We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puri Santrian Hotel”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Puri Santrian Hotel is situated straight on the beautiful and quiet Sanur Beach Coast!
Plenty of palmtrees and other tropical trees provide the guests with an abundance of shadow while at the same time being very close to the beach!
Having your breakfast and dinner on the beach is always something to remember!
The staff is very friendly, helpful and professonal!
The quality of the food is excellent and great care is taken to work as hygienically as possible! (using bottled water to rinse fruit for instance!)
The hotel consists of a number of small units and a 3 stories high hotel block.The quality of the rooms is good and the hotel management is in process of raising the overall standard of all the hotel rooms!

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 2,381 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Santrian Club Oct 2012 and it was excellent, room was spotless, bed comfortable, overall room layout great, nice big balcony. Private pool was beautiful and peaceful. Food was plentiful and excellent. Staff were friendly and efficient. I loved taking a stroll through the beautiful manicured grounds and I always had access to the free internet. Afternoon tea was included with a little sandwich on the side (but note little) and a little cake but a nice treat by the beach. I can't fault this resort and we have booked to return to the Santrian Club again April 2013, great for couples. The only negative thing I can say is the spa is expensive and I got a great message down the road for $6 but I read on another review that you can have a message by the pool for $10 so will take that up next time. Keep up the good work Santrian, we'll keep coming back!!

Room Tip: Santrian Club, top floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 137Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed there 1 week ago. My room were very clean and the room is big. The food also good and the staff are friendly. I like the hotel more than I expected.

You can take a walk tour to the restaurants and shops nearly the hotel. Take a walk also along the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timotymaramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here 8 days in October and it was fabulous to say the least!!! We were upgraded and the room was great size for the family -2 children( 2 and 4 years). The staff were very friendly, pools were perfect for the kids,beds comfy,food was delicious, great tree views from balcony and free yoga sessions. The hotel has divine: picturesque gardens, fountains, temples etc..We were very impressed. We have been to Bali many times and this place is the best plus the price was excellent! Better than Club Med bali too!
The restaurants surrounding were yummy both at the beach and road side( straight across from enterance). Sanur is perfect for families. You can hire bikes for $3hr(attached kids seats) few restaurants to right facing beach. The bike track goes along the beach and mostly shaded. We had two days of bikeriding - exploring markets, restaurants and even had a swim at sister hotel. Our 2yr old slept on the back of the bike coming home. It was the best holiday we have had with our action packed boys!!!Thank you Puri Santarian.

Room Tip: See if you can be upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dani115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife, teenage daughter and I travelled to the hotel for a 4 night stay that included New Year's Eve. The good - the grounds are indeed well groomed and the private beach in Sanur is very nice. I also highly recommend the $10 massage offered poolside.

The fair - the lighting is poor in the units, especially in the bathroom. The bathrooms themselves are at best 2 Star quality, with rusting fixtures and a rotting wood window frame and chipped paint that gives out into the bedroom (?). Our unit experienced a number of issues during our stay. Initially, the door lock was extremely difficult to open and close, taking several minutes to extract our key on each attempt. To the credit of management, they did completely replace the lock and give us a new key. Also, we had no hot water on two different occasions; it eventually returned after some time. We found the level of service at the front desk quite good but not so great throughout the rest of the hotel.

The poor - no fitness center of any size exists at this property, which is hard to believe for a hotel purporting to be an upscale property. Perhaps more importantly, the food and drink service was very slow on several occasions. In one instance my daughter waited almost 45 minutes for a sandwich because the first time it was not made properly, according to the waiter. No apology or compensation was provided for any of the issues.

The worst - the New Year's "Gala" dinner. My family and I were excited about the prospect of celebrating the new year in style in Bali at this hotel. While I certainly expect to pay a premium for room and special meals during holiday periods, the cost of the "New Year's Gala" can only be described as exorbitant, at fully $150 per person, and this DID NOT include any alcohol whatsoever. We booked, like many others, via a third-party travel site and, while we were informed that a New Year's dinner was mandatory, we were not advised that the roughly $300 charge DID NOT include the cost for our daughter. This was even though we had paid an Additional Guest Charge at time of booking. Thus, when we checked in we were informed that we would have to pay an additional $150 for our daughter. And, while there was a second option of $55 upstairs at another restaurant (this included a glass of wine, mind you!) we were not allowed to change to this option, even though we had never explicitly opted for any dining option during the reservation process.

The view of the stage for those that had paid $150 varied greatly - in fact, some tables had next to no view of the stage and were placed in areas near the pool bar or almost in passageways. This occurred while "VIP tables" with a clear view of the stage (read: tables for the owner's family and friends) remained vacant throughout the entire evening.

The dinner itself was served buffet-style to boot and, while it was copious, certainly did not justify the $150 cost. Bottom line: Puri Santrian has explicitly decided to gouge the holiday-goer for short-term gain without offering a proper product or service for that charge. This obviously is short-sighted as it will chase away potential returning guests and more generally harm their brand. We are living in Jakarta for two (2) years and certainly will not be returning to the property as a result.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bruin4life93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am so confused at to what all the hype is about this place??? Boy were we so misinformed. WE chose the puri santrian over other hotels we have stayed in Sanur due to the reviews but we were so very disappointing for the amount of money they charge. I booked a bungalow room as on the reviews people had said how spacious they were, trust me they are not spacious at all. We emailed them directly before our stay to verify that the bungalow would be big enough for 3 people, they replied that even though it was designed for two they would be able to fit an extra bed in without any problem. WE arrived to a lack luster greeting, got shown to our room with no extra bed even though 3 times in emails i had told them we needed a bed for our daughter. On arriving in our room, we found it clean but so outdated, the TV was an old fashioned box tv with crappy reception and the bathrooms were so outdated. WE had to ask 3 times for a bed to be delivered to our room and once were even asked ' do you really need the extra bed".. Yes we do because our daughter is 12 and I have had to pay for the bed. Then we went to use the bathroom and discovered we had no towels and had to ask twice for that as well. Trust me DO NOT BOOK a bungalow if there are more than two of you. WE went to have a look around and the whole place just had a feeling that it was desperately in need for attention to detail, conditioning units just propped up on crates. The pool area just felt claustrophobic with old pool chairs and covers. It all just felt untidy and crowded to me, nothing like the other resorts we have stayed at in Sanur. I would not reccomend this hotel personally myself to anyone as I have stayed in much better accomadation for the money.. WE actually checked out after one night and went and stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check room size before booking if more than two of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shellsbells2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

- beautiful grounds / setting
- nice pool
- beach crowd rating 30 people per 100 meters
- clean room
- beach 7/10 (compared to other local beaches)
- restaurant food good but a little pricy. Can step out of resort and get same quality for 1/3 price.
- excursions booked through hotel will be 2x the price

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john_the_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#28 of 82 in Sanur
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.2 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#9 Family Hotel in Sanur
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#18 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $94 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Puri Santrian Resort Hotel Sanur is situated along the coast of upscale Sanur on the tranquil south eastern end of the island. This family owned and operated hotel keeps within the Balinese tradition of warmth and generosity of spirit with our courteous and attentive staff devoted to making your stay with us one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing