We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Perfect Puri Santrian”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Perfect Puri Santrian”
Reviewed July 17, 2008

I booked (3 nights) at Puri Santrian because of the great reviews. Once there we were underwhelmed. I booked through a booking service online, got what I thought were resonable rates, but then failed to see that it didn't include either breakfast or airport pickup. When I called the hotel directly, I was told there was no way to add either of those onto my booking, and they wouldn't do airport pickup anyway as they "might miss us" at the airport. So, once we negotiated our taxi (fairly painless anyway) and had a genuinly nice taxi driver, we were brought to the hotel. Checkin was quick, we were greeted politely, but by that time we were exhausted. I think they may have given us a drink or something- but they totally failed to do much of an orientation besides giving us an "invitation to a tea" two days later. Another reason we got off to a poor start was the walkways in the garden weren't well lit and my husband walked straight into one of the stone statue's (guardian god?) ears as it stuck way out. He had terrible shoulder pain.

THey brought us to the room- up a narrow dimly lit stairway- 3 floors up in the "beach view wing". Our initial assessment was not good. The room actually wasn't too bad, but 3 floors up and fairly small. nice marble bath, but the tub/shower curtain leaked badly no matter how you positioned it. No hair dryer. If you don't spend much time in the room, it was ok. You recieved 2 towels only, and one time we had to ask for another hand towel as we only got one.
Though the grounds are pretty, it wasn't really conducive to sitting and enjoying it, as there weren't many places to do so. The big disapointment was the pools- though nice looking, it was impossible to snag a chaise lounge or beach chair as people grabbed them early on and kept them all day. The "towel cards" you recieved were supposedly to keep this from happening, as they stated that unattended towels would be picked up after 30 minutes, and there was a $25 fine if you didn't produce the card on checkout. We never saw them collect towels., and most of the time all the lounges were occupied, with towels anyway, though not always people. It was rather chilly anyway and stiff wind most of the time.

The first morning we bought the breakfast buffet- overpriced and rather average (About $25 for the 2 of us) and EXTREMELY crowded. Had to wait in another area 15-20 minutes while we saw people whao came after us get seated first.

THe next 2 days we had cheaper and tasty breakfasts at the Cat & FIddle on main road, and on the beach at Donald's (great view, great food) just south of the hotel. We thought it strange that the hotel could be so packed at breakfast and during the day at the pool, but then every body dissapears- no one seems to eat there, and we didn't either.

We thought the staff not helpful and not very gracious. We got told we couldn't bike our rented bikes near our room (after having them there the whole night) and 2 minutes after placing a wet swimsuit temporarily on the railing, had a written notice stuck under our door that nothing could be placed on the railings.

The worst thing was the "tea" we were invted to. THough we booked in on a Monday night, this tea was for Wed. afternoon, and we were checking out THursday, so it made no sense to us that it ended up being a "promo" and advertisement of the hotel and related hotels and restaurants- ie Guri Santrian, The Village restaurant, etc. THe laughable thing was we ended up asking 3 different hotel employees where the "beach lounge" where the tea was, and were told 3 different locations, (the front desk gave us a map finally and said "oh didn't you get this at checkin?" but then told us the wrong location!)- finally stumbling on it on our own. Then were told that we missed the intro- it was a 45 minute video. The free tea and tasty cakes were the only upside.

I did like the location more or less. We rented bikes, negotiating for 24 hours so we biked on two days, and did the whole length of the brick boardwalk up and down.

We DID like the spa. THey offered a free 10 minute "jetlag" massage- which we did as a couple, and it was so nice we went back later on for their "happy hour" special which was any spa treatment two for the price of one from 9:00am to 1:00pm. Really worth it, and the ambiance lovely, lovely, lovely. We liked the traditional Balinese massage, but I bet anything there would be nice. I definitely would come back to the spa, but not to the hotel!

After this we went up to Ubud and stayed at Komeneka Tanggayuda, and had an INCREDIBLE time there. Quite the contrast!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericaninManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    745
    234
    61
    47
See reviews for
364
1,290
81
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

I booked directly to the hotel but be sure you understand eachother because they have some offers and prices on the net and in the mail they try to give you a bigger price; verify the last invoice when you check out (we had some minor problems). Be sure not to book bungalow with outdoor bathroom if you don't like unwanted guests. Our stay was very nice and to remember, they really try their best in a low developed country. Good price, very nice gardens and 2 dream pools. make reservation for special romantic dinner if you want to surprise your companion.

  • Liked — Gardens and Pools
  • Disliked — Unwanted guests in my room because of the open bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alexbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We spent 4 nights at the start and 3 nights at the end of our 2 week holiday here. In between we travelled to the Gili islands (highly recommended). We really enjoyed our stay here- the rooms (Club rooms) are big with huge 4 poster beds and nice clean bathrooms. On our return we did have to request to move as the bedroom smelled very musty but the next room was fine. The grounds of the hotel are lovely (and bug free due to regular insecticide spraying) and the beach is very nice.
We found the staff helpful and friendly. The spa is fabulous with excellent value for massages.
There is lovely restaurant at the front of the hotel that does great food.

  • Liked — the spa! and the grounds
  • Disliked — windy beach
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank missT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We too were keen to stay at this hotel based on the reviews below. We will be travelling to Bali again, but there is no way we will be staying at "The Putrid Santrian".

"This hotel was a major disappointment. Compared to the 4 other hotels we stayed in in Bali, this one was far below average." Cannot agree enough with this statement from the previous review.

We arrived at the hotel about 2pm. We were aware from our previous hotel experience that we had probably not booked a nice enough room and when we asked for an upgrade without yet seeing our room we were bluntly told no, the hotel was fully booked. So we were escorted to our Garden view room on the second floor and walked into a very small smelly room with twin beds that still hadn't been cleaned from the previous customers. There were drink bottles, rubbish and shoes (yes it's true) strewn everywhere, and the beds still had dirty sheets on them. We could not believe that they had shown us to a room that had not yet been cleaned. We still had to fit in another bed for our son in this room, and forseeing a miserable 6 days in this room we trooped back to reception. Upon insisting on an upgrade (which magically appeared after 15 minutes of negotiating) we were shown to a Bungalow room, which was admittedly better than the previous room - at least it was bigger and we could easily fit in an extra bed for our son.

For our extra $25us/day we got a room that was darker than a coal miner's nostril, with a dated dank dirty bathroom. The shower curtain leaked even though we had it positioned inside the bath. It was not possible to hang up our towels each morning after showering for the next day, because we had to use them to mop up all the water on the floor. The corners of the bathroom were filthy.

The surroundings of the Puri are certainly lovely and the pools are great. The grounds at night were lit beautifully, much better than the rooms in fact. We were given two pool cards with our room numbers on them to obtain towels for the pool. We were assured that we could get 3 towels each time as we obviously needed towels for all 3 of us. My husband and I ended up taking turns to get the towels, as neither of us could stand the lenghty explanations it took to get 3 towels from the attendants. Believe me the towels were no worth stealing anyway!!!

We had breakfast included in the price of our room. Breakfast was OK but not fantastic like it was in our previous hotel. It was often hard to attract the attention of the staff to get our tea/coffee refilled. We can't say what other meals at the hotel were like as we didn't eat there, because we declined to contribute any more of our money to the hotel. We didn't really find the staff friendly at all, which is amazing for a hotel in Bali. They were slow and had an aura of indifference. There were some kids around but very few that spoke English so it was a bit disappointing for our son.

We liked the surrounding beach cafes, restaurants and Sanur shopping. We will be staying in Sanur again (hopefully next year) but will instead choose to stay at The Segara Village. We met the manager of the Segara Village on our Elephant Safari trip and she invited (or we invited ourselves) to have a look at the hotel. After viewing the ugraded Segara Village rooms, pools and gardens we were absolutely smitten and so sorry we had discovered this paradise on our last day.

Do not be taken in by the other positive reviews of the Puri Santrian and that it is Number 1 on the Trip advisor site for Sanur - you can do alot better that this dark dank outdated hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — even though room was ugrraded still terrible
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank balitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Following the reviews below, we were eager to stay here. Now we wish we hadn't.

This hotel was a major disappointment. Compared to the 4 other hotels we stayed in in Bali, this one was far below average.

-Our room type (beach wing) was overbooked. We were offered an alleged 'upgrade' to a bungalow room. We got a smelly dark, old room with a worn-out bathroom. When I kindly informed about other options at the reception, they bluntly said it was this or nothing. Upon insiting, it took the staff more than 20 minutes to find an available room in the Santrian Club (the upscale hotel wing). I had a look at the room: it was more modern indeed, the bathroom was not the dilapidated one we had but I was expected to pay 25 USD extra (do NOT book these rooms, they are not worth the money). We declined and settled for the mediocre room.
-Towels stink, both in the rooms and at the pool.
-Staff is slow and unfriendly, especially in the Beach front restaurant.

While paying upon leaving the hotel, I informed the recepton staff about our dissapointment. The receptionist laughed loud in my face, swiped the credit card and said 'thank you very much'.

I would never come back here.

  • Liked — The beach location
  • Disliked — Stinking towels, smelly rooms, unfriendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wimbrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

My wife and I went to Bali for our 25th wedding anniversary and stayed 10 nights (18-28th June) at the Puri Santrian. This is truly a fabulous hotel resort. From the moment you step into the open air reception area you know this place is all about quality and service to you the guest. We stayed in the beach wing on the first floor and our balcony looked out onto the koi fish pond, Lilly pond and the main pool. The room was clean, comfortable and a good size, with a good firm double bed. The bathroom was very clean and kept well stocked whilst we were there with clean towels and toiletries daily. Admittedly the towels were not brilliantly white but they were clean and soft. And if you scrutinized things the ceiling in our room 208 could do with a fresh coat of paint. The TV (12+ channels) had a good picture. The small fridge was adequate and we got two free bottles of water each day.
All areas of the hotel are kept to the highest standard, the gardens make for a wonderful tropical paradise. The two main pools are a good size each have a children’s section attached. The main pool has a swim up bar. Just a few steps from the pool is the beach which is clean. It’s decked out with comfy leatherette sofas and chairs amongst the standard beach loungers. Watersports are available and reasonably priced. The lady shop owners are persistent in trying to make a sale but there are only so many sarongs and shorts you need, besides you can buy them much cheaper in Kuta only a cheap 20mins taxi drive away.
Breakfast is the usual buffet (continental or English) with the addition of rice and noodles. All was fresh and plentiful. And at less than £4 each was just as cheap as the outside restaurants. We had breakfast at Mago on alternate days for about the same price. We only ate in the hotel on one night which was their weekly Bali dinner buffet/dance which was excellent. The table setting is arranged beautifully, the food is good and the Bali dance when you see it for the first time is brilliant. There are plenty of places to eat directly outside the hotel we mainly went to Donald’s and Mago. There’s no nightly evening entertainment so you have to go outside to the bars and restaurant for live music, etc.
All the staff were extremely good at their jobs and regularly stopped to chat to you, as did the shop owners and taxi drivers/tour guides just outside the hotel. The music shop 100 metres or so from the hotel will have a copy of “Sabilulungan” which is the hotel’s daily morning “alarm clock” Bali tune played by a trio on xylophone and pipe.
This is a terrific hotel for a laidback peaceful beach holiday. Go to Kuta for something more rowdy or Nusa Dua for something more Disney. But stay at the Puri Santrian for a little taste of paradise.

  • Liked — Setting in tropical gardens
  • Disliked — No evening entertainment
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank VAM00sax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We stayed four nights at the Puri Santrian and it was absolutely the best place to stay in Sanur. Beautiful balinese gardens; friendly, quick, gracious service; outstanding breakfasts and wonderfully relaxing. The massages at the spa are superb., and the two for one special was a treat. An ideal resort, giving one the balinese feel, great to base yourself for a holiday. Ideal for honeymooners, couples, older tourists and business people.
Our only regret was that we could not stay longer as the hotel was booked out. Next time we shall book earlier and stay for longer.

  • Liked — The breakfast and the gardens
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a little old but we were in the older garden wing rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller0006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing