We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Puri, not perfection.”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This was the second part of our honeymoon, having spent 3 days in Kuala Lumpur. We were looking forward to a long rest by the sea.

Sanur itself is centred around long main roads, one of which runs right past the Puri. There are many shops selling various souvenirs, and if you find the right one at the right time, they can be a bargain. We found some summer clothes for our 2 year old that were great for the price. There are plenty of bars both on the beach side and the road side of the hotel, as well as shops, supermarkets, internet cafes and a chemists. There was an internet cafe about 1 minute walk to the left of the hotel main entrance, but a far friendlier one three minutes the other way. They do great juices and the lady who runs it is really friendly, speaking great English. Take your shoes off before entering here.

The hotel itself has a security gate patrolled by guards 24/7 although it is really just a cursory mirror check under the car and sometimes a check under the boot. Just past here is a little bale where drivers sit. They usually just ask if you have transport, but in general they leave you alone. They can be booked for your trips, and we found an excellent driver for a trip to Ubud and the North, who we used for several other days out as well.

Once dropped off at the main entrance you are met by staff in traditional Balinese dress, and shown to the open plan reception area. We were given a glass of iced ginger tea and a cold face cloth which was an excellent touch. Within 5 minutes we were in our room.

As has been said here many times before the rooms can tend to be musty, but having the AC on gets rid of this, as do some joss sticks and candles, which can be bought cheaply in most souvenir shops (note: we found the market at Tanah Lot really cheap!!). The rooms in the club section have a terrace or a balcony, and the sitting room and bedroom are combined into 1 large room. The bed we had was a 4 poster with a mosquito net. It was large and clean, but how effective the net was is debatable! The sink are and wardrobe is large and pleasant with a full length mirror. (another note: the bottle opener is attached to the front of the wash basin?! I only found this out after a week!!). The rooms on the ground floor (ours) lead straight on to the path next to the pool, making sun lounger claiming very easy. During the first week we had no problem getting a lounger, but as it became busier there were a few games where people reserved beds for the am and the pm as the sun moved around the pool area. The pool in the club area was lovely, clean, 3 levels with a little grotto!! With the beach being so poor it was great to be by the pool and take a cooling dip now and again. The 2 pools nearer the beach were equally clean and inviting.

Breakfast was a good selection of fruits and cooked food, all the usual items, plus freshly cooked eggs of your choice. There was a bit of variation but after a few days it became a functional meal to set you up for the day. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, with birds, squirrels and lizards a regular site. With such a large area the hotel never felt crowded.

The restaurant on the road side is La Mezzanine and is an up market Italian. There are so many places to eat but far too many to mention here, take a look at the forums or send me a message for a direct recommendation and prices. Along the beach path there are also many other places to eat an drink. Turn right from the hotle and go about 5-10 minutes along the beach path and you will find a little bar with hanging seats. We liked this one, with the happy hour 6-7.

The beach itself is ok, the water is very shallow, several hundred feet from the shore it is still barely 2 feet deep, making it a poor place to swim. It was windy but this made it pleasant to sit in the sun, although reading a magazine was tricky! The staff at the hotel were knowledgeable and friendly and this added to the pleasant nature of the place. The spa does a free treatment within 24 hours of your arrival, and is 2-1 before 1pm. We had lots of treatments and the place really was excellent and not hugely expensive. (I would have liked to be able to look out to sea but this is only a minor point!).

On the main road you will continually find taxis beeping at you, just ignore them or shake your head. The bemos are very cheap, say for heading to Hardy's Supermarket. Turn left from the hotel, and on the corner of the road you should see a group of (noisy) bemo drivers. Or just walk along the road.

This hotel is an excellent choice, who's few down points are the darkness of the rooms, the repetitive breakfast and the damn incessant gamelan music throughout the day!!!! A solidly 4 star hotel, lacks the very finest points of a 5 star but an excellent choice for the price, and worth upgrading to the Club Romms IMO.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank BillyMcBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and it was wonderful! On check-in we were told that the Garden Room that we paid for had been overbooked and we were upgraded to a Bungalow free of charge. The room was very clean, had great aircon and sattelite tv (60+ channels). There was staff everywhere!! Constantly cleaning, sweeping and gardening, always smiling and saying hello. The pools were exceptional as well!
The food was a little pricey compared to restaurants on the street, but still cheap compared to Australian prices (under $20AUD for 2xbreakfast including coffees). It was really like staying in paradise - just beautiful!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzilee_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We booked our Club Room at Puri Santrian i november 2009. Payed a deposit in november to our travel agency Apollo. And the rest was prepayed in mars, When we arrived here at 20th March, the receptionist told us that they had a problem with the reservation. The Clubrooms were overbooked, so we were offered a standard room-room no 217. Of course we were very disappointed about this, but after travelling for over 20 ours we very tired and decided to keep the room. Because of prepayment for 2 weeks, we felt it would be too risky to check out and try to find a better plays to stay. We are not sure we get our money back..For the trouble with the overbooking, we were offered a free dinner - ha, ha. Great offer from the hotel???? For giving us a 2-star standard room instead of 4-star Club Room for 2 weeks.
The bathroom in our standard room was dirty. After 3 days here - there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom. After a 4 days trip to Lombok, the room had a smell like a public toilet even though the toilet had not been used. We reported the problem - they cleaned the toilet - and the problem solved.
The room had a door to no 216. The first three nights a family with a baby stayed here. The door between the rooms made it impossible to sleep when the baby waked up crying in the middle of the night.
The highlight at this hotel was the spa. We had massage and face treatments - all were fantastic. 4 star spa!
The garden was beautiful, but could not beat the gardens in our Lombok hotels. I am sure all 4 star hotels have beatiful gardens i Bali.
Friendly staff - but not as professional as expected. One morning I was told that my room had not breakfast included. The waitress started to argue with me and kept on asking if I wanted a continental or american breakfast. All this happened in front of other guest and was not very good. I felt like I was accused for trying to lie to her.
Sunbeds were reserved early in the morning - after 8 - you are lucky if you fint one. You will definetly not find one with an umbrella. After reservation - som people don't come to the beach before 12.
The guest are mostly people over 60 years old. Very quiet at the hotel after dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ENEOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Puri Santrian twice over the past 3 years, once with our adult children and once with friends.

this hotel is located in the perfect spot, away any road activity and a lot of people but right on the beach. The hotel is only a short 5 minute cab ride to the heart of Sanur. Sanur is a great location for those looking for a quieter Bali experience. I would thoroughly recommend paying a little more and staying the The Club Rooms - a wonderful experience.

Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
Thank dbucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

What a fantastic holiday. My wife and i go on holiday three times a year and we have been to several countries around the globe and i tell you,the Puri Santrian ticks all our boxes.The location. cleanliness,lovely gardens and rooms and above all, the warm welcome and kindness from all the staff is incredible. We will definately be going back there so keep up the good work and high standard . Emanuel and Maria Portelli, Penrhyncoch, Aberystwyth. Mid Wales

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronfeurig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

This is our 7th trip to Bali and our 4th stay at this hotel and the place just gets better!
Making use of the free Wi-Fi by writing this review from the beach
Staying in a club room this time these are more spacious than the beach wing rooms and are set a round a lovely 3 tier pool complex. That said never had a problem with the beach rooms in the past.
The place is fairly full but still not had a problem finding an empty sun bed and have secured on of the 12 double loungers most days and that’s despite wandering down for breakfast at about 9:30
All the staff are polite and friendly and never fail to greet you as they pass and there always someone cleaning something. Food is ok but don’t expect a full English breakfast. It’s mostly fruit, toast, egg / omelette chef, cake & a local dish or two. If you crave a fry up then the trophy bar out the front of the hotel will oblige. In fact every culinary taste can be catered for along the main road (not had a bad meal yet.)
In short if you want somewhere clean relaxed and friendly this is the place for you if you need to be entertained or need a kids club go to the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banditman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

This was our second time at the Puri Santrian. We again chose a club room and were not disappointed. The only down side I can find is that it was hard to get a sun bed on the beach unless you managed to reserve by 6am. This was worse than last time we visited, but there were still beds available by the poolside, and late afternoon people gave up their beds on the beach. On the whole I would recomend this hotel for relaxation. It has fantastic tropical gardens, and there was a small colony of bats above our room. Sanur is on the whole very quiet. We tended to eat at the hotel restaurant. Food was good and I had no problems with the service, it was punctual and friendly. All the staff were polite and friendly, from gardners to waiters. There was also free wi-fi which was a bonus, or the use of the hotels 2 computers in the main building. This year we tried out the Bali cultural evening which offered great food and great Balinese dancing. Well worth doing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#17 of 79 in Sanur
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#27 of 79 in Sanur
2,390 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
537 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#9 Family Hotel in Sanur
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#15 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $104 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing