We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel Great Location”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Hotel Great Location”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We definitely think this part of Sanur is better than the other end. We stayed in the Sandrian Club area which was very nice. Positive aspects were that it was a traditional style hotel on a big area with lovely landscaping so you know you are definitely in Bali.Location excellent and the beach in front of the hotel is as good as you will get a Sanur. Easy to walk most places and the boardwalk along the beach makes it easy. Traffic in the Sanur area is nothing like Kuta/Legian so getting around not a problem at all. Our room was excellent, clean and comfortable.
On the negative side the hotel feels a bit disjointed, the pool area set aside for the Club area too small and you couldn't really get a pool bed unless you were quick then it was very crowded. The pools at the front are better.
The food was very ordinary and the service in the restaurant poor. Let the hotel down. Hotel was expensive and it would be worth looking at ones close by such as the Sanur Beach Hotel that we got good reports on whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Club rooms definitely the best but located at the back of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    750
    238
    61
    47
See reviews for
370
1,308
83
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Puri Santrian in July 2013.

Hotel positives:

1. We liked the traditional look of the hotel with the choice of 2/3 pools.
2. Staff very friendly.
3. Located on the beach.
4. We were upgrade to a Club room on arrival which was nice (could do with updating but still fine).
5. Breakfast food ok with plenty of choice; likewise lunch was good especially sat by the beach.
6. Spa great especially when they did 2 for 1.

Hotel negatives:

1. You had to pay separately for decaf coffee at breakfast which was poor considering we had breakfast included. Although staff very good on the whole they were a bit slow serving tea/coffee at breakfast i.e. sometimes straight away and other times not at all.
2. Traditional 'bongo drums' were played throughout breakfast - we love traditional things when travelling; however, these were so annoying and repetitive.

Food and drink positives:

1. Restaurants outside the front of the hotel very good for dinner such as Mezzanine, Tropical and the Spa/villa place next door. The chinese restaurant opposite the Bali Hyatt (front of hotel and turn right - 15 min walk) was excellent and plenty of other restaurants as you carry on in Sanur.
2. Lots of places to eat in Seminyak (80K - 100K Rp in taxi) and the Red Champagne Bar was great.

Food and drink negatives:

1. Lunch - we had lunch a few times at the places on the sea front which are cheaper than the hotel; however choose wisely as one meal gave me bad stomach for a couple of days and another time was served raw chicken. Get to the path by the beach and turn right, 100m and there are 3 places there but after these events we stuck to the hotel.
2. Down side to Seminyak was that it's lost any traditional feel and caters for the tourist - expensive shops, numerous Italian restaurants etc.

Things to do:

We did a full day tour which took in many sights and was well worth it. We booked with Fantastico Tours which is located outside the front of the hotel, across the road and just to the right inside a convenience shop. It's run by Ignasius who is lovely and speaks very good English. We also booked a half day snorkelling trip to Blue Lagoon which was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Awhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Staying in Bali you can get quite spoilt by the high levels of service and cheap prices. So Puri Santrian is without doubt a nice hotel with great surroundings. The Santrian Club means you get another exclusive pool to use but possibly wasnt worth the extra money - it was quite crowded around the pool with not enough loungers and the main pool sometimes seemed quieter. Staff were friendly but really just what you'd expect and didnt go out of their way. Standard of food at the beach bar/breakfast was ok but there are much better places to go nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I visited here with my mum in July 2013 - her first trip to Bali and we loved it.

The staff were friendly and helpful - spoke several languages and were happy to arrange day trips and services for us.

The room was comfortable with nice balconies - we booked a club room so didn't have an Ocean view but was worth it for the bonus use of the adults only 3rd pool - the other two were nice but it was windy when we were there and our pool was more sheltered.

The hotel is ideally located in central Sanur and right on the beach - the hotel offered yoga and canoe hire plus spa treatments and delcious room service or food on the beach/at your sunlounger.

Lots of sun loungers available both in the sunshine and in the shade.

Room Tip: Club rooms have access to Adults only pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Korinamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds,breakfast that gets you the day, a location that allows access to all activities for all ages. Try the cafes on the beach and say hi to the boys at Cemara Watersports they keep the kids busy at a small cost!
All in all a great place to go with the family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first hotel during our honeymoon in Bali and we had an absolutely amazing time, thanks to the excellent service of the staff at Puri Santrian. We enjoyed it to the fullest and coming from Vegas where it is a service industry city, I was blown away with their level of service which is above and beyond anything I've experienced in the states. One minor complaint was our massage that comes with the honeymoon package was not that great and pretty short. This hotel is gorgeous, the pools are phenomenal and the location is great for strolling around town or along the beach. It's a bit pricey but I can see why. I loved every moment of our stay at Puri Santrian and I wanted to cry when we were leaving!

Room Tip: We REALLY enjoyed the Santrian Club rooms. The pool in that area was the best in my opinion and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PumpkinPatch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent 11 nights here at the start of July this year. From the moment we arrived we were looked after by the fantastic staff. We were upgraded from a beach wing room to a premium deluxe(??) room which we were advised would be bigger seeing as we had a fold out bed put in for our 3 year old. It was on the first floor and still had ocean views and also down to the main pool it also had a large balcony. We were very happy with our room, comfortable and had everything we needed.
The breakfast is great with a large selection of things to choose from, the resturant on the beach was also great for lunch with a nice selection of choices. The pools are nice with plenty of shaded lounges and also day beds and more down on the beach.
We did a cooking class with Agung their executive chef who took us to the sindu markets in the morning and he was very informative and great at entertaining our little boy! We came back to the resort and cooked up a feast. Highly recommend this to anyone who loves cooking.
We also did the complimentary class where we learnt to make Cha nung offerings for the gods and we got to take our creations to the bali cultural night dinner and dance that evening.
Having been to Bali numerous times now we normally stay in seminyak and this was our first time in Sanur. We were very impressed, some nice resturants, accessible, kid friendly beach and we loved the bike path along the foreshore. Several times we hired bikes and went for a ride along the beachfront.
My wife and I had several spa treatments which were excellent (highly recommend the hot stone treatment) and there is also ladies by the pool that offer cheap massages.
Overall we were very impressed with Sanur, the Puri Santrian and most of all the staff. They were so friendly and helpful and nothing was ever to much of a problem for them. They all looked after our little boy and he came to refer to many of the female staff who showered him with attention as his "girlfriends" lol!
If I was to have one little suggestion it would be for better blockout window blinds in our room (213) as the morning sun came straight in thru the semi transparent blinds.
We will be back and thank you Puri Santrian!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick75Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 78 in Sanur
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
2,222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing