We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Mental heaven out from Sanur hustle, yet still not far” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
kaMAYA Resort and Villas
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mental heaven out from Sanur hustle, yet still not far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in Villa with Pool. Great privacy and beautiful Kites on the sky giving Kite season feelings. Breakfast ok as continentals use to be. Staff helpful and shuttle service to Sanur and beach worked fine. If you want lot's os peole around you etc. choose Puri Santarian or Mercure. If you like silence and peace this can be your place. High tide swimming pissible in the beach, but low tide you must stay in the beach bar drinking Bintang.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darbuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    25
    5
    9
See reviews for
25
88
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zambales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

arrived at the resort wee hours of the morning and it was raining and we were very tired to our delight they have upgraded us to a villa with pool (villa bija) and the room was spectacularly beautiful!! quiet, nice bathroom, nice cozy bed...well we slept really really good woke up in the morning and they served our breakfast in the villa and the food was yes very yummy! we stayed there for a whole week and even extended our stay for another 2 nights (we stayed at villa dupa) because the place and bali is just lovely and we have tried all the breakfast menu and all was good...no complaints! very friendly very helpful staff.

In villa dupa it is a lovely room with a really nice bathroom the only problem is you can hear the plane because they only have grass roof unlike in villa bija the roof is concrete because there is a room on the top level so it is far more quiet.

if you want to tour bali ask the front desk and they would gladly arrange everything for you at reasonable prices.

yes the resort is a good walk or a taxi ride from the high street but it was all worth it you can take the scenic route by the beach or just get a cab and you won't even spend usd 10 because it is not that far. they even offer a free shuttle so no worries.

this is the place where you will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airpigdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We enjoyed everything about our villa. We splurged, for an extra $30 a night we had a private pool, which was amazing. Breakfast was brought to our villa each morning and we ate pool side. The room and bed our like out of a magazine. The staff was very friendly and helpful and all the food we are at the resort was great. We enjoyed dinner poolside 1 evening, it was magnificent! Also the prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: Pay the extra bit and get the private pool, so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodiSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely place . The people were so helpful and friendly . I was on crutches and they were really supportive . They organised us a motorbike which made getting around (re: ankle) much easier .

We stayed in the Lanai room with a private pool . It was extremely comfortable and just gorgeous . Traditional Balinese room n roof, and gorgeous bed . Outdoor bathroom with sunken bath . Very clean .

Read in reviews that there were lots of mozzies, but we didn't get any .

Food on menu was yum . Strawberry ice cream was nice mmmmm . Not much variety if a vego (I am) and a little pricey but usual for this type of place . Room service was super fast and breakfast was truly AMAZING!!

In a really great spot, down a lovely lane . Not smack bang in Sanur but very easy to get to . kaMaya staff organise a car to take you to town or bike is super easy as Saunur isn't that busy .

Great place to land after a flight . Would def stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Estelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This resort was once quiet beautiful, however it is now rundown and is currently being renovated. One villa was being totally demolished and another had large renovations being carried out. The noise of banging started at 7am until late including Sunday. Building workers were walking past us with building rubble on their backs whilst we were trying to enjoy breakfast by the pool. ( very unpleasant for them and us). Totally unacceptable as there is an abundance of more suitable accommodation available without holidaying on a building site. This resort should have been closed, no discount was offered, apologies but 'nothing we can do!' In other words 'bad luck'.
Caution to travelers, always check regarding renovations etc. in any resort you book as it is kept quiet until you arrive.
On a positive note the staff were pleasant and the grounds were nice, however it does require a taxi to go anywhere, a bit isolated.

Room Tip: Wait until the renovations are completed. The villas with private pools when refurbished should be v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodenAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maclean, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

A beautifully presented, private, well staffed hotel.
I booked through my travel agent in Australia off a brochure. My wife and I had three nights to fill and have never been taken by the fleshpots of Bali. Sanur was half way to Ubud, where we usually stay. I had organised with the hotel a transfer from the airport, so I didn't have to worry about the argy-bargy at arrivals. Sadly, KaMAYA didn't supply one and it took a telephone call to find out that 'the driver was not working today'. There was however an hysterically funny porter, who pretended to be a cabbie, who guided us to the taxi rank, where the fees are paid before the trip.
The room vastly compensated for the inconvenience of the taxi ride. They upgraded us to Villa Bija. It was all the brochure promised and more.
The staff was very helpful getting us about, too...even if the driver didn't turn up for the three days we were there. Those little Blue Cabs dropped us free to the places we needed to go. (It wasn't really free; the hotel footed the bill!)
We spent a great three days unwinding, walking, people watching, looking over the fences at the big resorts, eating (there are some great little restaurants on the beach - go lokal!), laughing with the hustlers for the markets, enjoying the Balinese sense of humour and life.

The down sides: the big one was that if you signed up for the wifi connection, it cost a fortune. Check it before you sign on. It was more expensive than the room tariff. And they didn't warn you about the price.
We're used to a bit more hands on contact with staff. They are very efficient here, but a bit distant. A bit different out on the street, the lokals are full of smiles and 'selamat pagi's'.
The bathroom was a touch dodgy, we had two showers, one in a cavernous sunken bath and it was a touch dingy in there...

...but that pool, the rest, the

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterMatheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the last few nights of our honeymoon. We booked last minute and got a fantastic deal booking on line (although if anyone uses Agoda to book it's extremely difficult and not user friendly the first time you use it - obviously that has nothing to do with kaMAYA), and from the second we arrived the experience was wonderful. The staff were helpful, friendly, and attentive, and made us feel special and looked after. We stayed in Villa Dupa, and it was extremely nice - beautiful, spacious and the pool was perfect! The food here was delicious and reasonably priced given the quality. We really genuinely couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmite82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2.0 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#9 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#12 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.7 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.2 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to kaMAYA Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Property: kaMAYA Resort and Villas
Address: Jalan Tanjung 41, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#24 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — kaMAYA Resort and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary from modern world. An island of serenity and quite.A perfect home base for your exploration of the beauty of Bali Island.Located at the western extremity of Sanur - You'll find thirdtheen delightful Balinese - Style dwellings in an exclusive sculptured environment, Seclusion, Relaxation, Serenity.Six individual self contained Villas complete with kitchen. Some with two bedrooms, some with one, all exquisite in design and detail. All stylish Balinese.A Massage Centre and Spa.A swimming pool design to echo the ancient Balinese temple bathing place. Mysterious carved statues peer through the lush tropical plantings. Ponds and water features erupt with lilies, lotus, and colorful fish.With five individual self contained villas.Each villa provides for you to make your own selves coffee or tea at anytime. A communal kitchen for us to cook you anything from a quick snack to a banquet are available. And private swimming pool for you to have relaxation in privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your kaMAYA Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Maya Resort Villa Hotel Sanur
Waka Maya Hotel
KaMAYA Resort And Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing