We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An eye for detail”
Review of Tandjung Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tandjung Sari
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An eye for detail”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spectacular, beautifully placed on Sanur beach, it's truly a cape of flowers. Tropical lush, frangipani and the fresh smell in the air, the pavements engraved with leaves leaving a fossil, the warm and efficient people, truly remarkable.
The sea has a reef and a low tide and is not swim able. Although it is beautiful with views of nusa penida and gunung agung.
Excellent places to sample Balinese and sea food, one could walk or bicycle on the paved pathway running along the beach from north to south

Room Tip: Room no 24 has private garden and a verandah with views of the sea and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    108
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
114
286
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at Tandjung Sari. We love the peaceful relaxed atmosphere. On this occasion we were lucky enough to be there for the 50th anniversary celebration and to be invited to join in the celebration.
Tandjung Sari is for those who are looking for quality accommodation which is not your standard western resort style. It is safe, clean and generally of high standard. There is definitely some variation in the quality of rooms (we had 3 rooms) with the newer rooms of very high quality while one of our rooms was a little tired.
This is not cheap accommodation but we still found it good value for money if you value a quiet, Indonesian Sanur experience.
One down side would be the restaurant. Perhaps it is simply the local style, but service is slow and erratic. There is a new food pavilion which is exquisitely decorated in local style but the best tables are still those just off the beach by the pool where you can watch the world pass by.
One welcome addition this time around was the gift shop which had some really lovely wares at reasonable prices.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocHollday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a beautiful place, my husband and I stayed here for our last night in Bali - from arrival to departure it was an experience of excellence. This stunning Balinese style accommodation delivers in all ways. Our room was exquisite, the simple furnishings, the large deep bath the outside shower -all tastefully designed. The staff so professional and discreet.
Loved the pool and the access to the beach, such a peaceful setting.
We had to leave very early to catch our flight and were provided with a delicious breakfast to take with us. I would 100% recommend this place to anyone who wants to spend a few days in peaceful tranquility. We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suesproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived on a friday and were treated to the Tandjung Sari Foundation students going through their Legong exercises what a treat, rooms were great, service relaxed and the amenities first rate. I thought it may have been stuffy or formal but just the opposite. Wanted a gift from the shop that could not be sourced no problem, housekeeping found one for us, we will be back again.

Room Tip: 24 is a cracker
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewOTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
953 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Tandjung Sari hotel in Sanur takes me back to the Bali of old, the natural perfumed aroma of the gardens, to crisp traditional service all set in a tranquil environment far from the hussle of Legian or even Seminyak. Restaurant is good and reasonably priced. If staying more than a few days you should get breakfast included and free airport transfers. It's a slightly down market version of the Oberoi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the hotel. It was small and secluded. The villas each had their own private courtyard. The service and the staff were wonderful. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms had both in-door and out-door showers. A perfect hide-a-way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLTravelerAventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Have just had 3 nights here and could have stayed longer. the ambience is so relaxing. There is an authentic Balinese feel to this place that larger resorts cannot capture. The decor is charming and the staff friendly. breakfast is a la carte and very nice sitting by the pool overlooking the beach. Our bungalow was spacious and full of character. it is a small resort and the pool is little with no sun lounges around it but these are on the beach so easy to walk back for a swim. however the resort never feels crowded. the location is terrific. I know why people return year after year. I feel I too have discovered this little gem, which is fill of understated class, so will hopefully return some day. there is no loud music thumping by the pool (bliss) and discreet and well behaved guests who too seem to appreciate this oasis of calm. if you like glamorous, contemporary and big resorts don't stay here. if you appreciate, boutique style, no TV and a wonderful Balinese atmosphere, which is becoming rare in the over commercialisation of some parts of Bali, I would highly recommend Tandjung Sari.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.9 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.1 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#7 of 78 in Sanur
487 reviews
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#1 of 78 in Sanur
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandjung Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandjung Sari

Property: Tandjung Sari
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan No. 41, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tandjung Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tandjung Sari was opened in 1962 and began as an extension of the family home of Indonesian proprietor Wija Wawo-Runtu. The hotel was named Tandjung Sari (cape of flowers) and initially developed as Bali's very first boutique property to be managed as a small family business catering to the needs of a privileged clientele. The scale of the entire complex was purposely kept low rise and the articulation of space together with the rambling indirectness of the path ways has generated a relaxed, leisurely pace. Operational for nearly half of a century, Tandjung Sari showcases an eclectic collection of rare Balinese and Dutch colonial artifacts as a tribute to the glorious past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Tandjung Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tandjung Sari Hotel Sanur
Tandjung Sari Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing