We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mentari Sanur Hotel
Ranked #30 of 136 Sanur B&B and Inns
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We really liked this hotel; rooms, pool and gardens where all very nice and well kept. Staff where all very friendly and spoke English well. We even returned here after having a terrible time in Lovina. It was nice to step back into an environment where you knew you would be happy. As others have mentioned the restaurant was a let down, but that seems to be the norm for most hotel food. In the end we found a nice warung, turn right at the end of the lane past the mini mart.

Room Tip: We were in the back Eastern corner so there was very little passing traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much and hope to hearing from you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    128
    38
    14
    14
See reviews for
58
105
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Mentari Sanur Hotel is tucked away in a side street so you don't get woken up by the daily hustle and bustle of traffic. The rooms are basic but clean, all balconies face the pool or garden area so you really do feel secluded from the outside noise. The staff at reception are extremley friendly and helpful with organising taxi's and assisting with transfers. The grounds feature well maintained gardens and a great pool for lazing by when shopping gets to be too much.I only ate breakfast at the hotel which is included in the booking, standard choice of either Western or Indonesian fare (egg's any way, with toast and fruit, pastries, juice, tea and coffee) This has not changed for the past 10 years. I have travelled to Bali 7 times and if some travellers expect eggs benedict on the menu they should consider going to a cafe. I am still not comfortable with the idea of people smoking in the restaurant, maybe management can encourage smoking guests to be courteous towards non-smoking guests by creating a demarcated area within the restaurant.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms near the restaurant are quieter as there is a tennis court at the rear of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Ms. Giorgina F

Thank you for your staying with us and we look forward to see you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beautiful well kept gardens, clean and comfortable rooms, lovely pool and very friendly staff, quiet site not far from the beach walkway and a cheap Taxi ride to the main street. Shame about the terrible TV reception, and poor quality A La Carte food. TV is going to be fixed we are advised, but they need a proper chef to make good food and justify the prices, and staff at breakfast need to listen to the order. Guests being allowed to smoke in the restaurant especially at breakfast is a spolier too, maybe they could put up some signage to stop that.

Room Tip: Pool view is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swannies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your staying with us and we look forward to see you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is very nice, relatively small offering a cosy quiet place to stay. The garden was lovely; Bedrooms (both with gardenview and poolview) were fine with very huge and comfortable beds. Bathroom was fine. The televison channels could have had better reception though, but compred to the rest it´s a minor detail. Staff was very nice and helpful, and food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much and hope to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were here for 1 week in this Hotel. The room was simple but clean. Unfortunately there was black bathroom mould and the towels were more grey than white. The garden is very beautiful and there is a pool.
In de morning at 7 AM we could here the cleaning boys talking very loudly. And I woke up in the middle of the night because a Indonesian boy was talking very loud about his tipmoney. (I speak and understand the Indonesian language.... ) I had a little torch on the pedastal cupboard, which "disappeard"....
The breakfast was not very special, a little bit poor. They served Bali coffee, which I don´t like.After this week we went also to Kuta, and this hotel was cheaper and better than the Mentari Sanur Hotel. I´m sorry to write this, because the people working in this hotel were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaatje W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Mr/s. Kaatje W

Thank you for your staying with us and we look forward to see you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Loved the pool, the breakfasts, gardens the service and staff. Made good use of the bikes - best way to travel! Gave great advice on tours, taxes and transport. Television reception could be better. Food was good and over all very peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Mr/s. One Drew

Thank you for your staying with us and we look forward to see you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My god this place was perfect. It's definitely more for the traveller that just needs a good bed, but then the breakfast was delicious, the pool-side massages abundant and cheaper than elsewhere, the rooms smelled wonderful, the bathroom upgraded, and the balcony delightful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imakehighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much and hope to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Diwangkara Beach Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Inna Grand Bali Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Puri Dalem Hotel
Puri Dalem Hotel
#53 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
1.2 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#32 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mentari Sanur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mentari Sanur Hotel

Property: Mentari Sanur Hotel
Address: Jl. Hangtuah III no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mentari Sanur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mentari Sanur Hotel; A self indulgence resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mentari Sanur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mentari Hotel Sanur
Mentari Sanur Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing