We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Puri Falls Well Short - Disappointing New Year's”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Puri Falls Well Short - Disappointing New Year's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife, teenage daughter and I travelled to the hotel for a 4 night stay that included New Year's Eve. The good - the grounds are indeed well groomed and the private beach in Sanur is very nice. I also highly recommend the $10 massage offered poolside.

The fair - the lighting is poor in the units, especially in the bathroom. The bathrooms themselves are at best 2 Star quality, with rusting fixtures and a rotting wood window frame and chipped paint that gives out into the bedroom (?). Our unit experienced a number of issues during our stay. Initially, the door lock was extremely difficult to open and close, taking several minutes to extract our key on each attempt. To the credit of management, they did completely replace the lock and give us a new key. Also, we had no hot water on two different occasions; it eventually returned after some time. We found the level of service at the front desk quite good but not so great throughout the rest of the hotel.

The poor - no fitness center of any size exists at this property, which is hard to believe for a hotel purporting to be an upscale property. Perhaps more importantly, the food and drink service was very slow on several occasions. In one instance my daughter waited almost 45 minutes for a sandwich because the first time it was not made properly, according to the waiter. No apology or compensation was provided for any of the issues.

The worst - the New Year's "Gala" dinner. My family and I were excited about the prospect of celebrating the new year in style in Bali at this hotel. While I certainly expect to pay a premium for room and special meals during holiday periods, the cost of the "New Year's Gala" can only be described as exorbitant, at fully $150 per person, and this DID NOT include any alcohol whatsoever. We booked, like many others, via a third-party travel site and, while we were informed that a New Year's dinner was mandatory, we were not advised that the roughly $300 charge DID NOT include the cost for our daughter. This was even though we had paid an Additional Guest Charge at time of booking. Thus, when we checked in we were informed that we would have to pay an additional $150 for our daughter. And, while there was a second option of $55 upstairs at another restaurant (this included a glass of wine, mind you!) we were not allowed to change to this option, even though we had never explicitly opted for any dining option during the reservation process.

The view of the stage for those that had paid $150 varied greatly - in fact, some tables had next to no view of the stage and were placed in areas near the pool bar or almost in passageways. This occurred while "VIP tables" with a clear view of the stage (read: tables for the owner's family and friends) remained vacant throughout the entire evening.

The dinner itself was served buffet-style to boot and, while it was copious, certainly did not justify the $150 cost. Bottom line: Puri Santrian has explicitly decided to gouge the holiday-goer for short-term gain without offering a proper product or service for that charge. This obviously is short-sighted as it will chase away potential returning guests and more generally harm their brand. We are living in Jakarta for two (2) years and certainly will not be returning to the property as a result.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bruin4life93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    736
    230
    61
    47
See reviews for
358
1,272
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am so confused at to what all the hype is about this place??? Boy were we so misinformed. WE chose the puri santrian over other hotels we have stayed in Sanur due to the reviews but we were so very disappointing for the amount of money they charge. I booked a bungalow room as on the reviews people had said how spacious they were, trust me they are not spacious at all. We emailed them directly before our stay to verify that the bungalow would be big enough for 3 people, they replied that even though it was designed for two they would be able to fit an extra bed in without any problem. WE arrived to a lack luster greeting, got shown to our room with no extra bed even though 3 times in emails i had told them we needed a bed for our daughter. On arriving in our room, we found it clean but so outdated, the TV was an old fashioned box tv with crappy reception and the bathrooms were so outdated. WE had to ask 3 times for a bed to be delivered to our room and once were even asked ' do you really need the extra bed".. Yes we do because our daughter is 12 and I have had to pay for the bed. Then we went to use the bathroom and discovered we had no towels and had to ask twice for that as well. Trust me DO NOT BOOK a bungalow if there are more than two of you. WE went to have a look around and the whole place just had a feeling that it was desperately in need for attention to detail, conditioning units just propped up on crates. The pool area just felt claustrophobic with old pool chairs and covers. It all just felt untidy and crowded to me, nothing like the other resorts we have stayed at in Sanur. I would not reccomend this hotel personally myself to anyone as I have stayed in much better accomadation for the money.. WE actually checked out after one night and went and stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check room size before booking if more than two of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellsbells2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

- beautiful grounds / setting
- nice pool
- beach crowd rating 30 people per 100 meters
- clean room
- beach 7/10 (compared to other local beaches)
- restaurant food good but a little pricy. Can step out of resort and get same quality for 1/3 price.
- excursions booked through hotel will be 2x the price

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john_the_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We didn't realise that the Santrian Club section was child free but what a great idea, it's a pity more hotels didn't follow suit. We don't have a problem with kids as such but those parents that just let them run unbridled can create an atmosphere far from tranquil, which is why we are there in the first place. Puri was bliss for us, everything ticked the right boxes and it's rare that we can say that. In fact this is the first time I've been able. We'll be back and back and back again.

Room Tip: Santrian Club rooms and area are child free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerthSpray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I booked the Hotel after reviewing all comments on trip advisor.
With my booking I asked for a few special arrangements for a birthday celebration.
I was very warm welcomed at the Hotel with a nice welcome drink, cold towels and the typical warm and calm attitude.
Escorted to the room with all explanations you might need, I was informed that the internet was free of charge during my whole stay.
Once arrived in the room, I was very happy that all arrangements were taken care of as i asked prior to arrival. Cake, flowers, birthday card and even a upgrade to a better room category.
The Hotel:
Very well maintained in all areas. The greenery is well taken care of and makes you feel you entered the garden of Eden. The 2 Pools are permanent cleaned and towels are available.
The location:
Is great. 30min ride to the airport is not too much and you have lots of small restaurants and shops around the hotel. The sea is calm in Sanur and the usual guests come to relax (not the crazy young crowed like in Kuta)
So it is always nice to take a walk either on the beach walk to relax or through the village for a little bit shopping
The Room:
Was very clean and with the upgrade, super sized, the bathroom was a little dated and is in need for a little touch up (but it seemed that some rooms were undergoing a soft renovation). A good selection of TV channels is also available. Amenities are provided inside the room for daily consumptions (Soap, Shampoo, Toothbrush, drinking water) and will be refilled if requested.
The Outlets:
As I spend most of the time sightseeing and exploring, I only had the chance to enjoy the breakfast in the morning. It was absolutely stunning and had everything you might look for in the morning. The restaurant was in a very good state and the service was very well organized. Tables cleared, coffee served and all needs taken care off in a reasonable time. The beach bar is perfect in the evening to wind down. Located directly on the edge to the beach, the service team was always exceeding my expectations.
Overall, the Puri Santrian Team made our stay, and I would definitely recommend the Hotel. Value for money and great attention from the team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mimimiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had great xmas In Bali , Puri Santrian Hotel. Hotel area was green and beautiful...lot of flowers, statues, pools etc etc...Room was little bit old, but nice and clean. Breakfast was excellent, all what you need...fruits, eggs, fresh bread, vegies etc...The staff was really nice and helpfull.. The hotel was better than hotels in Thailand. jumpa lagi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SariKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We wanted a hotel to relax in for this trip and we were not disappointed. This a nice hotel at the quieter end of quiet Sanur. The staff were good, friendly, polite and always made you feel welcome. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety. Having breakfast at the beach side is very pleasant. The room was clean and the cleaners did a good job. The hotel hires bicycles very cheaply so you could explore the local area and the beach pathway. The gardens were very Balinese and nice.
We stayed on the top floor of the Club. This is a lovely quiet area that has it's own, very interesting, 3 level pool where children are not permitted. The room is nice and large. Two small down sides are not enough drawer space and the TV is in such a position that it is difficult to be in bed and watch TV or a movie through the laptop.
The internet was also a problem at times with it dropping out, not being available or sometimes being very slow.
Overall we were very pleased with the hotel.

Room Tip: Club rooms are good for privacy as they are at the back of the resort and have their own pool. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil_from_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing