We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort - nothing could be better!”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort - nothing could be better!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just returned from our 5 night stay at the Puri Santrian in Sanur. We loved everything about this hotel. We booked the Club room and stayed on the second floor. There were no lifts, but this didn't bother us at all. The rooms were very clean, and were serviced well every day. The bed was very hard, even to us who are used to a hard bed, so be prepared for that. Our room was very large and had a spacious balcony as well. Being in the club room we were entitled to complimentary afternoon tea, buffet breakfast and use of the club pool (no kids) daily. We also ordered room service one day and it was delivered very quickly.
The hotel had a lovely atmosphere with every staff member including the gardeners greeting us as we passed them in the hotel. The hotel was very clean and well maintained, we saw no mice or rats, only squirrels. There were lots of gardens and shade, and plenty of pool lounges. They also have some beautiful sun 'beds' big enough for two people on the beach and also at the club pool area. The hotel was very peaceful and relaxing.
The Hotel is also located in a great position if you want to relax and not be in the hussle and bussle but still only a cheap taxi ride away. It is situated in South Sanur next to the Sanur Beach Hotel, and has a large beach front. If you walk out of the hotel onto the beach path and turn right you will find some excellent restaurants, we ate at these 3 nights out of the 5. To get into the 'middle' of Sanur a taxi will get you there for about $2, there are heaps on the main road outside the hotel and we never found it a problem to get a 'blue bird' one (More reliable one!) One day we walked up the beach path and had a sneaky peek at some other hotels further up, and we feel we had chosen the best one - hands down!
We took a taxi to the airport as the hotel charges $20USD for a one way transfer. The taxi cost us less then $10.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and can't wait to return one day.

Room Tip: Club rooms are great, but i'm sure the others are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j16u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    759
    243
    62
    49
See reviews for
375
1,321
83
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

good location with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops just outside the hotel. Full American breakfast buffet which was really nice, all the staff are very friendly and very helpful and I felt they really cared and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We stayed in a bungalow which was a good size with great amenities. The pools are nice with plenty of beds so no need to rush to reserve one (although inevitably people still felt the need to do this!). I had a lovely spa treatment which I felt was reasonably priced. Didn't eat in hotel except for breakfast as preferred to go out.

Room Tip: garden bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Although we have been to BAli 20 something times, we have never stayed in Sanur, mainly Ubud, Legian & Seminyak, all of which are rapidly becoming painfully busy.
The Puri Santrian is an older hotel but very well maintained and in a great position right on the beach. Facilities are very good, staff are very friendly & helpful and we were surprised at how quiet the place was being a rather large property, you really don't need to leave the place at all.
There are other restaurants quite close if you do want to venture out and some can be reached by just wandering down the public path that runs along the beach front. Probably the only problem we had there was that the service at their cafe on beach front was very slow and really needs more staff as the few that are there have to cover quite and area.
All in all we really enjoyed our first stint in Sanur and we will be back at the Puri Santrian next year.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the ground floor are very open to other residents and the balconies are right at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ralphd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just spent 7 nights at the Puri Santrian and cannot praise it enough. So much more atmosphere than your standard hotel. Food, staff, accommodation all brilliant and the grounds are fabulous. The complimentary yoga was well worth trying, the guy was very helpful. Definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is located right on the beach. The staff are wonderful and very helpfull. You can get the breakfast for an additional USD$12pp a day when you check in. The Garden Wing is a new addition to the original hotel. The rooms are oversized with a sitting area and a big 4 poster bed overlooking the pool. We loved this hotel and wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have been staying ever year at Puri since it first opened it's doors in 1989. Balinese owned and run, it reflects everything about Bali we love.
Great Beach, great accommodation, family friendly, lovely gardens, in quieter Sanur - close to lovely selection restaurants- many in walking distance. Love our Bali Buffet breakie here. Staff are wonderful
and like our extended family and over the years have looked after us very well. We have been upgraded many times, were present for their 20th Anniversary Dinner as special guests (25yrs in2014) This September (2013) we were given complimentary dinner for two at
their Mezzanine Restaurant which was lovely and very much appreciated.
Puri Santrian & her sister property Griya Santrian are not a Sheraton, Mulia, Bale or Conrad Hotel experience but rather a happy relaxed
and comfortable property - a true Balinese experience that you can
enjoy as a couple or bring the extended family/friends for a taste of Bali
that is not too much 'in your face'! Over the years we have recommended this property to anyone coming to Bali rather than Kuta, Legion and yuppy Seminyak - if its a beach you want that is safe (reef protected) and nice sand then Sanur is the place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for the Beach Wing in a recently renovated/upgraded room that has a walk in shower. If a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidAM570WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Recently stayed with my husband & son. We are very glad to have chosen one of the loveliest places in Sanur to stay.
It may not be as slick & polished within-an-inch-of-its-life as some other hotels may be, but it was happy, comfortable, relaxed and welcoming, with helpful courteous staff and an excellent beach side location.
We found it perfectly suitable for us during our stay.
The gardens are a delight to wander through; the 2 pools (a third being for exclusive Club use) were clean, refreshing & well maintained with friendly attendants.
Breakfast was a variety of local and western foods; the room service dinner was prompt and well presented; and the Thursday Bali Night dinner & dance performances were very enjoyable, with many delicious dinner & dessert options.
Our room beds were very comfortable, the balcony a good size, the air conditioner efficient, and toiletries and water bottles provided each day, with a bar fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.
Sanur is a lovely location and very easy to get transport to/from any location activities planned for the day (Kuta, Ubud, etc)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starbee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
2,250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing