We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat”
Review of Tandjung Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tandjung Sari
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a return visit to the Tandjung Sari for us and if anything it seems more superb than it was 8 years ago. The staff are discreet but very helpful and the whole property is spotless. Our room was a charming traditional building with an upstairs living room. The restaurant showcases the best of Indonesian food and the pool and beach simply wonderful. I enjoyed the massages at the onsite spa, particularly with the 50% discount for in-house clients. True luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    108
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
116
288
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Beautiful gardens, twin room worked well with our two children, pool was great for the 3 and 6 year olds, food was amazing. Definitely will come back. Hotel was very clean and hygienic
. Hired bikes on the promenade with training wheels and we rode together as a family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineFooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and it is like going back in time or that the clock has stopped. The room requires a fair bit of refurbishing if the hotel wants to stay competitive. The water taps practically drip and the bath areas can do with a good scrub themselves. The food at the restaurant for breakfast was basic and I was disappointed they do not have a wider variety of Indonesian fare. If you want laid back and rustic accommodation, this should suit you but do not expect too much.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LowTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Love the food,& beverage, love the ambiance,love the view, great service, it's a must visit if you are in Bali, especially if you love nature. Words could not express my feeling toward this lovely and such a paradise hotel for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabsJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

For the past 15 years we have become regular visitors to the Tandjung Sari and could not imagine staying elsewhere in Sanur. A perfect choice if you want a taste of the real Bali that is not so readily experienced in popular mainstream accommodation. The traditional architecture, gardens, position on the seafront and the beautiful pool and intimate restaurant setting with views towards Mt Agung add to the experience. The staff are attentive and caring. The very private, well designed bungalows are spacious and the Donald Friend original floor tiles in some are an added treat.
Tandjung Sari has become an addiction for me, my all time favourite Asian retreat.

Room Tip: Bungalows on the Gazebo Hotel side are originals and quieter if you ask for one closer to the sea th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Currumbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in Tandjung Sari Hotel. Bungalow # 6 from May 05 - 12. A fantastic hotel, with a top serviceminded staff. Directly on the beach you find the bar and restaurant with a comprehensive meny and exquisite food, serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
We will definitely return. Thank you for our best vacation ever !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trygve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed in Bungalow 2 for 4N and we absolutely loved this hotel. The bungalow was huge and very nice with a living room, mini fridge, 4 chair dining table, closets, big bath tub (with provided bubble bath), outdoor shower and private pavilion with seats for two. The beautiful landscaping was designed to optimize privacy and intimacy. The included breakfast was very good and my husband enjoyed his daily steak and eggs. The hotel has a salt water pool, a library, 2 pavilions with many chairs and couches, and beachside bar. The pads for the lounge chairs were picked up when not in use to maintain them and keep them in good condition and the pool guy was very attentive, running out with two pads for my husband and I as soon as he saw us heading for the chairs. The staff was incredible kind and friendly, constantly smiling and greeting you as you passed. The hotel was in a great location, on the beach and walking distance from many good restaurants, shops and markets both from the street and the beach promenade. The hotel did a great job of maintaining their beach by regularly racking it and cleaning any fallen leaves and such. The water itself had almost no waves but had some reeds and coral so be careful when you go in. The hotel also has turn down service and provided you with sarongs, straw hats, and umbrellas. My only complaints are: (1) I would order an over easy egg but would never get it; instead I either received an over hard egg or a sunny side up egg (2) the massage ladies, particularly on the left (if facing the ocean) were too aggressive asking if I wanted a massage/manicure/pedicure about 8 times daily, even after I said no repeatedly (3) the hotel worker that provides transportation was too aggressive about his taxi when we were checking out and was way too upset when we told him we were taking the bus and then lied to me telling me that the bus wasn't working that day. I don't appreciate being lied to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.9 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,495 reviews
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#1 of 78 in Sanur
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandjung Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandjung Sari

Property: Tandjung Sari
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan No. 41, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tandjung Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tandjung Sari was opened in 1962 and began as an extension of the family home of Indonesian proprietor Wija Wawo-Runtu. The hotel was named Tandjung Sari (cape of flowers) and initially developed as Bali's very first boutique property to be managed as a small family business catering to the needs of a privileged clientele. The scale of the entire complex was purposely kept low rise and the articulation of space together with the rambling indirectness of the path ways has generated a relaxed, leisurely pace. Operational for nearly half of a century, Tandjung Sari showcases an eclectic collection of rare Balinese and Dutch colonial artifacts as a tribute to the glorious past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tandjung Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tandjung Sari Hotel Sanur
Tandjung Sari Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing