We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Beautiful Beach Resort”
Review of Tandjung Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tandjung Sari
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic and Beautiful Beach Resort”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a beautiful stay in one of the beachfront villas, with own garden and terrace, and from the first floor room overlooking the palm trees, beach, corals and sea. Very nice and friendly service from early morning breakfast to late night bar. Very good breakfast with many choices of your own, and generally high standards of food and drinks. This is a resort where you really feel relaxed and as close to paradise as you can get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svend G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    108
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
122
292
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Point, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Tandjung Sari is a gorgeous hotel with so much of the olde world of Bali still on offer, but with some of the modern touches as well.
The rooms are a little tired, but they are clean and well maintained. Tea and coffee making fascilities are not always available in some Bali Hotels, (or in fact quite a few hotels around the world) but they are available here.
The food is wonderful, the staff absolutely superb, the pool and gardens well maintained and gorgeous. Shopping in the gift shop here was a delight, what they didn't have for us they got by the next day and all was of good quality and just that little bit different.
Been to Sanur many times, this year the first time at the Tandjung Sari in January, but going back again next January. It has become our hotel of choice in Bali now.

Room Tip: Aim for a room down near the beach if possible. Private and the sound of the waves wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have stayed here for three days and loved the place. Especially the villas toward the sea and the pool are nice and more quiet than the ones in the 'village'. Beatifully furnished, with lot of antiques. Nice restaurant by the sea, perfect spot to enjoy lazy breakfasts or to have dinner.
Very clean and nice and attentive staff. Only thing that bothered me was that my room was sharing a wall to the kitchen and sometimes it could get quite noisy and the smells - although nice - a bit overpowering. I would go back there when next staying in Sanur or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisalto a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is our 3rd trip here and I think the service and accommodation is getting better each visit. We stayed in the recently renovated village bungalow and were very impressed. The bathrooms and storage areas are much improved with that old world charm still evident. This is not the place for you if you need a big screen TV ( there is no TV) or good wifi back it drops out every 5 minutes. It is the place for you if you enjoy surrounding yourself with lovely people, gardens and rooms tactfully decked out with antique furniture.
The only slight quibble is that the restaurant menu is much more western that it was and the wonderful duck rapped in banana leaf is no longer on the menu. It is still a lovely place for a sundowner after a day of doing little.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haze95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ended our three week trip to Bali with four nights at the delightful Tandjung Sari. Our villa, set amongst beautifully kept gardens had two floors. Upstairs was a sitting room with loads of space. The bedroom was really charming with a huge bath all overlooking our own private garden. Quite the nicest accommodation of our trip. Had the best food of our trip too served either in the restaurant by the pool or beachside tables in open where several marvellous spreading trees provided natural shade. Very friend,y helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. I arranged two one to one yoga sessions while I was there which we did on the roof terrace overlooking the pool and beach. The sea has a reef which means safe swimming but only really deep enough at high tide. The pool was very nice with a shallow section for children. The beach is rather soulless by comparison to others we enjoyed on our trip. There's a path between hotel and beach which runs the length of the resort for walkers and cyclists. Sanur is full of restaurants of all kinds but we mainly ate at the hotel as the food was so good!

Room Tip: We stayed in 23 which was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July with a 3yo and 1yo and we all absolutely loved it. Our bungalow was private and functional for 2 young children taking naps and spending 'down' time in the air-con during the day. We had a private garden area that the children could play in - the landscaping around the hotel grounds provides privacy and intimacy for each bungalow. The included a la carte breakfast (choice of a fruit platter, tea/coffee, breads/pastries/croissants and a main) was very good and we all looked forward to it every morning. The pool was very clean and shaded during the day, and there was a shallow step area where my 3 year old enjoyed splashing about. Pool attendants were lovely, towels always in stock and they were always so quick to bring over beach toys for the children. The hotel location is awesome, right on the beach - we were able to eat breakfast and the children could play in the sand nearby once they were done. The hotel is close to many different eateries/bars and you can enjoy the beach path directly from the hotel in either direction. We hired bikes (with child seat attachments) from a vendor on the beach and we rode in both directions every day. Lots of places to eat and drink nearby.
The staff were all professional, friendly, discreet and kind. They were all so warm and natural to our children (and us) which made us feel very welcome and comfortable.
We hired a nanny through the hotel (had 2 different ones in total) and they were both excellent. It is a peaceful hotel, calm and tranquil and was perfect for our family. We loved everything about the Tandjung Sari and upon leaving booked our stay for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We only stayed for two nights and wished we had booked for much longer. The grounds were beautiful and the atmosphere was so calm and peaceful, perfect after a long flight from the UK. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and had nice touches such as the use of sarongs and straw hats. It also had a bath (if you like baths) that could have accommodated a family of four! The location was great, right on the beach and five minutes walk to all the restaurants in Sanur. Breakfast was excellent and we can also recommend Batu Jimbar in Sanur for an evening meal. The hotel staff were very pleasant and attentive and we would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Room 7 was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#1 of 78 in Sanur
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandjung Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandjung Sari

Property: Tandjung Sari
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan No. 41, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tandjung Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tandjung Sari was opened in 1962 and began as an extension of the family home of Indonesian proprietor Wija Wawo-Runtu. The hotel was named Tandjung Sari (cape of flowers) and initially developed as Bali's very first boutique property to be managed as a small family business catering to the needs of a privileged clientele. The scale of the entire complex was purposely kept low rise and the articulation of space together with the rambling indirectness of the path ways has generated a relaxed, leisurely pace. Operational for nearly half of a century, Tandjung Sari showcases an eclectic collection of rare Balinese and Dutch colonial artifacts as a tribute to the glorious past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tandjung Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tandjung Sari Hotel Sanur
Tandjung Sari Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing