We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puri Santrian - the saving grace!”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Puri Santrian is a beautiful, traditional looking resort in Sanur. If I were to give you one piece of advice it would be to arrange a driver is sent from the hotel to the airport to collect you. When you emerge out into the arrivals area it is pandemonium with people grabbing at you and shouting taxi, taxi, taxi! It was such a relief to see a driver holding up a placard with my name on it! We were led through the throng and back to the resort. I believe it cost $20. Also worthy of note is the porters at the airport descend upon you and take your cases off you despite your protests then get quite aggressive in trying to get a tip off you! They commented to me that we had nice luggage and Puri Santrian is a "nice hotel".

We had booked the beach wing which I have read on tripadvisor since that lots of other people were upgraded to this level but we received no upgrade onwards to the next grade of room. Rooms are dark with a strange window with blind on the outside between the bath and the main bedroom so your partner or room mate can watch you shower should they so desire! Very odd! Room was beautifully cleaned every day but on the whole we were disappointed with it! Oppressive and dark! Beautiful view from the balcony across the pool and towards the beach.

Breakfast was a dream! It opens at 06.30 and runs until 10.30 so the earliest riser to the latest is catered for. Amazing fresh fruit area! Egg station! Nothing for anyone to complain about! Staff are a credit to the hotel. Very helpful and pleasant.

Pool area is gorgeous. Plenty of beds available near the pool or in the shade. There is a swim up bar area but the drinks are quite expensive so sitting getting drunk at the swim up bar would be costly! The happy hour at Puri involves taking 30% off only! Still leaves it ridiculously expensive. That is not to say we didn't do it but when we signed for the drinks we flinched! A service charge is levied onto everything you order irrespective of whether you want to tip or not.

The pool area, like the rest of the grounds is beautifully groomed at all times. In fact, this hotel was the saving grace of the Bali holiday.

Some tips for the surrounding area: avoid the women on the beach giving massages. They are no better than someone rubbing suntan lotion on you. In fact, anyone who has ever had any half decent massage will be wholly unimpressed by the massage in Bali. We had many between us over the holiday period and 2 days before we left we finally found a hairdressing and beauty salon where they did first rate massage at a good price. It was next door to beach breezes warung, across from a live music venue.

For delicious, authentic Balinese cooking in a local warung try the Indonesian vegetable noodle soup at Beach Breezes Warung and go for dinner along the beach from the Puri to Tities Warung. We had fantastic fish dishes there with ice cold beer!

Be sure to turn to the right along the beach and head to Bobby's bar and restaurant. You can sit at tables there looking out to sea and enjoy the Indonesian breeze on your face as you sit enjoying a drink in the afternoon.

There are loads of great restaurants and bars in Sanur for you to try but the level of harassment we had to endure all day every day got very draining very quickly. We'd step off the resort and have taxis honking at us and stopping in front as we tried to cross the road. Walk a few more steps and another taxi would stop and offer us "Charlie" or a girl for later. Add in the customary wailing of massage or "look, look, Mr" at a shop, then back to "taxi, Charlie or girl" again and the 10 days in Bali was not a relaxing experience! None of this is the fault of the resort and had I spent the entire holiday on the resort then I probably would have felt more relaxed.

Room Tip: Club rooms have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank st5om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for our honeymoon for 9 nights. The hotel is amazing. Setting is perfect. Whereas other major hotels in the area may have the same facilities none can match the Puri Santrian for its authentic Balinese experience. Staff are friendly. The breakfast buffet and seaside restaurant is really good. Recommend the mezzanine restaurant also. If you are booking the romantic dinner I would not choose to have it on the beach. It may be the nicer setting but it gets very windy. Rooms are what you'd expect but I would suggest bringing your own hairdryer. Air conditioner is very noisy but not sure whether this is the norm.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbobo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 night stay. Some of the rooms are in older building and the first room we were given smelt quite damp, but the staff were extremely helpful and we were soon moved to another room upstairs, which was great. We had some perfect days laying on the beachfront and wish we could have stayed longer. The breakfasts here are amazing, and we really enjoyed the Thursday night bali dinner. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmboo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

it was nice resort at sanur. its environment give relax and calm conditions, after routine bussiness. whats give minus value only that management should upgrade the room at beach wing. some of bathroom accesories should be upgrade, including the tv model. its very old still using "tube TV".

the beach club actually give good atmosphere, just it seem constructed on public space, i mean that resort property constructed at beach area/public area with permAnent structure. if we look from offshore side, beach club structure is advanced from natural shoreline, and give view that seems the sandy beach is retreat/eroded. but actually no, just because the structure advancing to sea side, give image that the beach is narrow. goverment should pay attention on this, the utilization by private on public space.

anyway, nice, relax and calm resort atmosphere you can find here..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriemlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely hotel in Bali. Staff is very friendly. Pools are great and relaxing.

Grounds are very pretty. Highly recommend.

Ate breakfast at the hotel once or twice, but there are a lot of restaurants within walking distance. So it is very easy to just walk up the street to different places.

One day as we got out of a taxi, the valet asked us about our day. As we were talking, he asked what we had planned for tomorrow. We had nothing booked, So he helped set us up with a car and driver for the next day. It worked out perfectly - the driver took us to Ubud and we went on a walking tour of some farming areas to look for some exotic birds with a guide (Interesting actually). Afterwards, we had drinks and lunch at a pub. He waited on us, took us around the town a bit more and brought us back. This was incredibly inexpensive - all arranged by the valet.
Very friendly / helpful bunch!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Would definitely recommend this hotel if you choose sanur as your beach stay , couldnt find any fault with this hotel terima-kashi to all the staff. We also recommend the debdan show in Nusa dua excellent .

Room Tip: Club room top floor stayed 374 room 2nd - 9th sept 2013
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottsBaliaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The staff at the hotel is really friendly and helpful. The beach is gorgeous and the pool area is also great. The rooms are large and comfortable although they're not particularly modern. The food is also delicious in the hotel restaurant.

The only major drawback of the hotel is the fact that it's located in Sanur which is pretty quiet but if you're a couple that's just looking to kick back and relax it's ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler123500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#17 of 79 in Sanur
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#27 of 79 in Sanur
2,388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
537 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#9 Family Hotel in Sanur
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#15 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $109 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing