle we won’t be staying at Griya unless this discriminatory policy is dumped.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinceandmarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing