We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamukami Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamukami Hotel
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at Tamukami for three nights. Overall it was a good hotel and we were pleased we picked it. It is one road back from the beach and very quiet. We were a litlle worried when we got our room (201) as it was right next to the restauant, but we didn't hear a thing (and one night were having drinks at out outdoor setting and listened to the musicians playing that evening.

The staff and room servicing was very good and the pool was clean and a perfect temp. As others have said, the rooms are a little outdated, but we got the larger of the room types and it was hugh. The bed was a little odd - it was two double beds pushed together - so it was larger than a king size but had an uncomfortable line down the middle!

We have breakfast included and it was fairly standard fair - no better or worse than anywhere else.

We got a deal one of the hotel sites and paid around $100US a night, which I thought was quite good value.

Others mentioned the owner... we did see him on arrival... he was a little odd... but that was the last we saw of him for the trip! It isn't a place you go to party, we are in our late 30's and probably decreased the avereage age of guests by several decades, but it was quiet, clean, comfortable and a good choice I think.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiegirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    166
    39
    8
    3
See reviews for
78
229
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Tamukami during the silence day on Bali. So our experience can be a little different than most visitors during the year. The hotel is clean and the pool was good. The rooms are very big and the showers are fine. For silence day they had prepared a fixed menu, which was pretty good. Especially the breakfast was rich and huge. We loved it. The hotel was way above our budget, but we wanted to spend silence day with our parents, who stayed here. Expect to pay a lot more then your average backpackers guest house, but go for this option if you want to splurge.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Sanur is a good area for restaurants and a great starting point for tours by land or by water. Tamukami is in the middle of the frontage road and is surrounded by many things to do. The hotel is also set back far enough from the road that you cannot hear any of the bustle when you are on the property or in your room.

The facilities are a bit dated but very well maintained and completely adequate. The motif is authentically Bali, but with a slight European influence. The food is good, but with so many surrounding options you may not eat here much.

All-in-all I am very pleased with the facility and the location for a one-week stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seawolf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I visited Bali from the UK for a friend's wedding. On balance of price and reviews, I chose Tamukami, and was so glad I did. It truly is paradise, quiet, excellent pool and surrounds with beautiful surrounds and flora. The bar and restaurant were excellent and I ate there every night bar 2 when other arrangements were in place. I think some of the reviews miss the point slightly in that it is an ornate and traditional place, not trying to compete with the chain hotels, and the owner is a charming man, whom the staff have the utmost respect and fondness for (I got to know most) and the flowers are donned by all, men and women alike, so he's not being smarmy or creepy at all, it's a Balinese tradition!! As for the menu being mainly European, that's nonsense, the franchisee and all staff are Balinese, and that's 85% of what they offer, and it is fantastic. The place won 2nd best Balinese restaurant in the region last year for goodness sake!! My only negatives would be that the room smelled a little damp, and the're was evidence of a past leak from above in several walls and ceiling areas, and it would have been nice to have coffee making facilities in the room, but all in all it's still 5/5 for me

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh270974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great staff, efficient, reasonable English, Rooms large and well cleaned and serviced, magnificient bathroom with separate shower and bath. Staff well supervised.
Food: well prepared in full view of dining room. Experienced long delays between courses especially on the fixed menu...30 minutes before course one and two is ridiculous. The quality of preparation varied too from about 7 to 10 out of ten.
My only problem is that I am an extreme asthmatic and was not told about the weekly fogging with insecticide for mosquitoes --dengue fever is in Bali! My first week threre the fogging was combined with a hand spraying for ants and fleas using an organic phosphate (the one that turns white in water and looks like greasy milk)!!!!! Result was a quick return home and two days in hospital with mild organo poisoning...headache, mouth blisters, raw throat, vomiting, etc.
The management gave me discount on unused days and Garuda let me fly a different date for $100 US.

Room Tip: Write down the following for emergencies: Saya perlu doctor--- I need a doctor Saya punya diari. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at Tamukami in March and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was huge for our family of 4 and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast included and it was adequate. The location of this hotel is terrific - close to many great restaurants, a short walk through The Sands across the road to the beach path and walking distance to Hardys. The only minor issue we had was that most other guests were older Europeans who seemed very put out by our kids being in the pool. Our boys were very well behaved and certainly not noisy at all but these older couples seemed to want the pool area to themselves. I would still definitely stay at Tamukami again but maybe not with children as it seems like most guests at this hotel prefer real peace and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We loved the large room and bathroom. It was very comfortable and the grounds and rooms were always kept clean. The staff were always helpful and amazing. The food was really nice. We will definitely be coming back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.7 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#11 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.7 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#24 of 74 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamukami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamukami Hotel

Property: Tamukami Hotel
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan 64X | Denpasar - Bali, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#13 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamukami Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tamukami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamukami Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing