We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing resort”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide, australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very relaxing resort”
Reviewed May 9, 2009

This was the third resort my wife and i stayed in on our recent trip to Bali.
We chose this resort for it's quiet location and close proximity to the airport and on this level it suited our purpose.

We had a club room but we couldn't get a ground floor room and had to settle for a room on the third floor.

The club room gives you access to a more secluded pool and some other benefits such as discounts to resort facilities.
All the pools are well maintained and very clean, but the one concern we had, even at the club pool was the annoying habit of people reserving the best sun lounges with their towels all day and never using them. The resort has a 30 min policy on this but it is never enforced so the lounges just have towels on them all day and are therefore unusable by anyone else. When we pointed this out to the staff they just shrugged and said sorry and try back later.

The room is a little bit tired and could use a bit better lighting as it is hard to even read in the room even during the day let alone at night.
You can't watch the t.v. from the bed so you have to sit on the cane lounge. This would be o.k. except the cushion on the lounge is soft in the middle so you keep leaning to the side and is rather uncomfortable.

The grounds are great and well maintained, the dining areas are very good and the location by the beach is handy.

It is a large resort, 200 odd rooms so you never feel secluded like in a smaller resort but having access to the club pool did make it better for us.

Breakfast was good, not great, but enough choices not to be boring for 5-6 days but it might get boring if you stayed here any longer. The biggest disappointment with breakfast was the juice selections. They tasted bland, fresh would have suited us better.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here. Sanur suited us as we wanted to just relax and take it easy and Sanur and the Puri Santrian suited this purpose. Would we stay here again? Maybe, but we have to be sure that we had a ground floor room.
For a large resort the Puri Santrian is one of the better ones we have stayed in, with an upgrade to their rooms it would be a standout.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    746
    234
    61
    47
See reviews for
365
1,295
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

The place has been around for a while so you can tell from the time you enter the room. Old TV and phone, tiny shower, slightly rusty faucets, you get the picture. Can't complain about the location. For a 2-star , you can't get a better location. Pool and breakfast area is above standard compared to others. Can't say the same goes for the breakfast itself though; selection is minimal. Now, my experience with the staff has been a mixed one. Asked for a wake up call but didn't get one, but the service in the breakfast area is quite good. A friend also called early in the morning to wake me up, but the operator was too lazy and told my friend that I was out of the room. One nice touch though, they give each guest a passport with your name printed on it. A nice souvenir.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsumadibrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. We stayed for seven nights before flying on to Singapore. I read various reviews before deciding to book this hotel. As you can see some are good some poor. This was our experience........

We stayed in a 'Beach view' room (No:244) 1st floor, the trees surrounding the block meant that we couldn't actually see the beach. The room had a fairly large balcony but we didn't use it. As due to the surrounding trees the sun never fell on it.

The room itself was nothing to write home about, but i had no complaints really. Yes some of the fixtures are looking a bit 'tired' but again nothing major. The air conditioning was good and the bed linen was nice and clean. The bed was a bit hard for my taste though.

The gardens that surround the apartments and resort are nothing but AMAZING!

BREAKFAST:

Breakfast for me was mediocre, the juices tasted watered down and the hot food was a let down. If you're into cereals and pastries you are well catered for.
One word of advice, go to breakfast early as the many insects/flies want their breakfast too and some of the food is left uncovered.

Customer service throughout our stay was very good. No complaints.

FOOD: Eating out

The food in bali is cheap. Even the hotel which is expensive compared to some of the outside restaurants, is CHEAP compared to english prices.

'Donalds' was cheap but mediocre decor/food and presentation. Plus it closes really early. 9 ish.

'Caramel' probably dearest (relative) and best restaurant. EXCELLENT DECOR AND FOOD!. Well worth it. Makes the rest of the restaurants look like 'supermarket cafe's'

My favourites: Chicken sate with peanut sauce and rice, AWESOME!! Barbecued 'Snapper' fish caught fresh, get this on the beach front restaurants about 800m (10 mins walk)

ENTERTAINMENT:

In Sanur........... None, simple as..... Come here if you want to RELAX.

If you want nightlife go to Kuta, its like Bali's equivalent of 'Blackpool' in England. Its got a great beach with big breakers, but you'll be 'hassled' to death to buy stuff. We went there one night but didn't stay long. Cost us £3 (about 48,000 rupiah) each way.

POOLS:

The resort has two pools which are warm and kept impeccably clean.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Puri Santrian, just make sure you get a decent room and keep your expectations in check.

Think 3 star rooms, 4 star gardens, 2 star breakfast (hot) 3 star (cereals), 1 star entertainment, 4 star service. 4 star loungers/sunbeds. 3 star beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zetec16v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth W.A.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I have been a Chef in the Hospitality industry.
,'The cold section' was ok with a good selection of tropical fruit. However the hot section was the down fall. As breakfast was put on from 06.30hrs to 010.30 hrs. On a few occassions we came to the breakfast table at approx 09.45hrs To find a very sad looking presentation indeed! , the manager of the hotel was present one morning. I pointed out the problem, with the hot food and even sugested that there might be more chioce of local "Indonesian" dishes. This was noted , hover nothing was done!
Mike Whitley. Perth Western Australia

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikewperthW_A_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This was our first trip to Bali and we stayed at this hotel in Sanur - it was booked for us by a relative in Australia because her grandson was being "christened" so we went out to meet the family. What a lovely place Bali is! The Balinese are so welcoming and only too pleased to help. The hotel itself was situated on the beach more or less and was keep clean and tidy hour by hour - they were always cleaning the walkways, gardens and anything else they could find to do! Yes, the rooms were dark but that was only because the eaves of the roof and the balcony above overshadowed the room below. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the bed was always made up by the end of the day - what a treat not to have to make a bed for a week! The staff were always polite and greeted you with a cheery "Good morning" and smiled. We did eat at the Beach restaurent, the Mezzanine and all the other restaurants outside and they were good. There was plenty to do and we missed out on alot of things because we were tied in with the family - but we shall definitely go again, on our own to do all the things we missed out on. Found an excellent tailor too and brought back a new wardrobe along with an excellent summer jacket for my husband - they were so quick too and inexpensive!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallCornishLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Stayed in a Santrian Club room for 12 days at Sanur's Puri Santrian Spa & Resort. Arrived late in the evening around 11pm after a late afternoon flight from Sydney. Having booked with a travel agent (the resort website doesn't do instant bookings) we also arranged transfers to avoid hassle of taxis etc. Arriving so late, check in was a breeze since we had also pre-paid - just handed over the hotel voucher and was given the key and escorted to our room on the ground floor of the Santrian Club wing. The club is definitely the way to go here - they have a no children policy and it's a little more private and quieter than the rest of the resort, breakfast was included as was afternoon tea. If you book a club room, request and hope for a ground floor room so you can step off your terrace and into the pool without having to climb the stairs (there's 3 floors). Room was comfortable and reasonable size, decorated in Balinese style. As per many reviews posted already, the rooms a little dated but but nothing to be concerned by. You'll get a huge bed, TV, minibar and big bathtub and separate shower plus an in room safe (only in club rooms). The club pool is 3 tiered and kept clean and sparkling - you will find the practice of reserving sun loungers annoying like any resort that also attracts Brits & Germans. They have a 30 minute unattended rule for removing towels though. If you avoid traveling at peak times it probably won't be an issue. The resort backs directly on to Sanur Beach where the other two pools and restaurant are located. The included breakfast was great, loads of tables and two buffet stations with classic cooked breakfast along with Indonesian options as well - the range was biggest I've seen at a resort. We never actually had the included afternoon tea but I think you can have it at the Beach Club restaurant which is again right on the beach. Meals are more expensive at the resort than the dozens of local places but quality is good. They offer a 'Bali Night' dinner with an Indonesian buffet accompanied by traditional Balinese dance and music on Thursday nights. The event is meant to be outside the restaurant by the pool and outdoor stage but the night we attended we had very heavy rain so it was held in the Ballroom. This spoiled the night for me as the room was very hot and the live music performed inside was unbearably loud - at least two tables left and many others sat with fingers in their ears it was so piercing. They encourage you to pre book (250,000 Rupiah each) but I'd suggest you do not to so you can decide on the night and just show up (or not if it's raining!). The Mezzanine Restaurant located outside at the resort offers a more sophisticated menu which is very nice and you can charge back to your room, we also got a 10% discount as resort guests. They've a fully equipped Spa and Santrian Club guests get a 20% discount. Be wary of this though as there's also 'happy hour' when you get 2 for 1 treatments which is obviously better than 20% off. We did mani pedi treatments for the hell of it which ended up being 1M Rupiah - you can get Spa treatments everywhere in Sanur much cheaper but the resort Spa is indeed tranquil and lovely. We arranged a day tour to Kintamani, Ubud and Rice Terraces through the resort which was again little more expensive but so much easier than haggling with the many locals who offer "programs". There's two PC's in the Beach Club lounge with internet connections but they were almost always in use the internet speed was closer to dial-up than broadband. I ended up going to a net cafe across the road from the resort and paying as it was so much easier. There's also load of shops and more restaurants along the main road. There's also two ATM's a minutes walk which makes things easy. Grounds, staff and service at the resort were all tops, no complaints at all and it was very sad to leave! I also recommend you try the restaurants immediately south of the resort on the beach side, Donalds especially is pretty cool, as are the places next door to it. Bali was great and really enjoyed Sanur, the only thing that got to me was the very persistent street hawkers who try, sometimes desperately to get you to part with your money for: pedicure, manicure, transport, sarong, water sports etc etc... One woman even followed us along the beach walkway begging us to visit her shop. Sanur is quiet and half the chaos of Kuta (but I do think you should visit to see what it's all about). I'd go back to this resort but next time I'm in Bali I want to try their sister resort in Nusa Dua, The Royal Santrian.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Seamus_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2009

I paid for an upgraded room but did not receive it. When I questioned the room I was told that I had received the correct room. The next day I found out the truth. My room had not been cleaned so they put me in another room. The water in the room was yellow and contained black sand or dirt. Maintenance could not fix the problem. The toilet smelled like a sewer until I fixed the toilet to run 24/7. The room is dark and there is only one useable electrical outlet and it is in the bathroom. There is no desk to do any work. The rooms are small and outdated. Breakfast was included but was mediocre at best. There is no internet except in the internet room which was often not open. The grounds are nice but there is trash in the ocean.

  • Liked — close to the ocean and shopping
  • Disliked — terriible room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beast11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#25 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing