We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Spent a few days in Puri Santrian in December 2013. We had read the previous reviews and had high expectations but the reality was somewhat different.

The resort looks very nice and the public areas are well taken care of. Pool is nice and it wasn't crowded when we were staying at the resort so there was always sun loungers available both at the pool and on the beach.

Breakfast is a buffet affair and there is a good choice of food available. The food at the beach restaurant was nothing spectacular but not bad either. The Mezzanine restaurant by the entrance of the resort is well worth a visit though, we liked it a lot.

The reason for the disappointment is the room. Nothing wrong with the basic layout or the furniture and decoration of the room but the state of maintenance is appalling. I don't know how supposedly one of the better resorts in the area can have rooms in such a condition.

The air conditioning was not working properly, the bath drain was clogged up and the bathroom had mold. In hindsight should have asked for another room right when noticing the clogged up drain after checking in but it was already late and they promised to fix that while we went out for dinner. They had indeed done something to ease up the situation but it never got really resolved.

The next unpleasant surprise was the air conditioning. We thought it was warm and humid in the room but the AC was not really cooling. Notified the staff about this in the morning when going out for a day and the problem was supposedly fixed during the day. Turned out the "fix" was just to set the AC thermostat to minimum setting but the unit was still not cooling like it should.

Probably due to the broken AC keeping the room climate ideally warm and humid there was mold in the bathroom and the paint was chipping away from the wood surfaces.

One of the door locks also looked like someone had tried to break in but obviously the maintenance department of the resort didn't think it was bad enough to warrant replacement or repair.

Since the other guests have obviously had a very good time in this resort I can only assume that some of the rooms are truly good and we just had the bad one. Like I said, should have change the room right away at the sign of the first problem instead of letting it slip. The room ruined our stay in this otherwise fine resort.

Room Tip: If you spot a problem, demand another room immediately. Do not trust that problems will get fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    761
    243
    62
    49
See reviews for
375
1,323
83
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and i have been to bali many times. 3 of those trips we have gone without our kids and have stayed at the Puri in Sanur as it is a much quieter part of the island and have loved it every time. Hotel grounds, pools, beach side restuarant/bar, pool bar are all beautiful and clean. Staff are always smiling and very helpful. Rooms are a little tired but are clean and comfortable with many already being upgraded. The restuarant at the front of the hotel on the street called Mezzenine is amazzing. They have a thai cheif and his tom yum and pad thai rival the best ive had in Thailand. The menu also has indonesian and italian dishes aswell as having a teppanyaki bar. My advice on breakfast though is not to get it included. not that there is anything wrong with the puri's breakfast, its very good. we found that it was being charged at $16 per person when incl with a room booking but it is only $9 if you charge to your room when there. Also for something different we found 3 little restaurants on the beach about 100m walk to the right of the hotel which has a full breaky incl fruit/bacon/eggs/toast/juice and coffee for $3.50 sitting at a table on the beach under the shade of some mango trees, (now thats my kind of bali)

Hotel Beach area is awesome. They have about 20 Queensize beds with gazebo or umbrella roofs along the sand aswell as lots of couches and lounges on the beach and at the pools. Only Negative is the eurpoeans that put there towels on anything they can at 6am but never seem to use them till they come back from there days activities at 4pm. we were upgraded to the Santrian Club on our last trip which had its own pool area where this didnt seem to happen however when we went to the main pool areas it didnt seem to be as bad this trip so maybe the hotel is removing towels if noone has used for a while. Hotel still makes one of the best Nasi's in Bali and we have not had a dish we didnt like while lazing by the pool for lunch.

The Hotel location is fantastic also with many restuarants (Cafe Jepan just past round about is a fave) and bars close by with live music to provide a great night without being too roudy. Not quite as cheap as kuta but still lots of well priced massage/spas aswell ($6-$8). Like all parts of bali the area is always changing. There is a Stadium Bar/Flapjacks just down the road (about 2yrs now) aswell as new places opening all the time.

If water sports are your thing then just to the right of the hotel is Sanur Water Sports. Many of my friends who stay in Nusa dua still use these guys and get them to pick them up from Nusa because there are too many boats operating in the nusa area. These guys use a stretch of water that is much better especially for wake boarding.

we will deffinately be back

Room Tip: Santrian rooms are great but nothing wrong with garden or pool rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wazza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have recently stayed at this hotel for 5days,it wasn't long enough,we absolutely loved it,the staff were so helpful & friendly,nothing too much trouble,the mezzanine restaurant was our favourite,the food was gorgeous,especially the steak,and the staff there were so accommodating,we particularly liked Evi,one of the hostesses at the restaurant,she was very kind to us,and always happy,she made our evenings there perfect. The hotel grounds are spectacularly clean,the staff work so hard to keep it that way,it was a real pleasure to just wander around looking at the wonderful exotic plants,water features and fish in the many ponds. Our room was beautiful and so very clean,can't wait to go back,love it,would thoroughly recommend it !!!

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the pool and garden,but from what we could see,every room had a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Puri Santrian is a very lovely and luxury resort in Sanur. Everything was perfect, clean and nice. The service is also excellent.

TIP-1! You should be watchful if you want to go to a spa inside the resort Puri Santrian, because they are not honest about money rates (they say that they are separately from resort, but at the reception they say that it's not true, the spa belongs to the resort, so they should convert the money also in accordience to a normal money rates, - ask that at the reception of the resort)

TIP-2! Take a prive-driver outside the resort. We went to a street shop at the otherside of the hotel entrance (it was the 2nd or 3d street shop (souvenirs and earrings) to the left from the hotel entrance, where you could see a picture near at the checkout which is made in Madurodam, Holland). So there we asked for a driver and all twoo weeks we had an excellent prive-driver Wayan (in about 50 years old, red jeep), who brought us everyday for the whole day to the most beautifull places of Bali. And it was also quite cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What are you looking for when you're visiting Bali? Yes... the view and the atmosphere.
What are you looking for when you choose Sanur as your destination to stay while you're in Bali? Yes... of course the sunrise beach! I suggest don't just stay in the room while you're in Sanur. Get out, absorb the ambiance, get wet by swimming in the shallow water beach which very nice to do snorkeling, and make the most of it by witnessing the lovey and breath taking sunrise. And, yes... you can get all of the above by staying in Puri Santrian.

I stayed in this hotel with my family for pleasure. I have already rent a car for our activities in Bali, but end up by not using it so often since my kids preferred to stay at the hotel and enjoying what Puri Santrian can offers. We stayed in upgraded bungalow from beach wing room that we booked. The hotel gave us the upgraded room because the told me that we are their special guest for that week. What a lovely surprise! My kids love the bungalow room very much.

If you look at their website, all pictures you see on that website are true, and I don't need to explain everything anymore. But one thing that the website miss to tell you that this hotel has a very nice beach with shallow water only up to 120 cm deep even you have already about 100 meters off the shore. It's very suitable for kids activities and you now what? Even it's only about 100 meters of shore, you already can enjoy the clown fish playing on anemon at the coral on the seabed. I suggest you bring your snorkeling gear if you're staying in this hotel. When you feel tired, just swim to two beach gazebos and have some drink with the breeze of beach wind for a while. Don't like sea water? Swimming pool are excellent. This hotel has three! And children love them.

When the sky is clear at sunrise, you can enjoy what nature can offer while it starts the day with orange sunlight. I took lots of pictures of sunrise, I just couldn't get enough.

The only set back for this hotel is the breakfast which only has American Breakfast. If you are an American or Westerner might be pleasant. But for Indonesian like us (and for our friend from China), it only offers limited selection with 'not that good' fried or steam rice. It seems that they don't expected any guests from Indonesia or Asia. After all, while we were staying there, My family and I were the only Indonesian! :) But I mean... how hard can it be to serve another set of (Indonesian) breakfast for the hotel this big? In my humble opinion, even Westerners sometimes love to have Indonesian breakfast while they are in Indonesia. Don't you think?

Room Tip: Closest to the beach of course. But actually all rooms are not very far to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Indra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Puri Santrian is great we will be returning again soon. The service, cleanliness, rooms etc where outstanding. The staff of Puri Santrian are very friendly and helpful? There is one item I would like at the motel and that would be Bintang beer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We've recently returned from a fantastic stay at the Puri Santrian, we stayed in the club room (with four poster bed/mosquito net) - recommend ground floor which is what we had as the pool was right outside our door. I chose the hotel as we like the feel of traditional Balinese architecture & atmosphere, which is is exactly what we got.
The staff were always very friendly and accommodating. After the first nights I asked the cleaner for two softer pillows and as soon as we'd returned to our rooms they were there, along with the originals, we had three pillows each for our whole stay :)
Breakfast is really the only thing I would say needs to be stepped up a little, not a huge selection, but always fresh none the less, having the egg chef is always a bonus.
We had no issues with anyone reserving sun loungers, there is a sign at the club pool that states that they will remove towels if left unattended for more than half an hour. This club pool was awesome, we chose this section as we were having a couples holiday and there are no children in club wing, was completely relaxing. Would be great if they had a waiter at this pool taking drink orders though...
We found the location to be perfect too, plenty of places to eat, drink and listen to local live musicians right outside the hotel, we enjoyed the Lingalonger bar (turn left outside hotel, walk to cnr, turn right and is just on your left) they only serve food on Sunday evening - the famous suckling pig - great value and very tasty. We also enjoyed Warung Beach breeze for great value and good Indo food (turn left out hotel and walk to end, it's on the corner).
If you leave the hotel at the beach, best to turn left, Tities Warung was a favourite.., but there lots to choose from all with tables and chairs on the sand and cold bintang & nice food.
In all, we can't wait to return, we've done the Kuta stretch heaps of times, also Nusa Dua, but this stretch of Sanur is like old Bali :-)
Thank you Puri Santrian for a most wonderful holiday !!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank GypsyLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing