We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stana Puri Gopa Hotel
Ranked #68 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We had a nice stay at this hotel. It was very close to the beach (though not directly on it - we weren't travelling on a five-star budget) which was perhaps not the best swimming beach in Bali but still nice to lie on the beach lounges with a welcome sea breeze in an otherwise very hot and humid climate. The hotel also has a lovely pool which is a must when staying in Bali!

We were in the Puri Suite, which had a canopied bed, large bathroom and large veranda with a Balinese lounge. The only drawbacks were that the sheets had seen better days, the advertised "whisper-quiet" air-con was not particularly quiet (though I guess not annoyingly loud either) and a number of centipede-like creatures managed to get into the bathroom.

The food in the restaurant was decent but nothing to write home about (breakfast was included in our package as was one dinner, but we preferred to eat at the restaurants on the beach to take advantage of the breeze).

All in all we enjoyed our stay. It helps to remember not to have 5-star expectations when you're staying in a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grenouille24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    49
    33
    15
    13
See reviews for
30
54
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Stayed for 5 nights on Hello-Bali package. Thought the price was great for the deal but you get what you pay for in this case! The setting was lovely, pool attractive and clean. The rooms were dark and bathrooms need some TLC. Our aircondtioner didnt cope and kept changing itself from 18 degrees - we'd wake up in the night roasting and it was at 24!.
The houskeeping staff were very quick to make up the room when we had breakfast but apart from making the beds and changing towels seemed to forget about emptying bins and giving us clean drinking glasses. There is no tea/coffee facilities in the room. Quite basic really.
The resterant was not good. Breakfast was ok - but no fresh juices as the blender had broken and had not been replaced. Toast was hot and yummy, but the young boys who were serving were not very good with their English and kept saying "What??" very loudly and although they didnt mean it, it sounded rude. They often got orders wrong and didnt listen.
We had a free set menu meal included as part of our package with a special drink. There was no one at the resturant any night so we were a little wary. The special drink turned out to be water! We tried to order coke, Bintang, juice at our own cost, but they had none in stock - we got our coke from our rooms that I had bought at the supermarket!. The food took ages to arrive. They apologized because the chicken and corn soup was only chicken as they had no corn.. The meals were not very good and my 8 yr old was looking forward to the icecream which was dessert...but they didnt have icecream!- only melon slices - she was not happy so we went for a walk after dinner in search of ice cream. Internet didnt work and the staff seemed in no hurry to fix it.
Overall it was ok, but not up to standard - the staff didnt seem to care that they didnt have what was expected, particularly in the resturant. Couldnt have a spicy nasi goreng because they had no chillies!! This is indonesia!!
One of the staff seemed to want to recommend his friends all the time, when we never responded he was very grumpy which made us uncomfortable. Wouldnt stay there again - i'm sure there would be better places in Sanur - the location was good though. It was a shame because I like the idea of a smaller hotel which is family owned rather than a corporate business, But I guess nothing would be good after staying at Tegal Sari in Ubud!!

  • Liked — The Balinese compound setting
  • Disliked — The service and resturant
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We arrived in Bali at night and were met at the airport by the hotel taxi (which is free if staying for 3 nights or longer). Upon arrival at the hotel and checking in we walked thru a little midnight wonderland to get to our room. We had a double deluxe room with an extra mattress put in. The room was very large and had a lovely wooden Balinese ceiling. The entrance and little porch was lovely with a gorgeous Balinese coloured door and the porch looked out right over the pool and gardens.
The only thing that was not quite up to standard was the bathroom. Very clean but in need of a face lift. But having said that and stayed in several hotels thru our stay in Indonesia most of the bathrooms were not up to standard.

There is an ATM just a few metres away. The beach is just a couple of minutes walk away.

Breakfast was good and quite average for Bali. The food in the restaurant was very good and like the rest of Bali very cheap.

The reception staff were very friendly, polite and helpful.

We enjoyed the pool alot - not very big but a lovely atmosphere.

Sanur itself is not a place I would recommend for a very long stay. Infact the best way to see Bali is to spend a couple of nights in different places around the island .

I would highly recomment this hotel to anyone wishing a quiet little hideaway - something different from the big resorts and excellent value.

  • Liked — The ambience
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Windfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, U.K
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Read the reviews on here and decided to try Puri Gopa for three nights. On the plus side, the pool though small is quite attractive and the rooms have nice Balinese designs, also the internet works and you can get to the beach and the street easily. The staff were friendly although a few of the guys working there try to push you towards getting taxis, having massages, renting motorbikes no doubt for a commision. This is fine but not when they become persistent.

The room was simple, a little dark, the bed was quite comfortable but the bathroom had seen better days. A little too basic for $45 a night in Bali. Also the towels were threadbare on more than one occassion.

Up to there it's three stars out of five but what made me put it one lower is the restaurant. Dimly lit with bare white light, in the evening no one ate there. I sat at the bar for a beer once, a grim place indeed. The breakfast was just awful. Flies buzzed over cold toast, cold hard pancakes, cold sausages and cold noodles with spinach. That was it! We thought it was all that was left when we ate at 9.30 but the next day we ate at 8am and it was just as bad.

In this price range there are much better options.

Pete 29, UK.

  • Liked — The Balinese design
  • Disliked — The terrible breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

My wife and I spent a night at Stana, and it is a great place if you are looking for good value. It is quiet and is about 5 minutes walk from the beach. We paid USD35 for a very decent room and hearty breakfast. Our experience with the staff was very pleasant, although sometimes inconsistent. 1 of the staff went all the way to help us in our bookings for our itinerary, which we appreciated very much because we were on a free and easy trip. Overall, it is a nice place if you just want to relax and enjoy some peace (away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta). The nearby beach is not the best though...

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Front Desk
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2007

My daughter (12) and myself ,a working mum had very peaceful 10 days.The staff was really so kind ,caring and friendly. I look forward to go back again.We had the villa and I slept very nicely while my daughter enjoyed the pool. The best part was always a chance to swim abit before off to bed! The internet works too. Puri Gopa was like our home away from home!

  • Liked — the place,the staff
  • Disliked — not here in Austria
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travellingmommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

this is a great budget hotel in a great position. the hotel is a small family hotel situated in Jl kesumasari cemara beach sanur. it is a short 2 -3 minute walk to the beach and right near transport, restaurants and shopping.
the deluxe rooms, family rooms and puri suite are located around the pool. the doors to the rooms have intricate carving and this combined with the great pool complete a real 'balinese atmosphere'. the rooms are a reasonable size with a queen or twin beds and room for a spare mattress. there is a mini bar large wardrobe and dressing table. the bathroom is large with a shower and bathtub. the lights are a little dim but staff soon supplied us with a brighter bulb! there is a nice patio with 2 chairs and a table. the restaurant serves a good breakfast with a good variety of breakfast options. i found their lunch and dinner menu was very reasonably priced. there are a number of standard rooms which seem to be upstairs and i believe they have an ocean view. the staff are very pleasant and helpful. there are security boxes at reception. i would highly recommend this hotel for people wanting a great value hotel. we stayed nearly two weeks here on this trip and had a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — good value for money
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.9 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#52 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#37 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agung & Sue Watering Hole II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sukun Bali Cottages
Sukun Bali Cottages
#63 of 76 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#43 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.2 mi away
Puri Dalem Hotel
Puri Dalem Hotel
#51 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stana Puri Gopa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stana Puri Gopa Hotel

Property: Stana Puri Gopa Hotel
Address: Jl. Kesuma Sari No. 4, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stana Puri Gopa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stana Puri Gopa Hotel in Indonesia is architecturally inspired by traditional Balinese structure. Hidden within lush gardens, this Sanur accommodation is close to the beach, local market, gift shops, and pubs. Its private villas have a pool and functional facilities like cable television and IDD telephone. Guided Bali tours, water sports activities, restaurant, room service, and Internet connection are some fun treats to look forward at this Bali hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Stana Puri Gopa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stana Puri Gopa Resort
Stana Puri Gopa Sanur
Stana Puri Gopa Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing