We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
63
137
43
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
137
43
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking sizebeach walka pool view roomrooms are largesmall hotelquiet areanice swimming poolthe ground floorhotel is greatrelaxing staytaxibalisupermarketoasiskutafi
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 272 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here with our two young children, aged 4 and 1 for nearly a week. We had a gardenview room on the ground level - it was nearly opposite the restaurant which meant we could use the wifi from our room, it was a good (fast) connection.

The room itself could do with an upgrade - the cupboard doors were a bit fiddly to move, and the furniture looks a bit worn. The bathroom (with a shower) is a little small, also the shower curtain didn't fit properly so the whole bathroom was a bit wet after a shower. No big deal for us, but a little update wouldn't be a bad idea.

The room was very clean through, beds were comfortable. I think the room would be pretty spacious too - we had an extra bed in there as well as a cot for the kids so we didn't have much space left but still enough. What's also nice is the little patio in front (upper level rooms have a balcony). In the evening we could sit outside while the kids slept.

The restaurant is nothing special but reasonable enough, you get cheaper and better food when you venture out but it is convenient place to eat. At breakfast you have the choice of an Indonesian (nasi or bakmi goreng), American or Continental breakfast. Also cereal, yoghurt and fruit available. There are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room (it would be nice if they added this!) but the staff is happy to provide you with a thermos with hot water.

The staff is lovely, very friendly and great with children. You can organise tours/rent car with driver from the hotel, we did this twice and found it good value with a very good and calm driver. What's also convenient is the pick-up/drop off from and to the airport.

The pool is beautiful, on some occasions there weren't enough loungers but part of that problem could be fixed by other guests who put their towels on the loungers and then don't appear for an hour or two!

Location of the hotel is good - it's a short stroll from the beach where there are several restaurants and plenty of warungs (small stalls selling food and drinks). The hotel is down a side street which isn't very well lit at night but we felt safe. Also very close to ATM's and small supermarkets. It is a bit of a walk to the main street in Sanur, wouldn't recommend the walk for those travelling with young children or the elderly. However a metered taxi isn't expensive - Rp. 10,000 - 15,000 depending on where you get off.

The hotel itself gets 3 stars, and the fourth one is because of the great staff. Recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kmj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I recommend you DON'T let the photos of this so-called hotel as true. I was so surprised that it had celebrated its 11th year birthday while we were there last week!! The hotel is falling to pieces. The toilet stuffed up and water overflowed all over the bathroom - that took them 5 hours to fix, then they were going to leave the mess until I freaked out. The complementary brekky is monotonous. The staff are very nice and try to do their best, but there are only one or two on duty, so it isn't their fault that we have to wait, wait, and wait. The television has no English speaking channels, but that didn't matter because the static/reception is so bad that it's unwatchable anyway. The bedding was never changed - yes, I have a secret way of noting this, and also the same with the towels, which are just folded up again. The pool lounges are wooden with no padding. There's about 7 'loungers', yet we only received a pool towel on one occasion, the rest of the time we had the grey/white 'cardboard' towels that were also supplied in the bathroom. There is one DVD player for the whole hotel. Wifi is in the restaurant only. Room service was quick enough. It's just a boring hotel and I'd rate it at generously at 2*. Not good for elderly or young children because of the slippery stairs to the upper floor. To sum this hotel up, I would say it lacks any sort finesse or attention to detail. Would we return again - definitely not!

Room Tip: Find a better hotel for the same price. DO NOT buy through Hotels.com as this gives you NO leg to stand on when complaining.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We were well aware that the hotel was down a side street, but not feel it was dangerous. We were close to the minimart for supplies, water, medical supplies and carla day spa (big thumbs up). It wasn’t noisy and was tucked away from the main street.

Although we did have a few mishaps in the beginning we eventually had a nice stay. We were first placed in a room 104 but was told the occupants extended their stay another week and we were offered another room. We were moved to room 108, but on inspection I noticed there was no fridge and we required one due to our medication. They later told us that we could have 104 since the occupants have left. We stayed in 104 for one night but had to move again as they were renovating next door and the smell of lead paint on the walls gave my wife and myself headaches. They tried moving us to room 108 again and I said to the male concierge that it had no fridge. He asked another staff member to check the room and on returning he said there was a fridge. Disbelieving this, I went and inspected the room only to find that the room did not have a fridge and when I questioned the male staff member he said he knew that there wasn’t a fridge.

They later upgraded us to the pool room. Seemed well until we settled in, only to find out that there was no hot water and that the tv wasn’t working. This was later remedied but it felt like a massive ask, to ask them to fix this.

Generally the staff in the restaurant and the lady staff members at the front counter were very helpful and friendly. Service score would have been higher if we didn’t have the mishaps.

All the rooms were a good size, air conditioned and had plenty of wardrobe space. (doors were a bit fiddly) The King size bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Pool and restaurant just outside was fantastic and very inviting.

All in all a fantastic tucked away hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

we found this hotel to be quiet and peaceful and just the place for our visit this time. The rooms were large, the bed comfortable and even wifi in the rooms most days. We had a pool view room number 115. Have been to bali many times so the mentari was perfect for us to just jump in a taxi and visit our favourite places. we normally stay right in the middle of kuta. A small walk out of the hotel there are plenty of resturants and a stroll to the beach, i use a stick and these walks were easy to do. The pool is fabulous only suggestion i could make to management is, there is only one pool recliner without arms and when you have mobility probs its hard to sit on the end of a chair and shimmy back or forward to try to get out. the one time i did my hubby had to pull me out. Am sure a couple more of the recliners without arms would be appreciated by us older guests as it was hard to get the only chair there. We ate out most nights as unfortunately the resturant is not quite up there compared with other places we stayed. Sometimes you are just after a club sammie or a burger and not wanting to venture out at night or lunch. Ate once there and once only that was disappointing resturant staff need to up the anti a lil. Apart from that the mentari is fantastic we loved it and will most definately be going back there again. Front desk staff can not do enough for you they are fabulous. Also management i must compliment your driver for pick up and drop off at airport, what a friendly guy and great english we loved both our trips with him. Thanks again mentari staff for a wonderful 2 weeks we spent with you. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robynnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed in this hotel many times and every time we went to Bali which is 2 - 3 times a year. Great staff, nice garden, nice room and large swimming pool. Close to the beach and restaurants. Staff are always remember guest by name and always greet guests every time they see you walking pass or just having a meal at the restaurant. Also free wifi for staying guests. This hotel provide a complementary airport pick up and drop off. Overall my stay has been enjoyable every time and never anything to complaint about. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that want to stay in Sanur area.

Room Tip: Room with pool view and garden view are nice to stay.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews