We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time staying in a villa and I was impressed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bali Sanur Beach Villas
Ranked #49 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Reviewed August 2, 2013

There was a group of 11 of us who booked out villas 2,3 and 4 from 13 - 16 July. We had a late check out in villa 2 only so the rest of the group checked out of villa 3 and 4 before 12 noon and we all utilised villa 2 until departure. There was an adjoining gate between villa 3 and 4 which meant the main gates could remain locked and those staying in those villas could go between the villas with ease. I stayed in the main room in villa 2 and what can I say. As I said in the title, this was the first time I have stayed in a private villa (have always stayed in budget hotels) after 11 trips to Bali and it will be very hard, if not impossible to go back. From the initial contact with Cindy, through to booking and finally checking in was very easy. I had to make several changes over the period between booking and arriving and Cindy was always accommodating, easy to deal with and quick to respond. We were met by Mohammed upon arrival to the villas and shown around. He was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, not that we had any issues while there. All 3 villas were identical in layout with only a few differences between decor. On entering through the front gate there is a spacious kitchen/dining/lounge room which is well appointed with a full size fridge, microwave, stove top, granite bench top kitchen, 6 seater dining table, 6 person, comfortable lounge, water dispenser with hot and cold water and ipod dock. This area is equipped with an air conditioner which works very well. There are 2 sets of glass sliding doors opening out onto the pool area so you can open the room up as well. At the end of the pool there are two separate bedrooms. One room has a queen bed while the other has 2 single beds however these can be put together to make a double bed. Both rooms had a good size ensuite with wardrobe space enabling you to unpack and feel more at home. To the left of the pool is the master suite which is extremely spacious and very well appointed. The king size bed is extremely comfortable. There are bedside tables on either side of the bed with bed lamps which allows you to read while in bed without having the main light on. There is a dressing table with a chair which gives you an area to set up a laptop or just put your handbag etc. The bedroom has double glass sliding doors that open out onto the pool area. Off the bedroom is a large and well equipped dressing room with ample hanging space and shelving for all your clothing, shopping and suitcases etc. The is also a desk under the window which looks out to the pool area which acts as extra bench space for placing belongings. There is a lockable doorway between the bedroom and dressing room with frosted glass which allows you to close of the extra space when the air conditioner is on in the bedroom if you want. There is a safe in the wardrobe to lock your passports, extra cash and valuables away. A full size ironing board and iron are also supplied and can be found behind the door in the dressing room. The dressing room opens into a large and luxurious bathroom with a full size bath, double shower, toilet and good size vanity with sink. There are cupboards and shelves available to store all your toiletries requirements. There is a good size mirror above the sink which is good for doing your hair and/or makeup etc. My only small gripe which was not a major issue was that it would benefit with maybe a little extra lighting above the mirror however the lighting in the bathroom is sufficient. Good quality, clean bath towels, hand towel and face washer were all supplied each day in the bathroom and good quality, clean pool towels were supplied on the stool at the foot of the bed. The pool is small but sufficient and very clean and well maintained. There are a couple of sun lounges to relax on next to the pool and a comfortable bale at one end of the pool which is a great spot to relax, read or even have a bit of a nap. The location of these villas is fantastic. They are in the driveway to the Griya Santrian just meters away from Jalan Danau Tamblingan. There is The Wicked Parrot and Starbucks on the corners where you come out onto the main street with Mona Lisa across the road to the right and Warung Pregina across the road to the left. It is an easy 5-10 minute walk to Hardys and there are many fantastic restaurants very close by. It is a quick 5 minute walk through to the beach which gives you a further selection of good restaurants nearby. If you don't feel like going out there are also options for delivery supplied in their information booklet which is located in the lounge room. There is everything you will need basically on your doorstep as far as shopping, currency exchange, laundry etc. I would highly recommend these villas to anyone looking for something a little bit special. They are very reasonably priced for what they offer and their location. The only things that I could recommend to improve these villas would be supplying tea towels in the kitchen area in case you wish to cook for yourself and perhaps having a key for the kitchen/lounge room on the key rings for each of the rooms so that if people wish to go off in their own direction during their stay and then return to the villa at different times you can access this area. Neither of these is a major issue and can be worked around to a certain extent but would make life a little easier. I would not hesitate to recommend these villas to anyone and if fact most of the group are looking to stay here again in July 2014 if they in deed travel to Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in Villa 3 first week July 2013. Spacious comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. Pool clean and big enough. Clean and comfortable inside and out. Great location on grounds of two hotels and access to beach and close to good restaurants. Don't order room service from Vila Shanti Hotel, it is terrible food. Pizzas from The Village nearby much better and close to pick up. Water pressure in shower of master bathroom was not adequate but as there is a second shower over bath which is good so this was not an issue for us. On site service was excellent. Mosquitos in room first night so Mohammed (manager) brought us insect spray. Musty smell we had read about in reviews and emailed owners about was still present in kitchen/living area despite having been told it was fixed. Mohammed assisted again by bringing air freshener. More a cover up than solution but it was some improvement and appreciated when all we wanted was to relax and have no hassles. Towels were supplied for pool and bathroom as well as hand towels and facecloths and were good standard. Air conditioning was on for our arrival and worked well. Good service from Nano who safely drove us to and from airport. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Villa 3 has very high steps at the entrance. Also there is currently a musty smell due to water dama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank secondglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We travelled as a group of four ladies, and the Villa was perfect. We were in Villa 2, the master bedroom is huge with a large walk in robe, bath and shower, one bedroom has two singles and it's own well appointed bathroom with shower and robe, the third bedroom queen bed and well appointed and clean bathroom with shower and robe. All of the rooms have their own safe. The lounge and dining room were perfect, and a great spot to all get together in the morning for coffee before hitting the shops. There are loads of restaurants nearby, security staff outside the villa, a walk to the beach, the hotel on the beach next door does a great buffet breakfast. I used one of the drivers that were outside the villa but in the grounds called "Made" pronounced Marday, he was fantastic. These villas are ideal for groups and couples, and would be great if you had older children, very young children could be tricky unless you kept them in your room with you, and the master bedroom has plenty of room to set up another bed/cot if you did require one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troppokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just returned from a week in Villa 2. We found the Villa perfect for our needs. The location is ideal, surrounded by restaurants, shops, supermarkets, laundry, currency exchange and of course the beach. The location is secure with security staff close by. The area around the villa is lovely, clean and quiet and has some lovely big trees nearby. There is a convenient path that will take you straight onto the beach, you could not get much closer. The staff that came to clean were very discreet and would come and go while we were out, and did a good job. The water cooler/urn was a bonus, much better idea than all those plastic bottles that the hotels are putting out into the environment. Hardys supermarket is a 10 minute stroll to stock up your supplies and the Bread Basket is close by and open at 7am for bread if you want to make breakfast in your Villa like we did. The Villa has a really good refrigerator which made ice quickly and kept our drinks nice and cold. The pool was the best part as we could come home after dinner and have a swim, which you are unable to do in a resort as they always close their pools around 8pm. There are a lot of really nice restaurants along the main road but if you head down some of the gangs you will find more basic places but with good tasty food at even better prices ( to me a bit more like Bali had 20 years ago) Overall these Villas are excellent value. We only used two rooms but I would of been happy with this price even using one bedroom. The only fault for us is that there were no ceiling fans. I would much rather have a fan going during the day than an air conditioner but that is personal preference. Lastly there is no noise or any disturbance of any sort. Did not see any nearby construction and can not even fathom how any construction that may have been happening at the Griya Santrian Hotel could affect these Villas anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weary-traveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We are a group of 4 ladies, first time to Sanur and first stay in a villa. We loved both! We had villa no. 2. It was lovely, clean, secure, well appointed and it really is so great to have the privacy of your own sparkling pool after a busy day shopping or touring or even for a late night dip to cool off after dinner. Villas are in a great central position in Sanur. Great staff - Nano was waiting patiently for us at the airport and we arranged tours with him or his cousin Ketut as Nano was already booked. Mohammed and his staff keep everything clean and running smoothly. We liked the Rib restaurant, just over the road for breakfast - big breaky for around $5. Would give the Griya Santrian breakfast a miss. Lots of options for dinner in Sanur too. Definitely recommend and priced well too!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emugirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Villas are centrally located, clean & well maintained. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms well appointed. Water pressure a little light but manageable. kitchen area a little musty but solved by opening up for a little while. short walk to the beach where there are a couple of massage ladies - Ketut is very good. Nano - the recommended driver is a gem - highly recommend. A short walk to everything Sanur has to offer. suggest the Mona Lisa cafe for breakfast - just across the road to the right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived in Bali around 1.30pm on May 7th 2013 and was picked up by Nano Driver/guide who was just wonderful and easy to talk to - i think he may of thought we were a little nuts 4, 40 something housewives from New Zealand ready to do everything and anything a little overwhelming but he coped.
Drive from airport to villas took around 40 minutes traffic is insane in bali we were not prepared for this and you must allow extra time when doing tours and traveling around.
At the villas, # 2 we were greeted by delightful staff members and smiley mohammed who was assigned to us and i might add looked after us well even got rid of kitten that was stuck in the grounds of our villa and got us extra wine glasses too which were well used, the villa was serviced every morning and was of a very high standard.
The rooms were fabulous and very roomy the master was huge could have fitted a small family in that one, other than a little damp smell in the other double room bathroom and kitchen (small leak i think? but was not a problem, not in either rooms longer enough to be one). beds firm and comfortable, water pressure just fine and lots of hot water, Air con worked perfectly. Pool was clean and clear and was well used. When doing tours mention on the phone to operators that the villas are located in the grounds of the other two resorts as they really struggle to find Bali sanur beach villas.
cant comment on chairs etc out front of resorts as we never used them, the pools looked nice but also never used we were to busy doing tours.

Just a couple of things to note if you are a group of ladies it would be a good idea to bring your
hairdryers as the villa only provides one (standard) we didn't bring any so brought some from local supermarket called Hardys, honestly bali hairdryers not made for speed or heat.
Another handy hint if you like a few nightcaps at night before bed and like ice in your drinks as we did, highly recommend you bring plastic ice trays,we did- i am sure your can buy them at Hardys, they were fantastic.
Finally the water cooler was a life saver and quite frankly the best idea i have ever seen in such a hot country, I hope other villas in other places do this it was fantastic.
We have no problem recommending the villas, its great for families and groups.

Just one more little foot note if you wanting to do some fantastic tours put on your list
Mountain Trekking up Mt Batur, cycling tours around ubud, Buggy riding, Anything with elephants, Sea Walking(amazing a must do), Island tours, Cooking Classes (try and find hands on ones not demonstrations) Shopping malls: we found the Galleria(not duty free one) great and Discovery mall also quite good, the Centra next to discovery very expensive we were told.

Thank you Cindy and to all your staff, the housewives will have so many fond memories
of Bali.
Kind Regards
Nicky

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sanur Beach Villas
Sanur Beach Villas
#27 of 146 in Sanur
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parigata Villas Resort
Parigata Villas Resort
#20 of 82 in Sanur
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ajanta Villas
Ajanta Villas
#3 of 146 in Sanur
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Sanur Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Sanur Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Sanur Beach Villas

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan | Located inside Griya Santrian Resort Grounds & Vila Shanti Hotel Grounds Jl. Danau Tamblingan Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range: $92 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bali Sanur Beach Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing